We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
73 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000 Australia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Official SiteUS$188
Expedia.comUS$171
Hotels.comUS$171
TravelocityUS$171
PricelineUS$153
Trip.comUS$171
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (624)
Room & Suite (189)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 172 hotels in Brisbane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The eclectic, sophisticated and curious The Inchcolm by Ovolo is a stunning boutique hotel with a rock n roll edge. Once a private residence and medical practice, the building was first constructed in the 1930’s, with this being the foundation to drive the artistic concept behind The Inchcolm by Ovolo. Think Gertrude Stein’s Paris salon, where Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Picasso and Matisse would comfortably rub shoulders while sharing trailblazing ideas and indulging in gourmet food & wine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
1151Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 935
  • 158
  • 40
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nikki wrote a review 13 Aug
1 contribution
We visited for a birthday celebration and it was the perfect getaway from our quiet costal lifestyle. The room was cosy and clean. Kurk at reception was exceptional, super welcoming and went above and beyond by organising a reservation at a rooftop bar for us, after our dinner reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Josie wrote a review Apr 2022
Brisbane, Australia192 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We spent nearly 8 weeks at this amazing location due to flooding. You would think that after 2 weeks the novelty would wear off, nope, it became home to us. The amiable and united staff, from the GM, Roberto to front desk (Amber, Oliver, Anneke etc) lead by the amazing Captain Kirk, their Ops Mgr Kurt, F&B (Reuben, Santosh, Maya, Dominic & too many more names to mention), Chef Jamie and his kitchen staff as well as Anna head of housekeeping & her attention to detail staff .... were all welcoming, kind, patient and friendly day in day out. We had our beloved elderly husky with us and she was the star of the hotel. We experienced everything there was to be had during our time ie: martini hour (night after night!); dinner, breakfast, lunches, high tea, martini lunch etc - all served with enthusiasm and flair. We checked out yesterday and already miss everyone. We'll definitely we back when renovations commence, and expect an invitation to the staff Christmas party ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Carissima Nonna P, Wow, wow, wow: what an amazing review. We are over the moon to read your lovely feedback and we are so happy you had a fantastic stay. Even though it was under difficult circumstances, we are pleased we managed to make your stay enjoyable. You have been one of our strongest supporters and it is great that you have managed to try all our services. We were so happy to seeing you and your family every day and could not wait to have our daily catch ups. Please don't wait too long before you visit us: we cannot wait to welcome you again! Warmest regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dr_gasman88 wrote a review Jul 2022
Sydney, Australia80 contributions90 helpful votes
The Inchcolm is a small boutique hotel conveniently located on the edge of the CBD, with an exit from Central Station almost directly opposite the hotel. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk into Queen Street Mall, with a bit of a hill on the return journey. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, and the happy hour martinis are a great way to kick off the evening. There appears to be two wings to the hotel - the old wing (in the heritage medical building, re-purposed into hotel rooms), and a newer, purpose-built wing towards the rear of the building. I've stayed in both sections, and would definitely express a preference for the newer wing. The heritage wing, whilst perhaps a little more romantic, suffers from the common affliction found in many repurposed hotels - noise. The double glazing is relatively effective, but plumbing noises and transmitted sounds from adjacent rooms and the corridor can lead to an interrupted sleep. Food-wise, the Inchcolm could be a destination in itself. The Moreton Bay bug pasta is to die for, and the 24 hour room service menu provides some tasty snacks for the night owls Overall, a unique and friendly hotel and a good alternative to the generic chain hotels - but, if a peaceful sleep is a necessity, opt for the newer wing!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: New wing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear dr_gasman88, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are really happy to read that you have loved your experience and enjoyed the super central location and our warm and friendly service. Well spotted: the building is made of two wings. The first one is part of the original building from 1880. The new wing was added in 1997. As you can appreciate, our very charming heritage listed building is wonderful but can sometime bring some challenges. The team and I are looking forward to welcome you again soon and look after you again. Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqui B wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions
My boss accidently booked us for the wrong night and oddly on 3 seperate bookings. KIRK the magician with the meticulous brows, came to our rescue and located the 3 seperate bookings on wrong dates and managed to bring our booking forward, honouring the rate and saving us incredible stress! The rooms were given were SO COOL!!!! I stayed in the Loft and it was special an funky, so huge with a luxurious bathroom. I was so impressed. I am def coming back after the incredible service and the cool room AND the GF truffle fries.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose the LOFT
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 979jacquib, We are so over the moon to read your amazing feedback and it is rewarding to hear that we have saved you: mission accomplished! We are super lucky to have such unique rooms and we love to spoil our guests with our effortless and warm service. Please make sure you don't wait too long until your next visit because we already miss you so much. Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate210845 wrote a review Jul 2022
Adelaide, Australia5 contributions
We stayed for a week in this very different boutique hotel and it was great The staff were friendly and nothing too much trouble for them plus the Interaction at the nightly customer drink catch up was delightful Our room was spacious and comfortable and food at the hotel good If you want something a little different then do give it a try
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kate210845, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. Wow, wow, wow! We are extremely excited to read that you have really enjoyed your visit, our super spacious suites and our friendly and warm service: we are here to make our guest happy! We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ghcat wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Facilities A1. When we arrived were rewarded with an upgrade. Staff extremely helpful, friendly and polite. Held our bags before check-in. Delivered them to our room on the 4th floor. A large room, over 2 levels, very comfortable bed. Loved the lolly jars in the foyer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ghcantravel, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are super excited to read that you have fully enjoyed your visit and loved our super gorgeous rooms and our lolly bar. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy F wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Very cool, centrally located welcoming hotel that gets my highest recommendation. After a looooong journey from Abu Dhabi via Melbourne, what a relief to let myself into my beautiful room and find a comfortable bed and great music playing… softest sheets, great pillows… a fab sleep. Staff were very accommodating and helpful - good relaxed but nothing is too much trouble, helpful vibe. Breakfast was so good I had the same thing twice (avocado on sourdough). Love the vintage feel (cool lift!) with a keen eye for modern design twist. Bar is good and the drinks excellent. Stay here - you won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Dear andyfielhouse, Thank you for your feedback and we are really excited to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay. We know how tiring a long flight is and we were so happy we could help you with an early check in and get some rest before your lunch meetings. We are so lucky to ne house in a super heritage listed building. Cannot wait to see you again soon: have you booked your next trip yet? The Inchcolm Crew
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vicki A wrote a review Jul 2022
Sydney, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
From my very first phone call to query availably Annika set the tone. She was so helpful & charming I eliminated the other two hotel options I had shortlisted for our visit to Brisbane. It was an added bonus c/- of Annika also, that we learnt we could catch the Airport train directly to the hotel in 35 minute. She said it was a I minute walk & she was correct. It was all too easy. From there we decided to have every meal in the hotel as there weren't heaps of choices open locally & it was a very chilly weekend. Another good decision. The dining menu is delicious. The waitstaff serving us were knowledgeable & efficient. We would definitely return to the Inchcolm on another occasion. Excellent staff & location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Dear Vicky A, Thank you for your feedback and we are super happy to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay. The team is always eager to look after and spoil our guests and Annika will be over the moon to read your beautiful comments. We are so lucky to have such a wonderful building and the location is unbeatable. Cannot wait to see you again soon: have you booked your next trip yet? The Inchcolm Crew
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Capph wrote a review Jul 2022
56 contributions92 helpful votes
I booked a two night stay at this hotel via the Ovolo website. Normally, I book through a third party portal such as Booking.com as I like the flexibility. But, I was persuaded by the hotel website statement that said cancellations would incur 'the smallest of fees. No stress, no BS'. Unfortunately it was all BS. I had to cancel 16 days out and was billed $150, 20% of the total accommodation cost. In addition, this hotel bills you immediately on booking for the full amount. The hotel is also unresponsive. It took 3 emails to get someone to confirm my cancellation. When I complained about the cancellation fee I received no response at all. Avoid at all costs. They take your money and don't care about guests at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 8 Jul 2022
Dear Capph, First of all, I would like to apologies for any delays in the correspondence. I have emailed you directly and waiting to hear from you to discuss the conditions of your booking. When your booking was made, you have chosen a non amendable and non refundable booking. Even though the rate was quite appealing, this type of booking does not offer a great deal of flexibility, unlikely our fully flexible, no stress, no BS bookings. The team kindly extended a small refund as a goodwill gesture. I would love to hear form you and you have my details now, so please feel free to reach out. We do take pride in how we look after our guests in all situations and we would love to have a chance to look after you, when you decide to return to Brisbane. Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie H wrote a review Jun 2022
Caloundra, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
The moody vibe of this well appointed hotel created a warm and inviting atmosphere. I loved the decor, location and particularly enjoyed the martini's in the bar! Highly recommend for your next Brisbane City stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Large Heritage Suite was very comfortable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Hey there Q3902IYjulleh, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are delighted to hear that you have really enjoyed your experience and loved our warm and inviting atmosphere. We sure love our Martini's here and we hope you had a chance to try them all. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$178 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn brisbane, quality hotel brisbane
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel The Inchcolm
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionBrisbane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Which popular attractions are close to The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Nearby attractions include St. John's Anglican Cathedral (0.5 km), Anzac Square & Memorial Galleries (0.2 km), and Albert Street Uniting Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brew, La Cache a Vin, and The Alliance Hotel.
Is The Inchcolm by Ovolo located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Brisbane.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Inchcolm by Ovolo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boggo Road Gaol (Jail) (3.4 km), Brisbane Arcade (0.5 km), and Newstead House (2.4 km).
Is The Inchcolm by Ovolo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.