We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banyan View Lodge

135 reviews
Save
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (5)
Overview
  • Excellent8%
  • Very good23%
  • Average33%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible19%
11 Aug 2017
“A Good Stay With Basic Facilities”
10 Sep 2015
“Basic, clean, well-managed hostel”
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Spa
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (135)Write a Review
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
11
25
37
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
25
37
20
19
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I had arrived in Darwin with a female companion the night before and stayed in another hostel, but it was absolutely horrendous, so we decided to move. I'm glad we did. Apparently they don't always let men stay, but because I was with a female...More

Thank defected01
Reviewed 10 September 2015

This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two...More

1  Thank 38sally
Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 12 October 2015

Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 27 August 2015

Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(More

6  Thank atpc_calcetines
Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 12 October 2015

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us...More

Reviewed 25 August 2015

Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted...More

Thank Followjonalong
Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View LodgeResponded 12 October 2015

It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very...More

Reviewed 11 August 2015

This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other...More

4  Thank Guy J
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345623
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Spa
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Banyan View Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"A room at the back overlooking the garden would be nice"
Read review
"Don't stay here"
Read review
"Ask for rooms at back as front can be noisy with traffic and late night revelers"
Read review
"Choose a single room away from the construction side."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing