We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nomads Brisbane Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 495: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Its location, all the breakfasts I had at the bar downstairs (with 20% discount), and the service by the staff (on night shift) were great. Also, I think I was one of the fortunate people who got really quiet roommates with a bedroom that was OK-sized, comfortable and not too loud. The kitchen on the ground floor wasn't too bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sys_7225
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

I've been backpacking through Europe and Australia for at least 3 months, and this is by far the worst hostel I've been at. They try to charge you for everything. Wifi, luggage storage, printing, etc. I don't mind paying if there's a good reason, but there are some things that are common courtesy for people who stayed at your place....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ignacio D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

After staying in multiple base hostels across Australia, I was hopeful this one in Brisbane would be just as good. I was very wrong. The rooms were dirty, as was the kitchen and utensils. The weather was very very humid and hot. What was disastrous about the hostel rooms was that there was no air conditioning, just one powerless fan...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Aiofe99
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Ok hostel good price!! We stayed for one night got a good 6 shared room was clean and comfortable beside power went of and we couldn't charge phones or use air conditioning for 2 hours, staff was quick to fix this problem for us. Bad thing the luggage room don't feel safe especially when u need to pay extra for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tobbe E
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in a hot and stuffy room. Bathrooms were pretty dirty. Paid wifi very intermittent (feature of most base hostels!). Main disappointment was the fact I paid to leave my bag in the locked luggage storage room with CCTV for a couple hours on my check out day. During this time my expensive Bluetooth speaker was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abi B
basecrew, General Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, We do tell all guests leaving their luggage in our storage room that we take no responsibility for any loss of belongings and we can not be held responsible. You informed me that you called around the 27th December and we never called back, however, you did wait until the end of January before trying to contact us...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

When we arrived we were impressed with what we initially saw. The building is gorgeous and reception was nice too. Clean and the staff were friendly! After we'd checked in we went up to our room, we were staying in a 6 bed dorm. First of all there's a lift which is 102 years old according to the sign inside,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaviiDC96
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

So a hostel is a hostel, however this I thought was below even average for a hostel. Stayed here 2 nights & I understand it's a older building but everything needs a good clean & bleach. I had cockroaches in my room & the bathrooms our fowl. Wear shoes everywhere. Rooftop is ok, and the + is the kitchen is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnitedKingdom44
basecrew, General Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for leaving a review. The property is treated by pest control every month, unfortunately we are located in a city in Queensland, so we do expect the odd cockroach or two to pop up. We are just glad it is not a snake! All bathrooms are cleaned twice a day. Enjoy your travels! Thanks, The Base Central Crew

Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Used my greyhound vouchers so I'm not sure about the cost of staying here. Clean hostel with spacious rooms! Friendly and helpful staff! The pub under the hostel was good and hostel guests were given a discount on everything which was great! Laundry room and kitchen were well equipped and tidy. The lift was a nice touch but not convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glj25
basecrew, General Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! Our lift is the oldest lift in Brisbane, something we think provides our hostel with a lot of character. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and get the opportunity to stay with us again! Thanks, The Base Central Crew

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, the hostel is very central but as soon as I walked into my room it smelt of urine and looked very dirty - the floor looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time ( there was actually a cockroach in there one night). Two of the poor girls in my room woke up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rach C
basecrew, General Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review - we do prefer for guests to come down to see us if they have any problems with their room so we can help to improve their stay. Two girls had come down to reception claiming they had bed bug bites, however, we saw absolute no evidence of this in their room so we did...

Reviewed 11 January 2016

it was a plesent stay! we thought our 8 dorm room was spacious enough, beds were comfy! sheets where clean! enjoyed the bar down below! and the 20% off food and drink! did feel it could do with a bit of a modern touch, lift didn't feel to safe! and the kitchen wasn't the best with very dirty utensils! but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke R
basecrew, General Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review, you will be glad to know that we have replaced all of our utensils in the kitchen! We hope you get the chance to stay with us again! Thanks, The Base Central Crew

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.3 km away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#105 of 127 in Brisbane
122 reviews
1.2 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 127 in Brisbane
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#7 of 127 in Brisbane
562 reviews
0.6 km away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#66 of 127 in Brisbane
244 reviews
1.9 km away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 127 in Brisbane
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Address: 308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Base Brisbane Central)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $39 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Brisbane Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nomads Brisbane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Brisbane Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor not to get the noise from the bar”
guillaume2710, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just stay away from this place”
SoloDen1, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“8 bed dorms have best space/air con for your money, where the 10 bed dorm only had fans. Don't be on floor 1 if light sleeper.”
mrudy16, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you a problem ask the reception desk and they will help”
timbob2015, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Very well localised in main street of Airlie Beach but a little bit noisy”
Sarita83400, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5