We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Camperdown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Camperdown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Pleasant enough hotel but could do with a refurbishment. Just a short bus ride away from Sydney city and very handy to stay if need to be near one of Sydney's largest hospitals. Places to eat nearby if you do not wish to eat at hotel. Staff pleasant and helpful. With on road parking being so limited in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaseyPerth
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Hi Casey, Thanks for your review of our hotel! I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and found our team pleasant and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future. Kind regards, Clair Warner Duty Manager

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Repeat visit, using the stay and park option while away on a trip. Room, breakfast for two, parking and airport shuttle is a great deal. Comfortable bed. Best room location is towards the rear of the hotel, as street noise is a bit of a nuisance at the front. Decent sized juice glasses and coffee cups at breakfast! Pleasant staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good evening Howard W, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, I'd like to thank you for your continued patronage at the hotel also. I hope you had a great holiday! We look forward to accommodating you again for your next getaway. Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest Relations

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here 2nd time now. Nice staff, it's close to uni, hospital and a easy walk to restaurants in Newtown. I had a good view tall buildings of city but the window needs a clean. Bathroom looks bit run down cracked tiles. Air-condition control look broken but still works. Carpet has had it's day. I stayed here only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richo4321
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for the review and your continued patronage here at the hotel. I have passed your compliments on to our staff about the service you received. Our bathrooms are undergoing maintenance to resolve the issue of cracked tiles. Once again, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Stayed 2 nights here recently as we wanted something close to Newtown. Room had basic amenities. It was clean and quiet but showing signs of age. Great thing about here is that it's walking distance to Newtown, hospitals and Sydney Uni with no shortage of eateries close by. Parking was also reasonable by Sydney standards at $25 per night. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Booper97
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you very much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location convenient. We look forward to seeing you back soon! Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest Relations

Reviewed 14 August 2015

Quite a dated hotel (the thermostat is in Fahrenheit). It is really the only hotel near the Uni and hospital (I was at the uni for work). I was frustrated because the air-conditioning was only able to heat as it was winter, but it was way to hot. Then if you opened the window to get some fresh air in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening Tim A, Thanks for the feedback. The hotel is in fact on a central system, providing all rooms during the winter months with heating and air conditioning during summer. If you choose to stay with us again, we can try and allocate you a room on the rear of hotel, which are a lot quieter. I have passed...

Mount warrigal
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

If you're going to the RPA hospital you won't find a better location. It has plenty of parking - but if you're not a great driver I wouldn't recommend parking underground - I've never been in such a tight car park. Rooms are basic but comfortable. My main disappointment is the restaurant and thus room service (apart from the basics)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Hi Hayley A, Thank you for your very valuable feedback. I'm pleased you found our location convenient for your stay. I'm also glad you found our Rydges Dream bedding comfortable. Yes, unfortunately our restaurant is closed on weekends for lunch and dinner. Our staff have some great suggestions on local eateries. We also have an in room dining menu that...

Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Our room was great with room service or a restaurant downstairs with excellent food. Bed was comfy and the staff were helpful. It is cheaper to book a room on the net than a walk in but there is a computer in the lobby to use and you can become a Rydges member before booking which gives you points which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2014Helen67
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thanks for the great review! I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again shortly. Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest Relations

Reviewed 3 August 2015

Staff were helpful and beds were comfy, however the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. The showers on the 4th floor were little more than a trickle of water that continually changed temperature, and the curtains were ripped and dirty. There was no real climate control in the rooms which were too hot to sleep in comfortably at night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clarey6
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about the issues regarding the water temperature and the shower curtain you had with your room during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping manager to investigate. I am please to read that you found our location convenient for your purpose...

Koorawatha
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Older hotel, but comfortable & close to the city and just across the road from RPA Hospital if you have an appointment there. Staff very friendly an obliging. Restaurant menu limited and a bit expensive, but food nice. Reception slow in serving as only one person there at 4.00pm. Only one bedside table in double room, but no problem in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish4372
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Trish, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I have advised our maintenance team about the shower rail being inconveniently located directly above the shower seat to see if we can move this to a more convenient location. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We are a family of 4 who stayed on a Saturday night in late July. We found travelling to the suburb much easier than travelling through the city to a hotel and then parking there. The room was spacious for a city hotel. The décor in the room was quite modern and wi fi was free and there was pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annette m
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Annette, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Clair Warner Duty Manager

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#103 of 179 in Sydney
145 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#133 of 179 in Sydney
14 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#120 of 179 in Sydney
48 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#114 of 179 in Sydney
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $158 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors are a bit better”
 of 5 bubbles 178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
 of 5 bubbles GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for one, the staff will help”
 of 5 bubbles JimboGil, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go below the 3rd floor (apparently) Rooms are even worse - we checked!”
 of 5 bubbles C2614EQstephenm, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors and city views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusBVictoria, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5