We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Global Backpackers Waterfront

    67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017Check In 30/10/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (12)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (14)
    Overview
    • Excellent17%
    • Very good20%
    • Average17%
    • Poor17%
    • Terrible29%
    Travellers talk about
    “east coast” (4 reviews)
    “happy travels” (2 reviews)
    “bed dorm” (5 reviews)
    Internet
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (128)
    There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Waterfront
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    31 - 35 of 115 reviews

    Reviewed 15 September 2015

    Backpacker with nice cheap deal. You get what you pay for. Got for it if you would like to stay in the heart of the city. Stayed for three nights and I don't think I found a reason to complain. Not sure about the amenities...More

    Thank shirish t
    Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

    When i book the room there was a list of time i can pick for the check in . I ticked for 11am , however when we arrived there , the staff was saying that i cant check in til 2pm . She was saying...More

    Thank Sue L
    Reviewed 30 August 2015

    You get what you pay for. I was booked in to stay here by Travel Bugs either side of my cape tribulation trip. I was in a room of 10 beds. The only good thing about my stay was the people I met in my...More

    Thank CaseySB123
    Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers WaterfrontResponded 5 December 2015

    Hi Casey, Thank you for leaving feedback with regarding your stay in our accommodation. I apologise that you did not sleep well during your visit. We are currently on a rolling replacement of our mattresses and will look into the mattresses in this room as...More

    Reviewed 5 August 2015

    Only stayed overnight due to being told I couldn't extend my stay in the room i was in, due to no space and therefore was told I'd have pay extra. Also my friend stayed the night and I wasn't able to go in her room...More

    Thank Bethany M
    Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers WaterfrontResponded 10 August 2015

    Hi Bethany, I am sorry that we were unable to book you into the same room as your friend, as you can imagine we have limited availability in each room. If requested we will do our best to accommodate guests wherever we can, although there...More

    Reviewed 3 August 2015

    Do I wish I read the reviews here first! We had a terrible stay at this place. Even though we stayed in private room hoping it would be quieter than a dorm, we were kept up all night until about 4:30 am. The sound seems...More

    Thank Shannonwolo
    Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
    2,606 reviews
    #8 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    Coral Tree Inn
    511 reviews
    #20 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    Ibis Styles Cairns
    783 reviews
    #15 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
    2,006 reviews
    #2 of 64 hotels in Cairns
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 57
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Global Backpackers Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Queensland >
    • Cairns Region >
    • Cairns
    • Also Known As
    • Global Backpackers Waterfront Cairns, Queensland
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (12)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (14)
    Nearby
    Coral Tree Inn
    511 reviews
    .63 km away
     
    Ibis Styles Cairns
    783 reviews
    .49 km away
     
    Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
    2,006 reviews
    .50 km away
     
    Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
    2,606 reviews
    .38 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Grill'd
    701 reviews
    .08 km away
    Nitrolato
    177 reviews
    .05 km away
    Rattle N Hum
    973 reviews
    .04 km away
    Spicy Bite
    221 reviews
    .07 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Esplanade Boardwalk
    4,441 reviews
    .18 km away
    Cairns Esplanade Swimming Lagoon
    2,935 reviews
    .12 km away
    Michaelmas Cay
    531 reviews
    .13 km away
    Cairns Regional Gallery
    190 reviews
    .12 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Global Backpackers Waterfront staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Just tell them if you want anything change"
    Read review
    "if travelling in a pair, private room with the '4nights pay for 3' deal will give you dorm bed prices..."
    Read review
    "choose another hotel."
    Read review
    "Be aware that none of the Single Rooms have any Windows."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing