We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Verona Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Verona Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Ostersund, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and we are very Happy we Did. Its a calm and beautiful neighbourhood outside the central city. The guesthouse was clean and had a great self-serve breakfast. The best part though were the very helpful and attentive staff, we got alot of great tips from them!!

Helpful?
1 Thank IngoDahl
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed here for 5 days. Quick and friendly check in by Julienne. Indeed for our whole stay she went out of her way to help, advise and generally make things as pleasant and as stress free as possible. Our room was spacious and very clean. Bed and pillows were comfy, bedding and towels of good quality. Room was serviced every... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingirl58
colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my daughter. The place is clean, quiet, great breakfast and not far into central by bus or light rail. Owner is very helpful. Lots of good restaurants right outside your door. I will definitely come back here when I go to Sydney again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Wonderful service including baggage assistance, transport and tourist advice, prepared and cooked breakfast every day. The property is historic to the area and only minutes to the CBD. The rooms were exceptionally presented and clean. We could hear no traffic noise at night. Hotels, cafes and other shops across the road or easy walking. Parking was no problem, we stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janice G
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We have stayed in many places in Glebe and surrounds and wished we had found this sooner. Great location near the harbour and light rail and a short walk down to the restaurants and Paramatta Road. We also wanted to go to the Glebe craft market on Saturday and we were not disappointed. The Guest House is run by the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_James142
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel while having work done to my house and this Hotel is outstanding in comfort, price and hospitality. The very friendly owner and staff make you feel welcome from the moment you check in. This is a peaceful oasis in the city of Sydney and wonderfully location near many fantastic cafes, restaurants, Sydney University, light rail... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jack R
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I have never in my entire life had such despicable and unprofessional treatment meted out by a hotel or bed and breakfast. I travel and book over 170 nights of hotel and bed and breakfast stays in a year and I can safely say this is THE WORST place I've experienced. I arrived early after a 36 hour journey to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ZaahidBharmal
veronag2016, Owner at Verona Guest House, responded to this review

I will put your behaviour down to jetlag but never have i been called a "stupid xxxx xxxx" by anyone. Our checkin times are clear on expedia. Had you contacted me in advance rather than turning upon the front doorstep bashing on the door at 7am whilst other guests were sleeping I would have told you that we cannot accommodate... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This guest house is one of Glebe's original old mansions which has been modernised without losing its charm. Although on a comparatively busy road, traffic noise was minimal. Scenic Blackwattle Bay is a 10 minute walk away, and there are countless very good restaurants and cafes within a 2 minute walk. It is most reasonably priced, and the breakfast (inclusive)... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy J
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Absolutely loved this guest house. A warm welcome greats you each morning over a fantastic breakfast which will ensure you are full and ready for the day. Fantastic eggs!! Beautifully clean and well looked after rooms with fresh towels every other day which although I usually would find a little wasteful I did love having them. It is only 30... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank honeymoon134
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Glebe Verona Hotel whilst travelling through Australia. It was close enough to city centre to walk (30min) but only a short bus journey too. The breakfast was extremely nice and filled you for the day! The hotel room it's self was cosy, quiet and clean whilst the B&B was everything you needed. Lovely hosts too! Thank you for... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Ashleigh F

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 179 in Sydney
1,119 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#132 of 179 in Sydney
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4,626 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Glebe

Neighbourhood Profile
Glebe
An inner city suburb along the water, Glebe has a deep-rooted sense of cultural history and heritage. It originated as a semi-rural resort for the well-to-do, but has transformed into a student-centric melting pot. Visit Glebe Point Road for ethnic cuisine as standard as Mexican, Indian, Italian and Chinese, or as diverse as Spanish, Bavarian, Polish, Czech and Lebanese. You will find that Glebe is accepting of the eccentrics and aboriginals that roam the streets, integrating students and people of all economic statuses into the multi-cultural fabric that distinguishes this suburb. Glebe Foreshore is a great destination for a leisurely walk along the Bay, and the Saturday market is a great scene for bargain hunters.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Verona Guest House is one of six identical villas known as the Doctors' Houses in Glebe's prestigious Toxteth Estate. Just 10 minutes to the CBD via light rail or bus, it is the ideal location for those wishing to explore the city yet remain in a village atmosphere. There are 8 boutique rooms with private ensuites, aircon, TV/DVD player, bar fridge and free wifi connection. A daily continental breakfast is provided between 7am-10am. There is free 2 hour free parking on Glebe Point Road MON-FRI 8am-6pm (unrestricted evenings and weekends). Glebe's Blackwattle Bay is a five minute walk to the Tramsheds at Harold Park, the Boat House Restaurant then further through to Sydney's historic fish markets. Sydney University, UTS, RPA and Broadway shopping centre are a 10 minute walk away. Be sure to visit Gleebooks and the Saturday markets located in Glebe's Public school. We are pleased to announce that Esca cafe provides 10% off all meals to guests staying at Verona GuestHouse. Please note that our checkin hours are 2pm-8pm daily. We regret that we cannot provide early checkin or late checkout after 10am. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Verona Guest House

Address: 224 Glebe Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Price Range: $156 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verona Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Verona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Guesthouse Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Verona Guest House staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Verona Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had an upstairs room at the front which gave plenty of light and access to the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Andy_James142, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the top room of the hotel and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles bigbadpig2, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Probably rooms on the upper floor are quieter as further away from front door entry. Note that rooms have double beds, not queen size.”
 of 5 bubbles dorothyj937, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Can be noisy being in a front room”
 of 5 bubbles honeymoon134, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator so if stairs are a problem ask for a room on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles nursespark, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay