We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travellers Oasis Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 781: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Helen was so welcoming when we arrived - won't forget her warmth in a hurry! We had a twin room and it was spring so the fan was cool enough. TV was a nice touch, as is the mini fridge. I really loved relaxing in the hammocks (except when I fell out trying to get in) and the pool looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank immicatherine
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed you stay with us. The hammocks can be tricky to get in and out of but well worth the effort once you master it. Enjoy the rest of your trip

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I'm a bit older than the typical hostel crowd, but was so glad I stayed here. The staff is truly wonderful. They had great recommendations for day trips and were always friendly even when juggling questions from multiple people at once. The rooms are generally comfortable and there is a lot of good communal outdoor space at the hostel. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica W
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, thank you for your lovely review.we are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us, until next time.

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The hostel is great for travellers who are looking to spend time exploring Cairns. The vibe is chill with music and a pool. The quiet period starts at 10 which means you can sleep without being too disturbed. Janet at reception is amazingly friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Varun B
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed you stay and chilled out to the music. A good night sleep is always welcomed. Until next time

Reviewed 13 October 2016

My travel mates and I had a wonderful time at the hostel. For both of them it was their first time in a hostel, and this was the hostel to stay in for their first time. Mickey, Helen, and the rest of the staff were phenomenal. We were only in Queensland for a week, but the staff helped the week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Hayley, makes all our work worth it when people like you love you stay. thank you for the everything too

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This hostel really made my stay in cairns, I was coming for a few days as a break from working in Brisbane so didn't want a party hostel but still wanted to meet people and hang out, you can do that perfectly here it is very social with nice places to relax. It takes about 20 mins to walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliff20161
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Cliff ,delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We got an awesome welcome by Helen. She explained everything what belongs to the hostel, showed us around and went way out of her way. That was fantastic. We felt very comfortable right from the start. The hostel is a sweet little property with different buildings and open kitchen and bbq. In the middle you find a pool for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PriceMTL
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you and thank you for your kind words, makes all the differents and makes our job worth it,

Reviewed 28 September 2016

We absolutely fell in love with this hostel and found it hard to leave. It is by far the cleanest hostel we have stayed in; the kitchen is beautiful and spotless and it was a pleasure to cook there. There is a lovely outside seating area with a barbecue and a cosy living room area, both of which, unlike many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NaomiAdams92
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Ahh thank you Naomi. What a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, safe travels.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The main attraction of this hostel on my second trip to Cairns was the affordable single room. It was spacious with a comfortable single bed, a TV, bedside table, paid-for air con ($1 for 3 hours), a fan and a fridge (which unfortunately froze $25 worth of food in a few hours, although reception staff said they would have this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperAnnabelle
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and we are pleased you enjoy the single room you booked. So sorry about your food, however we have checked the fridge and it looks like the temperature had been turned up. We do have quiet time from 10pm and do supply an after hours number for all guests to call if they need any...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Me and a couple of my friends stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting Cairns. The decor was lovely, everywhere was clean, relaxed atmosphere, extremely accommodating and welcoming staff (Helen in particular), free towels, free wifi, bbq area. By far the nicest hotel we have stayed in! The one issue we had with this place was the bone shatteringly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emilywoods1991
travellersoasis, Manager at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, & thanks for staying at our hostel with your lovely friends, we loved having you here in our 'tropical paradise'. (i love this) I have passed your fantastic words onto our team, as they are the amazing people that keep our hostel so clean. We are so pleased you felt so welcomed & enjoyed...

Ontario
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

But my son Scott was there for a few weeks and loved it. He didn't want to explore the rest of Australia as he didn't want to leave Traveller's Oasis. He had even lost his phone and they were super helpful in trying to get it back, which fortunately and surprisingly he did find it. I believe he had lost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunty1965
travellersoasis, Manager at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Awwwwww its Scott's mum :) Thank you so much for your words & hello to Canada! Wow, it was not only a pleasure to have met your amazing son, but also a privilege to have Scott staying at both of our hostels. Scott did everything, the Reef, the Rainforests including an overnight trip up near the waterfalls & crater lakes...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.1 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
519 reviews
1.2 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
955 reviews
0.9 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.5 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.1 km away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#10 of 88 in Cairns
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $30 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travellers Oasis Backpackers staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Travellers Oasis Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 19 is practically ensuite being next to the toilets!”
 of 5 bubbles LAI28, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“back rooms are the quietest and most cosiest”
 of 5 bubbles ni0mij, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“quite and friendly hostel,”
 of 5 bubbles vanesa_carralero, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Single room, one person price available.”
 of 5 bubbles mme8771, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The double bed room has it's own TV and little fridge and even in the shared rooms each person has access to a personal safe.”
 of 5 bubbles aliner274, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay