We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Darwin City Point Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Darwin City Point Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Darwin City Point Hotel
 Click to rate
Emerald, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Initially difficult to get arrangements made for room key collection due to our 0100 arrival. Moved room due to leaking a/c, had to thaw out fridge freezer chugged with ice. Every time asked for new towels kept on getting same dirty stained towel which made me think this joint washes their own when Receptionist said she was waiting on bath...

Thank Michelle B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here recently with a friend. Room was dated and basic but over all clean (few dead bugs in hard to reach places). The kitchen facility was very dingy and seemed to be an after thought which was a shame as it had potential to be a great asset to the motel. The location was excellent for walking to attractions...

Thank David B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early morning and notwithstanding we informed the management of early check in nobody was waiting for us. The reception was so dirty and the smell was so horrible that we did neither try to check the rooms. If you can avoid it.

Thank stefano s
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was stay at this hotel,1st day i check in the lady at the front receptions was told me if i can check in at 11 am (i was ask what time i should check in) and she say ok to check in at 11 am. Then she ask me what time i should check out and i said "i...

Thank Dewan P
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Wow. I know I was looking for a $100 hotel, but this was yuck! From coffee rings on the counter in our room, to a chicken bone in the lift, the super saggy portable bed and the noise outside at 3 am and the small bugs in the room. The staff are friendly enough and the tepid pool was fun...

Thank johnvaughan1964
roady646, Manager at Darwin City Point Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you were unhappy here and I have pointed out your comments to the cleaning staff to improve the standards but if someone drops a chicken bone in the lift I obviously will not know about it until the next time I go in the lift or am told about it at which point it would have been picked up...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Room basic, barely acceptable clean. Linen well worn. Jug needed to be scrubbed before use! Bathroom tap continuos drip! Unable to tighten to stop. Aircon working but not adequately. Small roaches in bathroom. Hotel position central and close to backpackers district, noisy and slightly scared. Door chain broken, felt unsafe. 3 nights stay only saw staff on day of leaving!...

Thank Mariam A
roady646, Manager at Darwin City Point Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mariam, If I am informed about a problem with the plumbing I have a plumber out that same day to rectify it so next time you have a problem please let someone know as we can only fix it when we know about it. As for the small roaches we bomb the rooms every month but as we are...

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Had a lot of trouble finding the place and then wished we hadn't! Very cheap looking in a unsafe-feeling part of town and an unmanned reception (we arrived after hours) so no one to call if there was a problem. The parking seemed to just be street parking and we didn't like the look of the people hanging around so...

Thank KayJaybird
roady646, Manager at Darwin City Point Hotel, responded to this review

This is not even worth a response but will just point out their is a 24 call service that can have someone that lives on site to your room in minutes if needed.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The bathrooms in our rooms were old and needed desperate updating. There are obviously some refurbished rooms which are better quality. The sheets were grey rather than white but otherwise the room was clean. Hotel obviously has lots of long term tenants and backpackers so they live and play there hence noise. Also proximity to Mitchell St means lots of...

1Thank Jakeman2014
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I have stayed 3 times at Poinciana Inn now. The Manager Scott is always friendly and helpful. the rooms are spacious, clean, secure and quiet. Rooms are serviced daily and the staff are more than happy to help with any queries. The hotel is close to the city centre and walking distance to everything. Thank you guys for making my...

1Thank princessslh
roady646, Manager at Darwin City Point Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your great review and we hope to get the chance to see again in the future.

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and this motel was far from good. The rooms themselves were clean but the rooms were very old and outdated. The bathroom was very old and the shower was terrible the temperature was constantly changing from hot to cold and I didn't enjoy showering at all. The outside noise was really bad it sounded...

2Thank Laura A
roady646, Manager at Darwin City Point Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Laura, I appreciate the nice comments about myself as I try to make peoples stay as pleasant as I can. The air con was repaired the same day and is something that happens occaisionally when you have 54 air cons to look after. Darwin is a nightclub hotspot and anywhere in the city area on Thursday to Sunday is...

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (2)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 37 in Darwin
381 reviews
5.2 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
279 reviews
3.1 km away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 37 in Darwin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
857 reviews
0.5 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,757 reviews
0.6 km away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Darwin City Point Hotel

Address: Cnr Mitchell & McLachlan St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Poinciana Inn)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $67 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Darwin City Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Darwin City Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Poinciana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Darwin City Point Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Darwin City Point Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read the reviews for god sake& take heed! If you want cheap & nasty. then this is the place for you!”
MichelleB607, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Read as many reviews as possible, you get what you pay for, but at $145 upwards you should get more and can do better.”
MariamA707, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“4th floor rooms have king beds and poolside view has nice morning sun and sheltered from hot afternoon darwin sun”
  • King Room
princessslh, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go high - but there are only 3 floors. High to avoid late night noise from drunks”
DaveOfNorwich, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room away from the front of the hotel”
leethomo, 22 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5