We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bellview

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bellview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great budget hotel with lots of options to accommodate you. Centered where the action is and easy walking distance to everything. Super nice owners and staff. I spent a night the previous week at the Holiday Inn up the street (nice place), but decided to stay at the Bellview when I returned...good decision, worked out well for half the price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ForceRecon6
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi ForceRecon6, We're glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable, and hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Hannah

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Budget accommodation that is in the best location in cairns. Very basic rooms and there were outside tables and chairs just near my room which was unfortunate as other guests used these for smoking & good times ! ( loud) really loved the price & location though just be prepared for very basic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maiz1
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi Maiz1, We're glad you found the location convenient and the rooms affordable. We pride ourselves on providing a quiet and relaxed environment for our guests, so we were very sorry to hear about the problems you encountered with the noise. If in the future you do stay with us again please feel free to approach the staff with any...

Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Bellview's location is perfect- in the centre of the esplanade facing the sea, across the road from the local public pool 'The Lagoon', surrounded by bustling shops and local restaurants. The price was extremely reasonable- we had booked in to a 4 bed female dorm, and were pleasantly surprised to find individual beds, a fridge, fab aircon and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimeejaney
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi Aimee, We're happy to hear your stay was a pleasant one! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Hannah

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very Central Private Hotel on The Esplanade. The Hotel has a range of rooms and the budget double I was in was compact with fan, basin and shared bathroom. Pool is spotless and the management ensures that the place remains quiet , reminding people it is NOT a party hotel. Staff have a good knowledge of various tours and book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruce t
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi Bruce, We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back in the area soon! Cheers, Hannah

Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Best Budget convenient clean spacious Rooms .. Friendly Staff Close to the Lagoon and the Kids just had too much fun... if your planning on going to CNS for a short stay then this is a supurb place to consider, and even close to the night markets ... and ofcourse the food court and the bars nearby Will be back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kils
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi Kila, We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Hannah

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for two nights, excellent location, very central but also quiet, room was basic, but did have a fan which was a big plus. Staff were mostly friendly and all were helpful, and travel desk facility was useful. I didn't have a fridge in my room, but there was one just out in the corridor. Toilet and shower facilities were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi bex_freckles, We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you in Cairns again soon. Cheers, Hannah

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A couple of my friends and I (5 total) stayed here during our vacation in Cairns, and it was definitely a great decision! First of all, the innkeepers who man the reception desk are quite nice, and very helpful. We did not need to book any tours through them, but they do offer discounts for tours if you need. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thanks for the feedback. Sorry to hear the fan didn't work. We do our best to keep all the rooms in working order, and do appreciate it when guests let us know if anything is broken or in need of repair. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back in Cairns again...

Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Went to the Bellview after escaping from the hostel on earth. And was pleasantly surprised! Nice little private rooms with all amenities. Not luxury but perfect on a budget. Location is superb. Close to everything you need. I would recommend the Bellview highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James86mills
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi James, We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you in Cairns again soon. Cheers, Hannah

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was pretty shocked at the state of the room I had booked. If I hadn't made the mistake of paying when I arrived (without inspecting the room) I would have walked away. I was in one of the quiet budget room down the back behind the pool area. The room was quite cramped, stuffy and in a poor state...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank matt_j_harrop
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi Matt, We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room. Because the motel has one of the longest histories on the Cairns Esplanade, some of the facilities are quite dated, but we work very hard to ensure all of our rooms (including the community kitchen) are clean and functional. If you ever do choose to stay with The...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I was slightly discouraged initially by the grouchy receptionist and a bit disappointed on further exploration of the hostel. The tiny kitchen lacked many implements including bowls and there wasn't really a clean dry space to store my food. The room was alright although there were hundreds of tiny bugs crawling all over the floor and the blankets where somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kat G
BellviewCairns, Guest Relations Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review

Hi kittysnacks12, We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We do our best to keep the kitchen stocked with basic implements, however items do sometimes go missing. We appreciate guest feedback when this happens as it lets us know when things need replacing. We also supply shelving and a refrigerator for food storage. As for the tiny...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#63 of 65 in Cairns
108 reviews
0.4 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 65 in Cairns
324 reviews
0.1 km away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 km away
Mantra Trilogy
Mantra Trilogy
#27 of 65 in Cairns
1,422 reviews
0.0 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#49 of 89 in Cairns
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Bellview

Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns
The Bellview Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bellview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for water views”
 of 5 bubbles samhJ5654BG, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Can't remember the room number but we were on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Jacimacoo7, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We were halfway down the corridor, so maybe the rooms at the front are marginally quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles crish771, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms, make sure to get AC, a fan alone will not be enough. In-house pool may not be running during rainy season, but there is a public pool on the Esplanade.”
 of 5 bubbles Trendy-Traveller82, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Their prices are quiet low, so don't expect anything more than what you paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles 33Virginie, 26 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5