We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

iStay River City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
iStay River City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of iStay River City
 Click to rate
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Tired and run down rooms, bathroom needed a renovation, only 30 mins of internet access a day and the hallway was filled with the smell of rotten garbage day after day as the garbage disposal chute did not seal properly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pathfindernick
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room v spacious, easy to keep kids and adult entertained in room and on balcony respectively, staff fantastic and immediately accommodated a last minute early check in with parking, would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q6143CYjoannek
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

To Q6143CYjoannek, Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback. It is great to hear that our team were helpful and able to assist with a last minute early check in. I will be sure to pass on your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Ty Malezer Hotel Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here recently for a work trip. Room was very spacious with a large balcony. Big kitchen if you wanted to cook your own dinner, however my fridge did freeze everything no matter what temperature it was on. I was surprised to find no aircon in my bedroom, I spoke to reception and was told that each room has an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

To Alex M, Thank you for your review of iStay River City. It is great to know that you found the room to be spacious and enjoyed having such a large balcony in your apartment. I am disappointed to hear that the running toilet and refrigerator temperature have disrupted your stay. These items should have been identified and addressed before...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A comfortable convenient place to stay . My husband could walk to his meetings . I could walk to the shops . Close to many restaurants . If you drive make sure you book parking . That's the only negative I have , Parking is a expensive added extra but essential

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne F
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

To Leanne F, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review of iStay River City. We are very lucky to be located so centrally and I am glad to hear that you found the hotel to be comfortable and convenient. As you have mentioned, parking in the CBD is limited so we do recommend booking parking...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have used this hotel 4 times in the last two years prior to my booking last weekend because I've been a happy customer. I recently booked a 2 bedroom apartment with a river front view. Room was in beautiful condition upon arrival except for rubbish left beside the air conditioner on the balcony (which I didn't mind, cleaner must...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanna h
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

To Joanna H, I am very disappointed to hear that experience at iStay River City was affected so significantly by the extra cleaning charge. I have since sent all details and corresponding photos to you directly and trust that this matter has now been resolved. By way of clarification for those seeing this feedback, there was a $10 cleaning charge...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our group decided on a girls night away over the weekend and due to its location, choose iStay River City. The booking process was quite easy and the rate for a 2 bedroom apartment in the city was pretty awesome also! However, in saying that, our stay was pretty average. Check in staff were lovely but it felt like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windust T
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

To Windust T, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at iStay River City. I am glad to hear that you found the booking process to be easy and that you thought our front office team were lovely. It does sound like we forgot to provide some hotel information on arrival in an...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Reasonably spacious room and large balcony overlooking city, okay fitness facilities, not brand new but up to date decor and fit out, some minor faults such as rust hole on steel frame door in bathroom obviously from over flow from the shower, but overall good price and great location with food coffee options all around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for choosing to stay at iStay River City and for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay. I am pleased to read you found the apartment was spacious and well priced. It's great to hear you enjoyed the large balcony with city views and you were able to make use of our...

Jervis Bay, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We have stayed at this place many times during the past few years, it's location is good, near the botanical gardens and just a few blocks from wharfs and Queen st mall. The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious and modern, excellent balcony especially with the river view. Great coffee shops everywhere. The café on the corner is open 24hrs, 7...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glen B
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Glen, Thank you for choosing to stay at iStay River City and for taking the time to provide a review. I'm delighted to hear you stay with us frequently and that you find our apartments spacious and modern. As you have mentioned we do have a great location that is just a few minutes walk to the city's best...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night, lovely apt, twin beds are only about half inch apart. They are pushed together to make King bed, if you are a couple this might not suit you. Request a queen bed. My only complaint otherwise very nice stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendasing4
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Brenda, Thank you for choosing to stay at iStay River City and for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear you had a very nice stay with us and enjoyed our great central location. The majority of our beds are King Splits which allows us to easily accommodate any...

Melbourne
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

An appointment at the Brisbane royal hospital made it necessary for a two night stay at this abode before we flew out and on our our way to Bali , in a nutshell 1/ spacious and quite elegant rooms with a terrace too , everything worked well , it was neat and tidy heaps of room compared to some hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Balilover2
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at iStay River City and taking the time to provide written feedback on your recent stay. It is pleasing to read you found the apartments were spacious, elegant and neat and tidy. At iStay River City we offer competitive rates and I am happy to hear the cost of staying for two nights was...

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (190)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#55 of 158 in Brisbane
629 reviews
0.2 km away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#60 of 158 in Brisbane
711 reviews
0.3 km away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#56 of 158 in Brisbane
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 158 in Brisbane
646 reviews
0.8 km away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#78 of 158 in Brisbane
548 reviews
0.1 km away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#65 of 158 in Brisbane
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
iStay River City overlooks the Botanic Gardens and the CBD, and offers centrally located Brisbane accommodation. Hotel apartments at iStay River City are known for their contemporary style, convenience and amazing views. With a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, each boasting full length windows, full kitchen and laundry amenities and balconies averaging 20m² to really take advantage of the views and alfresco lifestyle, iStay River City is the choice of discerning business and leisure travellers. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "IStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about iStay River City

Address: 79 Albert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $123 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay River City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your iStay River City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay River City Hotel Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from iStay River City staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from iStay River City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony overlooking lap pool lovely”
Q6143CYjoannek, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher rooms have better outlooks above other buildings”
IanB973, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The river view apartments are good if you'd like a view”
762glenb, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think all rooms have a view to the surrounding city and river.”
jeanw536, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room further up the building to ensure the hustle and bustle of the city on Friday night and Saturday night does not wake you”
  • Bed backboard pulled off the wall
  • Table top with black looking mould
  • Dented lift doors
  • Chair legs damaged
  • Acid washed fridge
  • Acid washed dishwasher
  • Marks on the door
  • Entry to room
Random206, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5