We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Backpackers

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Reef Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Reef Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Pro's: Spacious rooms, I had my own bed (not a bunkbeed) which was great. Free breakfast and computers available to use in the common area. Friendly staff. Great atmosphere at the hostel. Great aircon, was on all the time. Very good value for money! Con's My room had lockers, but not padlocks were provided. Bathrooms and kitchen were a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Reef Backpackers and really enjoyed my stay there. Hostel was basic but perfectly acceptable for price range (I paid approx 16AUD per night): it had functioning air con, free to use computers and wifi, was clean and provided free breakfast. Total bargain. Suited my needs perfectly as it was friendly and chilled rather than a party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
Bonn, Germany
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We have been there for one night and were so lucky that it was ONLY one night. The rooms, toilets and showers are really dirty. We paid for two beds, but a other fellow slept in our bed and the stuff didn't care. Really a bad service and the guy at the reception was very unfriendly, when we told him...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer226
Constanze N, Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you for staying with us and leaving a review in regards to the rooms toilets and showers the rooms are cleaned each day the cleaners are not aloud to mover the property of the guests for security reasons toilets and showers are scrubbed twice every day but with a large number of guests it does not take long for...

Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Overall, the facilities were reflective of the price. It is a good value hostel, with average facilities - nothing spectacular. I would suggest staying here for a short period, as the location is good, but amenities just about suffice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nowar Y
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Don't go this place!!!! It is extremely dirty. The sheets were used, so I asked for fresh ones. Didn't get fresh sheets at all. There are dead animals (cockroach) on the floor. Even if it's cheap don't waste your money and time there! The guy at the reception isn't very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon T
Constanze N, Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you for your review and extension with us regarding your bed sheets i remember them being changed twice for you as the first time they were changed when you asked by the house keeper you complained to her and was very rude due to the fact that there was a single hair on the sheet so she changed them...

Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

When we booked this accommodation we knew that it wouldn't be top quality. For starters our air-conditioning had on setting which was absolutely freezing. I don't know if it is standard for backpackers to not provide a blanket but perhaps the option should be available. One window had blinds and the other did not. By the time our third night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taryn E
Constanze N, General Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and staying with us i am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay not once during your stay was any of these problems mentioned the first management heard of any of this was once you checked out leaving your baggage in the secure luggage room all day when you were on your trip management went...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

The worst place I have ever stayed. The window rattler air-conditioner had one setting - freezing. The air con leaked in the room. Only sheets provided so you was up an icicle if you leave the air on over night. Which means you need to turn it on to cool the room down, get up in the night to turn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess P
Constanze N, General Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and staying with us i am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay not once during your stay was any of these problems mentioned the first management heard of any of this was once you checked out leaving your baggage in the secure luggage room all day when you were on your trip management went...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

You man feel really welcome here and all the staff tries to help you out,free breakfast is a great advantage and the WiFi works really well aswell.Although it could be cleaner but you can't always have everything. To conclude the value for money is great and you may get your room from 17 dollars if you book it online.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob P
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my gf for 6 nights (7th night free, $105/wk) and we loved it. Big kitchen with all utensils/storage space. Many chill/hang out spots. Weekly activities. Awesome staff - haircut for $10. Great wifi, hot water, AC room, comfy bed. Only thing to improve - fix some shower heads. Cheers and thanks Tom

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robby A
Constanze N, Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

thanks for stay with us and leaving a review was a great pleasure have your self and partner staying with us and i love the painting that you gave me look forward to seeing you both again

Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Great hostel the staff are friendly and helping and has a great atmosphere, if your looking to relax or go out for a night on the town this is hostel for you! :) Also the staff at the front desk can book day trips with reputable companies round cairns and you wont get slugged heaps of commission on top. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
Constanze N, Manager at Reef Backpackers, responded to this review

thank you Steven always a pleasure to have your self and group staying with us looking forward to seeing you all again in a couple months

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 km away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
109 reviews
0.3 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
470 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#1 of 13 in Cairns
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Reef Backpackers

Address: 140 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $21 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reef Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Reef Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Backpackers Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Reef Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best bathrooms are upstairs, and the upstairs female dorm doesn't have bunk beds!”
Karie1, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A little far from the city. Do not stay here.”
  • The chairs here, in the dining and in the lounge are all disgusting, old, sunken, dirty, mouldy.
pigmoon, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The hostel dinners are good value”
, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“not big differences among rooms but only how many beds in though if you are female, you might be happy to chose female only room.”
149shunsukem, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here that's a good tip.”
broelc, 23 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5