We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaway's Backpackers

0.9 km from Cairns centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaway's Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We went to Cairns to pay a visit to the Great Barrier Reef and Cape Tribulation in our trip along the East Coast. I booked this hostel based in the decent reviews in Trip Advisor, but it was a big mistake. Our double room was in front of the patio and every night some staff members and guests were drinking...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank david a
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Terrible experience the staff didn't really know what they were doing. People were sleeping in the tv area because they couldn't afford rooms and the staff let them... the filth in the rooms were unneceptable the sink was always full with food and plates. I have stayed in many hostels around australia and this has the worst atmosphere by far...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tommyc1990
CastawaysBP, Owner at Castaway's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Toni, Im not sure why you would assume that people are sleeping in the cinema room because they cant afford a room, There is no way we would let this happen. Sometimes people do fall asleep while watching movies as the cinema room is very comfortable and relaxing. Im sorry you didn't enjoy our friendly and relaxing atmosphere by...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I was staying with Castaways for 3 months. The Hostel itself is big, big kitchen and several common areas. BBQs on Thursday night were always amazing! The staff is super helpful and friendly and will help you out in any Problem. Especially I want to mention Kenny, Kieran, Jenny and Liv, they keep the place running! I would recommend it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurassternchen123
Nancy, France
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I think this hostel probably is best for longer term stays (it notably has space to park camper vans) I however was only there for four nights and didn't enjoy it so much. Indeed while it is nice enough (clean, and friendly staff) it is too far away from the city center (20 mins walk) to be only nice. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marouxna
Bournwmouth
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here only for 1 night when we arrived in Cairns. We paid for a 5 bed mixed dorm so were really chuffed when we arrived and got a private room with an ensuite bathroom, TV and fridge! The wifi is really good and fast which is very rare in hostels. The staff were very chatty and friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cchazell
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We spent 2 weeks at the backpack, and we have a good memories of it. Friendly and helpful staff, clean kitchen, bathrooms and rooms. Nice terasse and swiming pool. Good prices and chilled atmosphere. We recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ioanoushka
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We spent a week in this hostel. the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you stay 7 days the price is cheaper ($47 p.n. double room). The place is clean ,it's 25 min walk from the centre but there is the free bus if you ask the staff. The atmosphere is very chilled, specially the pool area. Fast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 995francesco
CastawaysBP, Owner at Castaway's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Castaways. Please note that our air conditioning is only $1 for 3 hours. Hope to see you again in the future. Kieran.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel for five nights. We arrived already around 6am and because the reception opens only at 7:30am, they organized a front gate key for us to get in. We were allowed to wait and sleep in the tv room before our room was vacant. This was great! The hostel owner and Finnish lady Jenni were super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikulitsa
CastawaysBP, Owner at Castaway's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Rikulitsa, Thank you for your feedback, We are still working on ways to get people to be respectful of the 10:30 noise curfew. Our lights automatically switch off at 10:30 around the pool table which has stopped people from playing pool, Unfortunately there are a few who choose to make noise after this time maybe those that choose not...

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We lived in a double-room, which had a fridge and it's own bathroom. Very friendly and helpful staff. We arrived around 1030 am, and we were told to wait for max 30 minutes while they made our room ready. We got to chill out in the tv-area (which has netflix and a projector!), and then they came and got us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linn A
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The Atmosphere is nice but overall a meh experience given the rave reviews. The room was dirty and plain, the sheets untidy. There are only two showers for the while hostel which are also quite dirty and the water pressure is nearly non-existent. The kitchen was a small mess, unclean, sticky and smelling. The trash wasn't't emptied once in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonas N
CastawaysBP, Owner at Castaway's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jonas, I'm sorry to hear that you could only find 2 of the 7 showers situated throughout the hostel that are cleaned twice a day. Also I'm not sure why you mention that the trash was only emptied once in your week stay when you only stayed with us for 4 nights. The bins are emptied atleast twice a...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 66 in Cairns
535 reviews
0.8 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 66 in Cairns
1,007 reviews
1.8 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.2 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.3 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Castaway's Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $24 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Castaway's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway's Backpackers Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaway's Backpackers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Hong Kong, China
Sydney, Australia
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Castaway's Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms vary in size :)”
 of 5 bubbles JackRuby2016, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Awesome environment”
 of 5 bubbles adriennem196, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“not right next to the kitchen just in case there are early risers”
 of 5 bubbles Syd_T-K, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“choose rooms that are located in the 2nd floor which may have better ventilation”
 of 5 bubbles FionaCheng, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The wifi can be slower than most places at times, sitting in the communal sofa area downstairs provides the fastest speeds.”
 of 5 bubbles dannyalder88, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5