We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ellie's Guesthouse

    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Showing 53: English reviews
    Start your review of Ellie's Guesthouse
     Click to rate
    Reviewed 5 December 2016

    It is hot this time of yr in Brisbane and no air conditioning in room (just cheap fan) & no TV. Paid a lot of $ for room. Mgr. wants u to take out your own trash which is ridiculous. Not recommended!!

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Sinbad G
    Management response:

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Yes it is hot in Brisbane during the summer months, and the week you were here was extreme temperatures. It is a shame that you didn't utilise both doors in your room and open them up to also allow some afternoon breeze to come...

    A TripAdvisor Member
    Level Contributor
    7 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    3 helpful votes
    Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

    I booked this place as I had enough of hostels after 5 weeks of travelling. Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do anymore for me. Place was nice and clean, quiet, close to the shops. River walk is about a 10 mins walk away and is definitely worth a walk into the city or you can get the free ferry...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Management response:

    Thank you for your kind words. As management we are very lucky that we love our job and love the property. We wish you all the best in your travels.

    Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

    This is an old building that's not in perfect condition and the rooms are very basic, but in a funny way, that's the charm of the place. Makes you feel like your staying at a friends place and that's the way the staff treat you. It's located perfectly with bars, restaurants and supermarket all within 100 metres plus bus stop...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Merde-man
    Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

    Had a friend recommend me Ellie's Guesthouse in the heart of New Farm for friends and family members coming to stay from NZ when we were at capacity. Rooms varied from court yard, self contained, self serve type arrangements. All were clean and tidy and rates varied too pending on the length of stay. Host Jacque and Nala were friendly...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank MichelleGrayOnTour
    Reviewed 6 April 2016

    I had a few nights good rest at Ellie's, this is a pretty place with welcoming staff. They could tell me what i should see and do, and gave good advice. they were also flexible and could prolong or shorten my stay, and they answered both on sms and e-mail. I did not meet with many other of the guests,...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank A9ta_1
    Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

    Thank you for your kind comments. It is always our pleasure to assist guests and we hope to welcome you back one day.

    Brisbane, Australia
    Reviewed 21 March 2016

    We arrived very late at night and they let the lights and the fan on for us, made us immediately feeling 'Home'. The staff is justgreat, helpful, knowledgable, the location close to bus, ferry and supermarkets, what else does a traveller need?

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank wolfx9
    Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

    Thank you for your lovely comments, we think the location is fantastic and convenient to everyone. Enjoy your travels around Australia and if you end up back in Brisbane would love to hear about your stories from your adventures. :-)

    Beerfelden, Germany
    Reviewed 7 March 2016

    The location, the Queenslander style-building, the facilities in my room as well as in public areas, the green space and terrace, the free Wifi system, the surrounding area, the comfortably firm mattress, the ladies running the guesthouse....to name but the things on top of my head and not to forget the affordable price it is all offered for, it was...

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank 328ellen
    Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

    Your comments are lovely, thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.

    Ballarat, Australia
    Reviewed 2 March 2016

    An unpretentious pleasant relaxing place to stay with friendly hosts. The room was clean with all basic necessities. Set back from the road in attractive garden surrounds Ellie's Guesthouse is in an excellent location - just short bus ride into town, or a stroll to the delightful New Farm Park & Brisbane Powerhouse.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank verityh432
    Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, the area is brilliant area (like a hidden secret and so close to everything) You are always welcome to stay when you in Brisbane.

    Noosaville, Australia
    Reviewed 6 February 2016

    Overall a comfortable place to stay, near to the city, clean & tidy and close to all amenities. Was only there for 3 nights and had to go into the city on those days, so really appreciated the convenience

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank msydne_134931
    Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

    We are pleased you found you stay so convenient to the City. We think it is perfect spot and allows you so many options to get to the City. Your not short of choices between walking, City Cat or the free City Hopper, bus at the front door or and easy cycle. Suitable for everyone.

    Toowoomba, Australia
    Reviewed 6 January 2016

    Tiny room, No Air Cond, No Soap, No Shampoo or conditioner, very Poor Customer service, Rang 3 times no answer and rather calling back sent a text message, No power for the whole night, Rooms and Building overall are in very poor condition, may collapse anytime, I am not even sure it meets legislative requirements, Windowns are workplace helath and...

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank ryan109
    Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

    Thank you for the comments, whilst we do welcome feedback. We do feel the need to respond and clarify your inaccuracy. Interesting that you claim you had no power when the light was left on in your room when we entered the following morning. Also one would question, if you had no power all night why you wouldn't advise us?...

    27 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (6)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (4)
    Viewed
    Hotel & Grounds (1)
    Viewed
    Other (1)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All Management Photos (21)
    Viewed
    Room/Suite (13)
    Viewed
    Other (8)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
    0.6 km away
    Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
    2.3 km away
    Annie's Shandon Inn
    Annie's Shandon Inn
    #8 of 66 in Brisbane
    182 reviews
    3.9 km away
    Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    3.6 km away
    Eton Bed & Breakfast
    Eton Bed & Breakfast
    #44 of 66 in Brisbane
    68 reviews
    2.2 km away
    Brisbane Manor Hotel
    Brisbane Manor Hotel
    #58 of 66 in Brisbane
    156 reviews
    1.9 km away
    One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Amenities

    Room types
    • Kitchenette
    Services
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    Situated in the beautiful suburb of New Farm, just 2.5 km from Brisbane city centre, the family-run Ellie's Guest House offers quiet and peaceful accommodation in a large 2-storey heritage house. Ellie's Guest House is a 10-minute drive from Roma Street train station. It is a 20-minute drive from Brisbane Domestic Airport. Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo and the Gold Coast beaches are both a 1-hour drive away. All rooms have a wardrobe, bedside table and desk. Each room has a kitchenette with microwave, mini refrigerator, sink, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. Bed linen is supplied. Facilities include a shared veranda, self-contained communal kitchen and coin-operated laundry. New Farm shopping centre, with great shops, cafes and restaurants, and the renowned New Farm Park and Brisbane River are all within a 5-minute walk. ... more   less 

    Additional Information about Ellie's Guesthouse

    Address: 124 Merthyr Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
    Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
    Amenities:
    Shuttle Bus service
    Price Range: $44 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ellie's Guesthouse 2.5*
    Number of rooms: 26
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ellie's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ellie's Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
    3 questions
    Ask a question
    British Columbia, Canada
    over a year ago

    See all questions (3)

    Questions? Get answers from Ellie's Guesthouse staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travellers prefer

    “i would recommend the double room”
     of 5 bubbles A9ta_1, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
    “Warmer heaters in Winter - I say this having come from 40 degrees straight into the Australian windy winter.”
     of 5 bubbles daviddcd, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
    “The nicer rooms are off the front balcony near the manager's office. Some sporadic Wi-Fi reception available in these rooms also.”
     of 5 bubbles Aussie_in_Europe_9, 27 May 2015 | Read review
    “Best shower downstairs”
     of 5 bubbles jarnol879, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
    “Just let them know what you want - no one is a mind reader!”
     of 5 bubbles royalmarine, 31 Dec 2014 | Read review
    5 of 5