We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Agoda.comUS$120*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$143*
US$120*
Great Deal
US$139*
US$139*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We stayed here for over a week, and really enjoyed it. The staff here were extremely helpful, and always keen for a chat. The proximity to shops was good, it is close to a great bakery and only a couple of blocks away from some great restaurants. The room was very clean and the facilities were good quality. I'd highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomBrady16
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Tom, thanks for your review, we are glad we could be of assistance to you throughout you stay, it was great having a chat to you. The bakery over the road is a popular shop for most people and always gets good feedback and has great stuff. Thanks for staying with us and will be good to see you again...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We had a great time on our week's holiday. First up: we loved the location - less than 10 mins from the airport and only 5 mins from The Esplanade. Super easy to locate and quiet surroundings. There's good easy-to-operate gate security overnight. We were 4 adults in a 2 bedroom unit and managed well. There was good space to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K0zzies
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

K0zzies, great to hear you had a great holiday and loved the apartments and location. We are superbly located in a quiet area on the fringe of the city with shops and restaurants over the road as you noticed. Glad you found our newly updated security gates easy to operate, that was the aim of the full upgrade to the...

Northam, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Stayed for a week and couldn't fault the place, again. Been there before and was so pleased I went back. Clean self-contained family friendly rooms, awesome pool area and able to get from your car to your room without getting wet if you're lucky enough to get an undercover parking spot. The city centre is so close yet far enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thefisherguy
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for staying again with us, we look forward to your next stay next year and you can see all the new renovations we have planned over the next 12 months. We have all undercover walk ways here with half the parking undercover and half not, with only a short distance to the undercover area if you do not get...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Booked online on their website and got a great value rate of AUD 99 a night for a two bedroom apartment. We wanted a room on the top floor but got one on the ground floor. Checkin was fast. The living room was a bit small and basic. The kitchen was well equipped. The bathroom though large was crammed with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vinn_2k
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, good having you here, we are glad you found the accommodation OK. Common misconception people make are the difference between Self Contained Apartments and Serviced Apartments, the latter being much more expensive, a lot of people, especially families, choose self contained apartments because they are cheaper and dont require the extra daily room service or topups...

Moruya, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments was perfect for our 5 person family stay in Cairns. The rooms were clean and tidy. The apartment was a base for our family and we found the accommodation excellent. The pool was lovely and well maintained. Thank you Linda & Wayne for making our stay fantastic. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarinaHanson1970
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Marina, thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure having you and family here for the duration of the stay. We are constantly slowly refurbishing rooms in some way or another making the guest experience better and better constantly with feedback we receive from everyone. We currently have some big plans for the rooms coming up over the next...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

My sister and I recently stayed at these apartments and were delighted to find them so well appointed and clean. The rooms were large and all mod cons required were provided. We booked many trips around the area through the licencee, Wayne and his wife Linda, so got a discount, and plenty of information and help from them also. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddyshacklady
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, it was a pleasure having you here and assisting you with tours and othe rinformation to make your holiday stress free. Due to the mass tour boookings we make through operators all the time, we can pass on the discounts they give us to make people holidays even cheaper.

Mossman, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

As a local I needed a short term stay immediately. Tradewinds on McLeod were awesome. I was able to move in the day I booked. The place was amazingly clean, smoke free, and fully set for moving in. All I needed to buy was a towel! The people were friendly and when my towel rail broke it was fixed within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank family075
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, it was great having you stay with us. Once maintenance issues are reported they are fixed as soon as possible so they don't pile up in a long list and so they don't prevent guests any discomfort or makes things harder for them. Hop to see you again one day.

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2016

My partner and I had an extended stay here (roughly 4 months), when we moved back to Cairns and needed a base to find permanent accommodation etc. The booking was smoothly taken care of by Wayne the manager and we were given a reasonable and reduced rate because of the length of time we would be staying. In short everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul D
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Paul, thanks for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you here. We are glad you liked all our facilities and hope to see you again one day. The longer people stay the cheaper the rates become.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The apartments are ok. Good price but far (30min by walk to the centre and no busses running there so better take a taxi). Anyway I WILL NEVER EVER GO BACK here with my family because of the receptionist. He (Wayne?) was very rude, never willing to help. Basically an idiot. I asked him to check our bedroom at 7:15am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blanca F
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Serious?, So Unfair!!, Christmas Day, So you are saying you had a great time, great rooms but one incident unknown to me you give us a bad review for?? I'm sorry you did not read our in-room compendium or look at our opening times displayed prominently on our office door (8am daily, for over 5 years now) and wake me...

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for a week. Apartments were clean, and spacious. Modern decor and had all the facilities we could need. Good size pool with nice shaded areas to have a BBQ. The area is very quiet and walking distance to supermarket, bottle shop, take away and pubs and restaurants. We booked all our tours through reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoody30
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback, we are glad you had a great time and our facilities met your needs and we catered for your tour bookings perfectly and quickly to suit the weather conditions. Be glad to see you back one day, just watch your email for our specials we send out a few times per year, if not signed...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 km away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#36 of 85 in Cairns
132 reviews
0.3 km away
City Plaza Apartments Cairns
1.0 km away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#16 of 85 in Cairns
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tropic Towers Apartments
Tropic Towers Apartments
#43 of 85 in Cairns
74 reviews
0.9 km away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#31 of 85 in Cairns
138 reviews
0.7 km away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Also on offer is FREE Super High speed WiFi. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Address: Tradewinds 191 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms point all directions, over pool, street and rear and 3 stories tall”
jhinderman, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the pool”
LancefieldOldBank, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Have stayed in several rooms over many years, all quiet and comfortable. Quality of furniture and maintenance varies between rooms.”
W1858VBlindah, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Free WiFi is available albeit at a slower rate, paid WiFi is available if you need faster connections. The free is still very good though.”
TomBrady16, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Loved our outlook over the pool.”
K0zzies, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$139
PricelineUS$139
CancelonUS$143
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates