Oaks Cairns Hotel

Oaks Cairns Hotel

Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (53)
Oaks Cairns Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
S$154
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#25 of 68 hotels in Cairns
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Choose Oaks Cairns Hotel for all your home away from home needs in the beautiful Queensland metropolis of Cairns. Perfectly located on the Cairns Esplanade in the heart of the city, the Hotel is just minutes away from all the hustle and bustle including the new Esplanade dining precinct and Cairns Convention Centre. Offering modern rooms and a gorgeous rooftop restaurant and bar, this brand-new property is an idea choice for travellers looking for a comfortable stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Rooftop bar
Rooftop terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Oaks Hotels Stay: Early Bird Deal Up To 25% Off!

Location

59-63 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cairns Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles260 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Oaks Cairns Hotel receives accolades for its pristine and contemporary rooms, though the lack of windows in some rooms is a point of contention among some guests. The hotel's atmosphere is lauded for its cleanliness and stylish furnishings, albeit the minimalistic approach isn't to everyone's taste. While opinions on value vary due to additional costs, the location is universally celebrated for its proximity to local attractions. The rooftop bar is a highlight, despite remarks about room size and extra amenities fees. Service at the hotel is widely commended for its friendliness and professionalism.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Modern
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
260Reviews4Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 48
  • 24
  • 21
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David Dunk d wrote a review Feb 2023
gold coast australia30 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As i travel regularly to Cairns i know the area well this was the first time to stay at the Oaks on the esplanade and i was very impressed good size room very clean and the restaurant do yourself a favour and get the Barramundi
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM Cairns, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2023
Thank you for this amazing feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Cairns.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HiltonR5571 wrote a review Oct 2021
Gold Coast, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were overall a little disappointed with our stay . Whilst the hotel is in a great location straight across from the lagoon pool and very close to many dining options as well as the pier but there were some short comings.
There are no balconies and as the internal hotel rooms are very very small with limited storage and without windows it can feel a little claustrophobic. We found housekeeping very hit in miss , with the tea and coffee only being replenished on the 3rd day , no tea towels to dry dishes , wet bath mat being left on the bathroom floor after cleaning and pillows/ duvet seemingly not always made up to a suitable standard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Consider room upgrade with window
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 29 Dec 2021
Thank you for your constructive feedback HiltonR5571
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
jpjpjp0808 wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A little expensive but location is outstanding, a stone’s throw from the Esplanade. Clean hotel. Friendly staff. If you want your room cleaned daily you have to book for this additional service otherwise not included.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 1 Jul 2021
Thank you jpjpjp0808. Great review & useful information
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Apr 2021
Townsville, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a stay with Oaks Cairns for 15 to 17 April. I have an Oaks Gold membership which includes a 10% discount on booking, a complimentary bottle of water and a choice of newspaper each day. I was not offered either a bottle of water or a newspaper. When I enquired a the reception I was advised by the receptionist that water is on request only and that they don't give out newspapers.

In addition, the room was an Executive double room for two people staying, but only had one chair allocated to it , so the other person has to stand up to drink coffee or have it on the bed. Only one tiny bin was available and only gets emptied once a week and bedding and towels are changed once a week, so no housekeeping was done during our 2 night stay, which left the bin overflowing.

The roof top restaurant is very nice with one of the best hotel views in Cairns but the waiting service could be improved. A waiter brought my plate over with his thumb in my food when holding the plate (no covid awareness ) as he should have held it with a napkin. Also food missing of the order. We ordered citrus pancakes for breakfast advertised on the menu with berries, maple syrup and ( ice cream not GF ). It came without icecream . I pointed out this to the staff and was told it wasn't on the menu. I pointed this out to the staff that it was. They then added the ice cream. I was surprised they don't know their own menus.

Not really what I was expecting from a 4 to 5 star service.

I took the issue about membership extras up with the Oaks Hotels Head office, but they were not very helpful either as they didnt offer an explanation and just redirected my call back to the hotel reception.

Lastly, there is no parking available at the hotel so you have to pay full price for multi storey or nearby on street parking. You can't park outside to drop off luggage eiither as there is building going on outside. You have to find a place where the builders will let you park so you can take the luggage in from there.

The hotel also has no pool, so don't expect to be able to swim unless you walk through the building site area with your swimming gear and towels to the open air pool on the esplanade.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2021
Hi Sooterdod1_, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my apologies that your overall experience did not living up to your expectations. I regret that we were unable to meet our high standards during your recent stay. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team and action will be taken to ensure the issues you experienced are corrected moving forward. We are committed to providing memorable experiences with exceptional service and therefore we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and improve on your experience in the near future. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your time in sharing your feedback. Best regards, Oaks Cairns Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BreeGold wrote a review Jan 2021
Gold Coast, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The lifts were out for half the time we were there so had to use the stairs to get up to our floor. Our key cards kept not working so we kept needing new access cards which ment repetitive trips up and down several floors via the stairs to reception because the lift wasn't working. We had an internal room and there was no airflow so the bathroom towels were not drying for days, after complaining to reception and requesting fresh towels daily so we had dry, not stinky towels to shower with I was told it would cost extra because we only had a weekly housekeeping booked. Also informed them of a stain from a previous occupant on the quilt where they just remade the bed with the dirty sheets. The hotel staff did not do a weekly clean, remove any old wet towels or empty the bins in the room. Absolutely dismal service, and experience. I would not stay with Oaks again. If I had the funds during my stay I would have left and gone elsewhere. If you're looking for good accomodation, look elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear bscgoldspink, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Oaks Cairns Hotel. We are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and note your comments regarding the housekeeping service and apologise for this. Please be assured we value your feedback and will ensure we share your comments with the team to ensure we are always looking to improve the service we offer to our valuable guests. Regards The Oaks Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rhouterman wrote a review May 2022
Brisbane Region, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No Car parking available - had to park on the road 200 metres away and
pay for car parking, moving the car after 11 pm to a closer car park that
had a few hours of free parking. No on-site smoking, only 1 seat per room
if two of you taking turns to sit on the chair. Some overpaid interior designer
thinks one chair is sufficient to make the photos of the venue pretty.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 8 May 2022
Thank you for your feedback rhouterman. We regret you did not enjoy your stay. We do appreciate you confirming what we advertise. We have no on-site parking and we are a non-smoking hotel. The Hotel does however have a great location and arguably the best rooftop Bar & Restaurant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gazza wrote a review May 2021
26 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is superb, in the heart of cairns, rooms are small but modern. its a place to leave your bags and lay your head. Unfortunately road works didn't make it easy especially with a wheel chair, no drop off point and the entrance is a lift to 1st floor. only 1 lift. Housekeeping is daily but very poor, had to complain as towels were not replaced. Sadly no balcony or windows open, , Asked for a seaview lol the trees were lovely. make sure you ask for a room with windows as middle rooms would not have windows. Staff were polite and friendly... $139 a night was fair but wouldnt pay any more , No onsite parking.... Location location location gave them the three stars.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a window, if you like coffee take your own including mug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 19 May 2021
Dear Garry H. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. Your comments are appreciated and duly noted. They will be shared with the relevant departments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maaike wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the oaks for 3 nights. On our first night we realized the AC probably wasn’t working as it should be. Winnie who was on duty promptly moved our room and made us feel very cared for. The rooms are beautiful and the roof top bar is a great place to sit and have breakfast or a relaxing drink. The road works are a bit annoying but only a minor issue. Would happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Dear familytravelsaus Thanks for your great feedback and recognition of Winnie. We'll be sure to pass your thanks on to her. regards Matthew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guy R wrote a review May 2021
Sydney5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely new hotel in Cairns, with a great rooftop bar and very central to most activities/highlights that Cairns has on offer - Harbour, waterfront, cafes, restaurants, Cairns Gallery, Cairns Aquarium, Cruise terminal to the Great Barrier Reef, Cairns Casino, Cairns Fruit & Veg Markets etc.
Hertz & Europcar Car rental offices are in the same block for easy car rental or the Cairns Central Railway station is a flat 15min walk to get to some of the main attractions such as the Scenic Railway and Kuranda. You can easily catch a bus from this location to go to Palm Cove for the day or to nearby shopping centres. Plenty of retail therapy available around within easy walking distance if you need. Highly recommend experiencing a seafood banquet at the Prawn Star Restaurant for lunch or dinner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 6 May 2021
Hi GuyR, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in future. Best regards, Oaks Cairns Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bobdX5867EV wrote a review Jun 2021
Gold Coast, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay at Oaks Hotel Cairns. It is central, well-managed, clean and quiet and the accommodation is keenly priced. For business people, couples, close friends or those travelling solo, stay at Oaks Cairns.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from G M, General Manager at Oaks Cairns Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thanks bobdX5867EV.. We'll take that as a compliment
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MelMMMM asked a question Feb 2021
Sutherland Shire, Australia3,569 contributions91 helpful votes
Hi, do you have parking available at the hotel and is it included in the room price? Thanks
Answer from GM Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Hi Mel, sorry we don't have on site parking but there are several paid car parks close to the hotel. Regards - The Oaks Team
rahrah1 asked a question Feb 2021
Brisbane, Australia66 contributions20 helpful votes
Has your Hotel been used for COVID19 quarantine? Thanks Deb
Answer from GM Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Hi Deb, thanks for your question. No we have not been a quarantine hotel, regards
Vicki E asked a question Oct 2020
Varsity Lakes, Australia23 contributions24 helpful votes
Do any rooms have two beds and a balcony?
Answer from GM Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Thanks for your question. We do have rooms with interconnecting doors that sleep up to 4 adults, however they don't have balconies.
Tracey F wrote a tip Mar 2024
17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay for parking through the Oaks. All Cairns attractions close by."
Read full review
terry_mel wrote a tip Mar 2024
Grantham, United Kingdom69 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the fried burger for dessert- yes dessert !!!"
Read full review
Paul H wrote a tip Feb 2024
United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"3rd floor 👍"
Read full review
Staeven V wrote a tip Oct 2023
53 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is paid parking at $20 next door"
Read full review
Chris and Beryl W wrote a tip Aug 2023
16 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We didn't pay for room service, but clean towels, extra coffee/sugar/milk etc are available at no charge from reception. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
S$189 - S$254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OAKS CAIRNS HOTEL (S̶$̶2̶4̶4̶) S$141: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 127 Photos (Queensland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Oaks Cairns Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Oaks Cairns Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Aquarium (0.5 km), Cairns Museum (0.3 km), and Esplanade Boardwalk (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oaks Cairns Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Oaks Cairns Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Oaks Cairns Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Snoogies, Cruze Coffee, and Gelocchio.
Is Oaks Cairns Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Is Oaks Cairns Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cairns HotelsCairns Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CairnsHotels near Oaks Cairns Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire