We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Value Inn Darwin

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Value Inn Darwin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
Start your review of Value Inn Darwin
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This motel is nothing like shown on the photos. Very outdated and tired. Very dark inside.What bothered the most was the fact there is no reception outside the business hours so anyone can go in and out the building, make noises, party as they please. Needless to say, no proper sleep during my stay.

1Thank mchaves
Clonmel, Ireland
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and really enjoyed it,we had just done a road trip from port Lincoln up to Darwin so we were looking for somewhere nice to stay but at a reasonable price and this place delivered.The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very nice,There was also free parking right off of Mitchell...

Thank irishladdy25
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi irishladdy25, Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good luck with the rest of your travels. Regards Sheena

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed there 2 nights with my mom and it was ok. It's not like a hotel, but it's a room with a/c, two beds and a bathroom. Everything looks quite old, but beds were ok to sleep and the toilet and shower was clean. Parking is free. It's a cheep option if you are looking just for a place...

Thank alexandrawilli
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Alexandrawilli Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that your overall experience was good in our budget accommodation property. Enjoy the rest of you trip. Regards Sheena Matthews General Manager

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I did not feel safe in the hotel. The window did not lock. The room and carpet felt dirty. It is close to to everything but is also very noisy being on Mitchell St. On the plus side the aircon worked well! Would not stay there again.

1Thank Jodie T
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Jodie T, Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our property. If we had of been made aware of any issues we would have tried to rectify the issues. Regards Sheena Matthews General Manager

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Stayed in Darwin for 8 days for the second time .First was at a Backpackers which has now closed.The Value Inn wasnt much more than I paid for my own room at the backpackers,with the advantage of not having to share a bathroom.Yes it is a little bit worn in places(paintwork etc) but the air conditioning works,each room has a...

Thank MacksvilleNick
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Macksville Nick, Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. I have passed on your feedback to our room attendants and reception staff as they always love to read that guests thought they were friendly and helpful. Regards Sheena Matthews General Manager

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at the Value Inn. Pros - As previously stated by others it's in the heart of Darwin city, great location, everything you need is walking distance, staff we're fine, room was clean Cons - We were originally given a key to a room that was already occupied. Lucky we walked in and there was no one...

Thank Lauren T
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Have stayed at the value inn on many occasions and never had a drama. Unfortunately someone did however on this occasion hit my car in the carpark. No CCTV and no note left me a little sour but I will be staying again when in town.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rick944
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Hey, the place is called the Value Inn. If you want a 4 star resort choose somewhere else. If you want location, convenience, efficiency, helpful service, value for money, you can't beat it. Small rooms but they have everything you need. Access to great well equipped kitchen, laundry, pool and bar.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2Thank davetass_99
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Couldn't be happier, cool staff, and helpful. Very clean and great value for money right in the middle of everything Darwin city has to offer. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it. Love it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1Thank Peter J
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Darwin is bloody hot and the room was nice and chill so that's an A plus for me haha. Just a drain in the bathroom so best to use the toilet before you shower if needed. Value Inn sits in a busy, touristy kind of street and you might miss it if you come looking for it after hours as...

Thank Marion L
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this review

Hi Marion L, Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin. We are please that you enjoyed your stay at our property and the air conditioning kept you cool after sightseeing in Darwin. Regards The team at Value Inn, Darwin

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (35)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (14)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Bathroom (7)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Bathroom (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 km away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
74 reviews
0.3 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
868 reviews
0.1 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#10 of 37 in Darwin
283 reviews
1.0 km away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Palms Motel
#25 of 37 in Darwin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Value Inn Darwin staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Value Inn Darwin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from Mitchell St”
jodiet468, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Small room, buts its all there. ”
davetass_99, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room when booking online and upon arrival,”
Frequentraveller2014, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no recommendation”
901AlexA901, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel!”
margaretc6, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$64* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates