We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Show Prices
#6 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,056: English reviews
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016

It is always wonderful to stay at a Doubletree Hotel because you know what to expect. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and stylish. I hate having to travel away from my husband for work; however, being able to stay at a hotel of this quality makes it a little easier.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole Q
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Nicole Q Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Check in quick and staff friendly. We had a room on the8th floor which looked like it had been refurbished, it was large with plenty of space for clothes and 2 large suitcases. The area was quiet, no noise from Mitchell St. Wi -fi was free only in reception. Buffet breakfast was good, barista style coffee machine and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank h0lly1974
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear h0lly1974 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

Venice, Veneto, Italy
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Never ever will I return. The room was awful, noisy and dated. The noise from the lift was unbearable. It was like the lift was in our room. We also were given the wrong room. We booked with water views. What we got was the back of the hotel looking at other ugly hotels ! Never will we return. I...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Sue L Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to read that your stay was not enjoyable. Your feedback will be discussed with our Engineering and Front Office teams to ensure we do not have a repeat of what you experienced. Thank you for letting me know. Kind regards John

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We had a front room and the view was great, rooms are quiet and appear to have been done up, the 2nd day our room hadn't been made up so we had to ask, they gave us complimentary late checkout, but then we were locked out of our room before the 2.00 checkout and had to be let in. Buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerry D
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Kerry D Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2016

An excellent establishment sure to add to your Darwin experience. Friendly, helpful staff. Scenic location on The Esplanade, well serviced by transport facilities and companies dealing in day trips to the abounding features.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin P
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Kevin P Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

The location itself is amazing with some rooms with water views. The hotel its self needs an update it is stuck in the 80s, it's old and tired looking. The highlight was the staff, super friendly very helpful and most go out of their way to welcome you and ensure they are doing all they can to ensure your stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nifa9
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Nifa9 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 May 2016

If you're a Hilton HHonors member, you're likely to be drawn to this property if you're in Darwin. Our experience there falls under the "sometimes good enough is good enough." We arrived at night (after dark) and left in the morning, so we didn't have a super long stay. There was nothing stellar about the property, but, at the same...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ExpertExpat2016
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear ExpertExpat2016 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Darwin. Kind regards John

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2016

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and could not fault anything. The service was outstanding and the rooms were clean and modern. It was only a short walk into town, depending where we wanted to go.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lottasparkle
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear lottasparkle Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Generally hotel was quite clean. Amenity well kept. Unfortunately, my daughter asked for ice 3 times and each time they promised to send but to no avail (even they promised each time) Other than that the hotel was fine and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTam2004
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear JTam2004 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and will review your comments with our Food & Beverage team. We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Good for a short visit or for business. We stayed overnight. Given welcome cookie at reception on check in - a nice touch. Very pleasant staff on reception. Rooms large and well equipped. Charge for wifi a rip off at $10 a day if you aren't a member. Breakfast average . Pool average. A 10-15 minute walk to Bain shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maria S
JohnLucas-DRW, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this review

Dear Maria S Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards John

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
King Guest Room with View (31)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
511 reviews
0.7 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
1,726 reviews
1.4 km away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
842 reviews
0.5 km away
Mantra on the Esplanade
1.5 km away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the famous Darwin Esplanade and offering stunning ocean views, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin is within walking distance of all major corporations and government offices in the city, the Darwin Convention Centre, Bicentennial Park and bustling downtown Darwin and Smith Street Mall. The hotel is also close to many Darwin shopping, dining and leisure options, including a nearby golf course, and offers easy access to Stuart Highway and Darwin International Airport, which is only a 15-minute drive. At this Darwin hotel, enjoy modern conveniences, recreational amenities and a friendly welcome. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. All of the spacious guest rooms boast thoughtful amenities including floor-to-ceiling windows, Juliette balconies, generous work areas and Wi-Fi. Upgrade to an executive room or suite for harbor views. Host a business or social event at this Darwin hotel with three flexible meeting spaces, all with the latest A/V equipment and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Swim in the sparkling waters of the outdoor pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens or simply relax in the sunshine with a glass of wine on the outdoor deck. Savour innovative Australian cuisine in the relaxed Poolside Restaurant, open daily for a full buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin

Address: 122 Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $104 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#4 Family Hotel in Darwin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#7 Business Hotel in Darwin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms upstairs, facing the park were quiet and with a peaceful view”
 of 5 bubbles Anne12344, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely look for the specials but best rooms are high floor King rooms overlooking the park and water.”
 of 5 bubbles david_e_howard, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with views have great vista of Darwin & harbour”
 of 5 bubbles GARRF, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most guests here were tour groups and FIFO workers on this visit.”
 of 5 bubbles Y1810DOmikes, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view with water (not the back view)”
 of 5 bubbles Z9251SLkarenm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5