We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gecko's Backpackers

Booking.comUS$29*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$34*
US$29*
Great Deal
US$34*
US$33*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Gecko\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 359: English reviews
Start your review of Gecko's Backpackers
 Click to rate
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed 5 nights here and would gladly stay longer ! The back packers is nice and simple set up with lots of space to chill and relax... by the pool in the sun or comfy couches to sink into.. i really enjoyed the vibe here , a change from the hectic busy, loud backpackers that i previously experience in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonicope1991
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Toni. Hope all is going well for you. Its really great that you can clearly see and feel the different type of vibe here being a alcohol free place and that you think it is safer. See you soon when you come back to get your suitcase in storage. We really appreciate your feed back. Your Geckos friends.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really good hostel, no bunk beds. One of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. Good swimming pool, and wifi works really well ( for being a hostel, I was surprised). Definitely a place to recommend if you want to relax and rest in Cairns city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisco V
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Francisco. Yes thank you my friend, it certainly is a very quiet place and may I add safe with being no alcohol. We really appreciate your time and review. It was great to see you resting well here. Your Geckos friends.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner spent four unforgettable days here unfortunately all for the wrong reasons. After arriving we had flown for over 24 hours the feeling of getting into a comfy bed was all we wanted. Even this simple request wasn't meant to be the pillow resembled a pasty, the mattress hard and lumpy but my favourite part was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abigail D
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Abigail. Its a shame you have such a negative attitude after I helped you put forward your booking with out charging you a cent when we were entitled to the full charge of the room for the original booked date. Even Peter your boyfriend said that you were a bit of a Princes. lol Now listen carefully. Our check...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was quite good hostel but there is a couple of but's. First of all ot was not to to clean. The bathroomd was full of standing water. And guite dirty. Aircon was very noisy. The kitchen also not to much comfortable. Zero space in the fridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Anna. Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We do service the bathrooms 3 times every day, however you must be realistic as being a shared facility it is not possible to keep immaculate every moment of time. I will look at the air conditioner and either fix it or replace it. We do remove left over...

Korumburra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is a nice quite interesting hostel to stay!! Very good prices. And no alcohol on site, this means no drunk Scottish and UK guys!! (Or aussies) The rooms are nice, we stayed in our own room for 50 a night for 2 persons!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nielsbusser
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Nielsbusser. Thanks heaps for your review and you are exactly right, the no alcohol means no drunk people staying up all night keeping guests awake. Take care and have a great day. The Geckos Caretakers

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

A friend and I stayed in a private twin room with a shared bathroom while in Cairns. We had a great stay. The rooms, bathroom and kitchen were clean. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook with. The rooms are cool which is definitely needed in Cairns in January. The location was great. We could easily walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mich130791
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Mich. Well done, what a wonderful review. Thank you very much for your description of our very quiet place. It was a pleasure to help you and keep your luggage safe while you were cruising. All the very best from the Geckos Team.

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous place, very clean with friendly staff. Chilled vibes! Strong Wifi, handy location near to everything, comfortable spacious room with quiet swimming pool! :) Peter the owner was extremely helpful! Thanks for a lovely stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellachisholm
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day Ellachisholm. I / We really appreciate your lovely review. We really try our best to keep the place well maintained and help our guests the best we can. Have a lovely holiday and take care from your Geckos friends.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed at geckos for 10 nights. Out to find a cheap hostel we found this place and it was perfect! Me and a friend had a private room, the hostel is clean and the staff are friendly! All kitchen equipment is provided included pots and pans, wifi is fast in the kitchen and living areas, just a bit slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luciadm97
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lucia. Thank you for your nice review and recommending Geckos Backpackers to future travellers. Yvonne says have a good day and is a very happy little darling girl. Take care from the Geckos Team.

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We only planned to stay two nights but extended for nearly two weeks. The hostel is very clean, has all the facilities you need and even provides pots, pans plates etc. All the staff were lovely and answered any queries we had. We had a private room which was cute, decent size and had aircon and a fan! There's also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataliefewkes
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Natalie. It was great to see that you were comfortable and that you kept extending your stay. We appreciate your feed back and wish you all the best. The Geckos Team.

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a private room. It not only had air con but also a fan which we thought was great. Fairly big room with nice high ceiling. Showers/toilets were clean. The kitchen was slightly small and the hobs took a while to heat up. Quite a lot of dishes were put away dirty or wet but this isn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamar00Ross
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Tamar. Thank you for staying with us. Yes it is a shame that some guests do not wash their dishes properly, however we do try our best to pick up the loose ends. Have a nice day. The Geckos Team.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.5 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.0 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.5 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.6 km away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $22 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko's Backpackers Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gecko's Backpackers staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gecko's Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good quieter further from the road”
michaeldillon185, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good and spacious to cater for your needs.”
HenkSnyman, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had one room on the right side,almost next to the bathroom”
isabelso, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay at Caravella's instead!”
Sian88, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are very good a must stay backpackers.”
20daved, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$29* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$34
Hotels.comUS$33
TravelocityUS$33
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates