We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ellie's Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ellie\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of Ellie's Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is in a great location, very easy for transport, supermarket, food and Fortitude Valley. Upon arriving staff very friendly, even changed my room to somewhere more quiet as I was there to study. While the room was quiet, it was hot and stuffy and got very little internet, only in one corner of the room, if I went onto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KLS2602
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear that your whole experience was not 100%. We certainly do our best to try and maintain high cleaning standards and will review this. With Brisbane reaching above average temperatures, it is sadly very hot and humid and would love to have cooler weather :-) We wish you all the best in...

Kingscliff, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms were pretty average and have stayed in better backpacking hostels for half the price. Didn't even see any staff the whole time we were there so can't comment on them. Was conveniently located to the Powerhouse but think I'll spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else and walk the extra distance. Won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shimsladey
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation, possibly didn't help that this was not your place of choice. Sadly we didn't get to meet you on your overnight stay and you arrived and departured outside of office hours. We hope you enjoyed your time in Brisbane and wish you all...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Guest House it's close to CBD and well served by public transport (bus stop is on the fronthouse - ferry is 7 min by walk) . The rooms are small but clean and well furnished. The Kitchen is in a common area very clean and equipped, they have an amazing frontyard and a nice usefull backyard. Let me spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Southfremantle91
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with the position and close proximity to City, Southbank whilst enjoying the beautiful New Farm area. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Reviewed 5 December 2016

It is hot this time of yr in Brisbane and no air conditioning in room (just cheap fan) & no TV. Paid a lot of $ for room. Mgr. wants u to take out your own trash which is ridiculous. Not recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad G
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Yes it is hot in Brisbane during the summer months, and the week you were here was extreme temperatures. It is a shame that you didn't utilise both doors in your room and open them up to also allow some afternoon breeze to come...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this place as I had enough of hostels after 5 weeks of travelling. Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do anymore for me. Place was nice and clean, quiet, close to the shops. River walk is about a 10 mins walk away and is definitely worth a walk into the city or you can get the free ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words. As management we are very lucky that we love our job and love the property. We wish you all the best in your travels.

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This is an old building that's not in perfect condition and the rooms are very basic, but in a funny way, that's the charm of the place. Makes you feel like your staying at a friends place and that's the way the staff treat you. It's located perfectly with bars, restaurants and supermarket all within 100 metres plus bus stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merde-man
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Had a friend recommend me Ellie's Guesthouse in the heart of New Farm for friends and family members coming to stay from NZ when we were at capacity. Rooms varied from court yard, self contained, self serve type arrangements. All were clean and tidy and rates varied too pending on the length of stay. Host Jacque and Nala were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGrayOnTour
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I had a few nights good rest at Ellie's, this is a pretty place with welcoming staff. They could tell me what i should see and do, and gave good advice. they were also flexible and could prolong or shorten my stay, and they answered both on sms and e-mail. I did not meet with many other of the guests,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A9ta_1
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always our pleasure to assist guests and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We arrived very late at night and they let the lights and the fan on for us, made us immediately feeling 'Home'. The staff is justgreat, helpful, knowledgable, the location close to bus, ferry and supermarkets, what else does a traveller need?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wolfx9
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we think the location is fantastic and convenient to everyone. Enjoy your travels around Australia and if you end up back in Brisbane would love to hear about your stories from your adventures. :-)

Beerfelden, Germany
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The location, the Queenslander style-building, the facilities in my room as well as in public areas, the green space and terrace, the free Wifi system, the surrounding area, the comfortably firm mattress, the ladies running the guesthouse....to name but the things on top of my head and not to forget the affordable price it is all offered for, it was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 328ellen
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Your comments are lovely, thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 km away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
2.3 km away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#9 of 66 in Brisbane
184 reviews
1.9 km away
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
2.2 km away
Brisbane Manor Hotel
Brisbane Manor Hotel
#59 of 66 in Brisbane
156 reviews
2.0 km away
Kookaburra Inn
Kookaburra Inn
#5 of 133 in Brisbane
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the beautiful suburb of New Farm, just 2.5 km from Brisbane city centre, the family-run Ellie's Guest House offers quiet and peaceful accommodation in a large 2-storey heritage house. Ellie's Guest House is a 10-minute drive from Roma Street train station. It is a 20-minute drive from Brisbane Domestic Airport. Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo and the Gold Coast beaches are both a 1-hour drive away. All rooms have a wardrobe, bedside table and desk. Each room has a kitchenette with microwave, mini refrigerator, sink, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. Bed linen is supplied. Facilities include a shared veranda, self-contained communal kitchen and coin-operated laundry. New Farm shopping centre, with great shops, cafes and restaurants, and the renowned New Farm Park and Brisbane River are all within a 5-minute walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ellie's Guesthouse

Address: 124 Merthyr Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Price Range: $43 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ellie's Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ellie's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ellie's Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
British Columbia, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ellie's Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i would recommend the double room”
 of 5 bubbles A9ta_1, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Warmer heaters in Winter - I say this having come from 40 degrees straight into the Australian windy winter.”
 of 5 bubbles daviddcd, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The nicer rooms are off the front balcony near the manager's office. Some sporadic Wi-Fi reception available in these rooms also.”
 of 5 bubbles Aussie_in_Europe_9, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Best shower downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles jarnol879, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Just let them know what you want - no one is a mind reader!”
 of 5 bubbles royalmarine, 31 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5