We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
145 The Esplanade Cairns Cnr. The Esplanade & Minnie St., Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$134
View deal
Expedia.comUS$143
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (307)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (305)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cairns Plaza Hotel
Updated 08/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 69 in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
3 1/2 star Hotel located about 2 blocks from center.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast buffet
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Italian
1396Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 484
  • 627
  • 208
  • 57
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lea F wrote a review 10 Jun
Florey38 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed here for seven nights and what a great place to stay! It's at the northern end of the Esplanade but within walking distance of restaurants, bars and the shops. We booked an ocean-facing suite and what fabulous views to wake up to each morning, plus the weather was very kind. The king-size bed was extremely comfortable, the water was hot and the towels were large and fluffy.... all you need for a good stay but the little extras made it into a great stay. Incredibly, our room was fully serviced each day (this doesn't happen at some 5-star hotels) and the front desk staff were always warm and welcoming. Our suite contained everything we needed for a week's stay and there is also a guest laundry on site. If ever we are lucky enough to return to Cairns again, we'll definitely stay at Cairns Plaza Hotel. Thank you for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
tubsy27 wrote a review 3 Jun
Galway, Ireland31 contributions24 helpful votes
We were advised on check in that ocean front rooms were not available as they were fully booked. The room cleaner showed us a room that had been vacant for a few days!!! We again checked and requested to pay for an upgrade if necessary and again we were advised that the hotel was fully booked??? The shower recess was full of mould and the floor tiles were oozing grime. I had to request that a cleaner come and scrub the floor tiles in the shower recess, which in fairness they did, however, the shower recess should not have been in that condition, especially with covid! Staff generally unfriendly and the hotel charged $2 non-refundable for pool towels! They took $100 from my credit card on arrival and said it would be reversed upon check out, two days later I received an alert from my bank advising that it had not been reversed. I had to request the reverse on two occasions. At the time of writing this review it still had not been reversed. I have better things to do than chase sloppy operators for their inefficient work practices. We left feeling like we had been treated like refugees, rather than full paying guests! I suggest that you give this hotel a miss or be prepared to be bitterly disappointed. Everything was a bother to staff and upon checkout we weren't asked if we had a pleasant stay and we were hardly spoken to for our entire stay. Very disappointing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear tubsy27 Thanks for your recent stay with us along with your review. The hotel has been running on 100% occupancy consistently for several months and has been great after the recent Covid Pandemic, at the time that you inquired about a upgrade to a ocean View Suite the hotel was in fact 100% and no suites available, as you have indicated you were shown a suite that you said was vacant for a few days, however was not vacant at all, there is no reason as to not offer you this move if we had availability. With regards to you comment about the shower recess oozing grime and the recess full of mould, I find this quite over exaggerated as we inspected this as soon as you made the comments to find that the grouting in the tiles were darkened and a little mould just starting to appear from the silicone, one must remember we do live in the tropics and have had a considerable amount of rain recently, none the less the shower and recess was cleaned straight away. The $2 pool towel hire is charged to guests as required as the hotel has to pay a hire fee to the linen company. The pre auth that was taken on your credit card was released on the day you checked out of the hotel, however some banks take longer than others and this is out of our control. In saying this I also note that your check out date from the hotel was Friday 03 June which is the same day your review has been written and as per the phone call to the hotel on Saturday 04 June proof was provided to you that the pre auth had been cancelled by the hotel on Friday 03 June. Our rooms have been refurbished and our owners are always looking at ways of enhancing the rooms, the amount of comments we receive daily from our guest about our rooms and team members is over whelming so to receive your comments regarding sloppy operators is quite a poor comment. Take care and stay safe.
Read more
kimtaylor11 wrote a review May 2022
Mullaway, Australia19 contributions
The location of the hotel and room would have scored 5 stars but we had a serious security incident. Reception had given a key to our room to another guest and at 12.45 am I woke to find a man at the end of my bed. Fortunately he left when I directed him to leave. Understandably I found this very disturbing and I didn’t sleep for the rest of the night (and I’m still having trouble sleeping). When I told reception they admitted their mistake and they were apologetic. However we did ask for the manager to contact us as we wanted to know their procedures would be tightened so this doesn’t happen to someone else. Now it has been 3 days and no contact has been made. Earlier that day we had comment that we would come back again (to this motel) but this has even spoilt our impression of Cairns as I left in a daze and a lasting impression.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cairns Plaza Hotel, Other at Cairns Plaza Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear kimtaylor11 Thanks for your review. As discussed with you over the phone this is extremely out of character and procedure for the front office team. The hotel takes guests security serious and has all procedures in place. We have addressed this situation with the team and they have passed on their apologies to you. The other guest involved has been in contact and is extremely apologetic advising he purely had the wrong room number after being in several hotels of late and staying with us for a few nights and had no intention of any disturbance, realising once he had opened the door he was at the wrong room number. The guest did advise front office as soon as this happened. As the hotel operates 24 hours a day there is always a team member on the front desk, and the team member was going to make contact with you on the night, however seeing as this was late in the night they hesitated as they were not sure if you were awake. It is our understanding that the other guest opened the door and realised he was at the wrong room. I can assure you this is the first time this has happened. Take care and stay safe.
Read more
Chizzel wrote a review May 2022
Perth, Australia2294 contributions1019 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay when in Cairns. To start with the location is fantastic being very centrally located. The rooms were of a decent size and generally value for money.  We found this hotel comfortable and staff were very friendly and happy to assist. The best thing here is the parking availability which was great as we had to park our hire car. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AJ wrote a review May 2022
New South Wales, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
Good size spacious rooms, appeared to have recently been renovated. Surprisingly quiet position with only one way traffic. Although the external building and pool area looked tired it was positioned well, clean and tidy, never had to wait for the lift. Bar fridge didn’t have a freezer but grabbing an ice bucket at reception was too easy. Opposite a fabulous park for children covered with trees to cut out the sun. Can strongly recommend Muddy’s cafe next to this, very reasonable prices and excellent food.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
RedWhiteBlack66 wrote a review May 2022
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice and spacious rooms. Great location on the Esplanade, and not too far from the airport (the taxi ride was just over $20). The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful. Happy with our choice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
neandcpspackman wrote a review May 2022
Brisbane, Australia24 contributions3 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Cains Plaza Hotel for 5 nights now and cannot fault it. Excellent location close toeverything and wit fantastic sea views. The room is spacious and has been serviced daily without request. We would recommend this establishment to Seniors working within a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Within walking distance of everything one requires
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
tholland55 wrote a review May 2022
Miranda, Australia163 contributions107 helpful votes
This hotel is well located opposite the water and an easy walk to restaurants. Parking was good and the room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome. Would recommend it as a very good, clean 3 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Anita C wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here recently and loved it. The location is amazing - right on the Esplanade in Cairns, a short taxi drive from the airport. I'd recommend getting a room with ocean views because it was wonderful waking up to those views, even in rainy weather. The rooms were clean and bright, everything worked, the shower was awesome - we were on the top floor and the water pressure was great, and the water was always hot. We had a one-bedroom suite along with a sofa bed/couch in the lounge. The sofa bed was not super comfortable but what sofa beds are? The room had everything we needed, though you should know they are not allowed to supply toasters. The dining room was not open when we went, but there are lots of places to eat brekky, or you can supply your own cereal etc and eat in your room. Muddy's cafe across the road offers a discount to Cairns Plaza guests, you just have to show your room key holder with your room number on it. You're walking distance to the marina and the excellent restaurants there, which is also where a lot of the Reef cruises leave from. You're about a 10 minute walk from the excellent Cairns Lagoon, a free pool that is a welcome place to cool off during stinger season. I'd also recommend the Cairns Art Gallery, also walking distance, which was exhibiting the 100 years of the Archibald when we were in town. We did a big walk to the Cairns Botanic Gardens also, but that's probably a bit much for your standard tourist. The staff at the Cairns Plaza are brilliant - super friendly, helpful, and we always felt they had time to chat to us. Nothing was too much trouble. I wish I noted the names of the people we dealt with! One gentleman gave us some excellent recommendations for activities. The reception desk is staffed 24 hours, which is great. Highly recommended! But you also need to be realistic - if you want a super-quiet area, don't stay in the heart of the tourist district. It wasn't noisy when we were there, but you could hear planes from the airport (our kids loved watching them fly over the water), people on the Esplanade at night, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Recommend the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Susan wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
Nothing to complain about, Was all Great, Friendly Staff, The location was a great spot around every where you wanted to go, The rooms where very clean, Will Return again, So you need to go on a holiday, Stay at the ( Cairns Plaza Hotel )
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: beach front great views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cairns Plaza Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Muddy's Playground (0.05 km), Cairns Aquarium (0.3 km), and St Monica's Cathedral (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dundee's at the Cairns Aquarium, Bagus Cafe, and Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Cairns Plaza Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cairns Plaza Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cairns Plaza Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Chinese.
Does Cairns Plaza Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.