We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
44-56 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Expedia.com
US$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Hotels.comUS$168
TravelocityUS$168
Trip.comUS$183
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (72)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (26)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 20/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 70 hotels in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Officially opening our doors on 1 July 2021, The Benson Hotel has taken over a previous hotel. The property has been given new life from it's external facade, through the Lobby to the deco inspired Restaurant & Bar on level three, overlooking the city skyline. Existing guest rooms have experienced a stage one refresh with new carpet, curtains, paint and 55" Smart TVs with the bathrooms and furnishing to be refurbished in stage two over the coming months. Located in the heart of the central business district, The Benson Hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Convention Center, Reef Casino, reef departure terminals, Esplanade Lagoon and Promenade. Free WiFi is included. For a more active time, go canoeing or horse riding. Make your own unique tour of the area with a rented bicycle or car. Return to a favorite drink at the bar, open from Tuesday-Saturday. The Benson Bar & Restaurant is a combination of relaxation and sophistication, offering an array of cocktails, modern dining and local delicacies. The restaurant opens from 6:30 am everyday and the bar from 12 pm till late. It also offers outdoor seating to enjoy the tropical climate.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Car park
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
81Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 16
  • 6
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Curious47850018557 wrote a review 1 Oct
3 contributions
As a family of four, we stayed at The Benson for about 5 nights. The hotel is well situated just a few blocks from The Esplanade and it’s bars and restaurants. The hotel is opposite the weekend markets called Rusty’s. I booked a room facing the harbour, the hotel pool etc. as I read that rooms facing the other way can hear the partying all night at Gilligan’s partying backpackers. The rooms were of good standard of big queen beds but the door handle to the bathroom was broken. The room was always cleaned late in the afternoon so if we returned mid afternoon to the room it was still in the state we left it in. The bathroom floor had not been cleaned in the time we stayed there and there were no tea or coffee making facilities which I have never come across in my life before having stayed in hundreds of motels and hotels. The staff were kind and helpful. Because of the above faults I should rate the hotel 3.5 stars but because of the friendly staff I have rated it 4 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
anthonykJ4031YP wrote a review Aug 2021
Kewarra Beach, Australia39 contributions54 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed here for one night, being locals we wanted to do a pub crawl around Cairns, this hotel is excellent, lovely fresh rooms, bar area great & a well stocked bar, all the staff we encountered were professional and very welcoming, breakfast was excellent their eggs Benson got the thumbs up, plus the Chef is thinking outside the box with kale instead of the usual spinach, loved it. We will be back on our next overnight extravaganza in Cairns. A huge thanks to Bensons for brightening up our city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Hi anthonykJ4031YP, Truly appreciate the review and the wonderful comments from your fun trip in Cairns. Delighted to read you enjoyed our restaurant, bar and facilities and a memorable breakfast to top it all off. We hope to see you again soon! The Benson Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leanne S wrote a review Sep 2022
71 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed one night in the Benson Hotel in a Gold King Room. This room had been recently renovated and was clean, comfy and very very spacious. The veranday was tiny, couldnt even put a chair on it but the view was lovely. The bathroom was fabulous and very spacious as well. The staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. We had a late flight out and they held our luggage and offered us an area to change and shower which was great. We added breakfast onto our room and it was very good. Plenty of food to chose from and not rushed to eat it. The rooftop bar was great and the cocktails were amazing. The only drawback was the location. It was a few blocks back from the esplanade but in saying that there were cafes and restaurants everywhere and we were across the road from Rustys market so it wasnt a big deal. Would recommend staying here if you are to visit Cairns
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Leanne S, Sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review and the team and I are thrilled you had a great break in Cairns and enjoyed our facilities during your recent stay. We hope to be of service again soon. Ian and The Benson Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikki M wrote a review Sep 2022
Sydney, Australia17 contributions
After a cancelled flight home, we had to stay some extra nights in Cairns and stumbled across the Benson. So glad we did. The staff are super friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was gorgeous, newly renovated, 5 star bathroom, huge tv, mountain view, comfy bed, delicious breakfast. Really nice outdoor bar area and pool too. Some people might not consider this hotel because it’s back from the foreshore, but I’d recommend you do. It’s value for money and only a few blocks to the wharf. The walk to the esplanade down nearby Shields Street mall is lovely. Lots of nearby restaurants, entertainment and shopping. A couple of lows are a glass door fridge which looks cool but it shines light into the room at night and some construction noise while they are finishing the renos but neither were too problematic for us. We’ll definitely stay at the Benson again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are so pleased you had a brilliant stay NikkiMMargeeB, Sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review. We hope to be of service again soon on your next visit to Far Nort Queensland. All the best from all of us at The Benson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy wrote a review Aug 2022
10 contributions
We loved our stay at The Benson Hotel and it was all thanks to the amazing bar staff. From the day we got there and met Mason, he made us feel super welcome. He is a great asset to the team and deserves all the best.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Amyscothern, The team and I are so pleased you had a brilliant stay and Mason passes on his thanks for the mention - He is a true Benson ambassador. We cannot wait to be of service again soon Ian and The Benson hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniella C wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne, Australia152 contributions16 helpful votes
We got to stay in one of the recently renovated rooms with two king beds. The room was very modern and clean. The beds were comfy. The balcony had a nice view of the city. Only issue we ran into was, we had a booking to eat one night at The Benson Hotels restaurant but they called and advices to move it earlier or cancel due to function. We had to cancel and didn’t get a chance to dine in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Stay in the newly renovated rooms, level 5. If there are functions, the hotel can get a little...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Daniellac974, We are so pleased you loved your stay and our brand new fully renovated Gold rooms. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Ian and The Benson Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Love to travel wrote a review Jul 2022
Gold Coast50 contributions8 helpful votes
We were due to stay here on our arrival back from the UK en route to Brisbane. Unfortunately our flight from Heathrow was delayed 2hrs due to the heatwave and when we landed in Singapore was advised our connecting flight to Cairns we had missed and they then placed us on a direct flight to Brisbane. Upon landing in Singapore I called the hotel straight away to advise them of this change and that we were not going to make the accommodation. I asked the manager was there a way that we could get our money back or even a credit as they had charged the FULL amount $500 12 hours prior and that there was nothing she could do, told me to claim this on my travel insurance. I then asked how was I supposed to have informed them when 1 England is 10hrs behind Australia and also that we had no idea that we would not make our flight to Cairns. The manager Amanda was rude, lacked empathy and most certainly offered us no assistance in trying to even refund or credit us for the charge. I cannot explain just how inconsiderate this manager was. She was downright rude and they were happy to take our money and not offer any compensation. DISGUSTING especially in these current economic times. I was willing to cop a 10% cancellation fee but to take the whole amount when this was completely out of our control. You should be ashamed!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Hi eleanor_moeller As per the multiple other negative reviews you and your association have posted against the hotel, we are more than happy to assist you to support you to claim against your financial loses due to your Singapore connection. Travel insurance covers these types of hardships which are very common in our current world of interruptions due to many factors. We are following our booking policy which you accepted when organising this stay. Ian Pirodon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
daniarwen wrote a review Jul 2022
Denver, Colorado358 contributions187 helpful votes
I'm giving 3 stars because frankly I would give the hotel itself a 5, but something needs deducted for the terrible restaurant which deserves a 1. The location of the hotel is perfect. The rooms are large enough to accommodate 4 people plus the luggage (from a 3 week stay in Australia). Room was well stocked and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful for the most part. There was a little issue at the end of our stay with fact that we had prepaid and had the printout to show it, but apparently prepaying via a booking site doesn't mean that the hotel is paid so they tried to collect from us again. We needed to get to the airport so the front desk person finally agreed to look into the issue and "only charge our card if he couldn't get it straightened out". I'm not sure how their relationship with booking.com is our issue but at least he was trying to resolve (I'm not sure the outcome because I wasn't one in group that booked). As I said above, I would give the hotel a 5, but for the restaurant - it's really really bad and I'm usually not one to be negative about a restaurant. We ate there twice - the first night the Mgr warned us that they had a huge private party in the next room so the wait could be longer than normal - I really wanted pavlova so we decided, we could live with that. Turned out a little longer was 2 hours with a huge amount of that sitting without contact from a server at all - no drinks, no check-in etc.... We finally got food and it was generally ok - we ordered basic things like fish and chips and a burger - not great, not terrible, but then we tried to order the pavlova only to learn that they had changed their menu and didn't have it. Irritating but didn't stop us from coming back the next night because we were tired and didn't want to try to find something else. But...we ended up wishing we had. The second night we sat for almost 20 min before got drinks (there were only 3 other tables in the entire restaurant), and another 20 before our order was taken. That night was our last in Australia so we wanted something nice, so 2 people got steaks, one got gnocchi, and one got the beef curry. The steak was overcooked, the gnocchi was mostly vegetables with very little gnocchi and the sauce was awful, and the curry was inedible - super fatty slimy meat with no curry flavor. It was by far the worst meal we had in our 3 weeks in the country. After sitting there waiting and then picking at our plates for 1.5 hours, then waiting 30 min to pay our check, we went back to our room and ate chips and nuts after paying over $250 for dinner. The staff apparently didn't even notice that we hadn't eaten the food. The hotel really needs to associate with a different restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear Daniarwen, Sincere thanks for the feedback and apologies once again about the experience you received during our menu transition in the hotel restaurant. We have taken the time to do a full review with the team to iron out the shortcomings during your recent trip. We do hope to have a chance to remedy this experience in a future stay so please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Ian and The Benson hotel team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kent R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I’ve now stayed at the Bensen on three occasions and each time have received great service from all staff, inclusive of GM , bar and restaurant staff. Nothing was a drama at all, including my special needs. Perfect location and recent renovation ticks all boxes for me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear 727kentr, Thank you! We are thrilled to welcome you time and time again and appreciate the note to reflect on your Benson experience. We look forward to welcoming you back home again soon to The Benson. Ian and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brontes668 wrote a review Jul 2022
Victor Harbor, Australia2 contributions
Newly renovated rooms are lovely. Soft comfy beds and spacious enough for four of us. Buffet breakfast was great. Many choices to suit our family’s different preferences. Staff really helpful and pleasant. Reasonably central and not too far to walk to the esplanade etc Main issue for us was lack of sleep. The aircon in our room not being cool enough for us (didn’t go under 23/24 despite being set at 21) at night thus making it very uncomfortable (almost impossible) for everyone to sleep. Unfortunately we were almost directly across from the nightclub over the road so were unable to open the door either. (I’d definitely recommend you ask for a room on the other side of the hotel). So we go into our last day today on not much sleep for our 5 day stay. At this stage I probably wouldn’t choose to stay again unless I knew aircon had an upgrade. But for those who don’t mind a warm night sleep you’ll love it here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Pirodon, General Manager at The Benson Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear Brontes668, Sincere thanks for the gift of feedback and we have had the engineering team rectify the air con issues you had in the rooms. We certainly would love to welcome you back in future and give you a brilliant guest experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Ian and The Benson Hotel team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$133 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Benson Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Benson Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Museum (0.2 km), Cairns Art Gallery (0.3 km), and Rusty's Market (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Benson Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Benson Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Benson Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Benson Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Benson Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Falafellicious, Cruze Coffee, and Snoogies.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Benson Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Benson Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Benson Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Benson Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does The Benson Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.