We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Global Backpackers Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pay 3 stay 4. If your a backpacker and trying to save stay here staff are amazing and the rooms are new with aircon :) staff are very friendly and have also worked for accommodation here 2 hours a day was nothing! I highly recommend this hostel!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel D
Germany
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice stay in cairns. Very cheap as well! Go there if you want to live good and cheap. Very happy with everything. Only thing is that the laundry was not washing properly but I told the reception and they gave me my money back ! Staff is definitely making your stay ! The girl on the travel desk is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sjadil
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there Sjadil Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at Global Central. Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to all our staff. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time in Oz, please come back and visit us again if you return to Cairns as you are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed here in July. We walked through a mall, then trough a large door. When we walked through the corridor, it was dim and looked literarily like death row! In our room my bed was dire, it had one leg missing, slats were missing and had blood stains on the mattress! The showers were dirty so was the floor. My...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alex17242
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there Alex, many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us recently. We're sorry you didn't appear to enjoy your stay however I do have a few unanswered questions. Have you ever been on death row? Personally I have never been however I would wager serious money on the fact that it does...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 6 days. Our food got stolen THREE TIMES. I do understand that this is part of staying in a hostel, but at least they should fix the camera in the kitchen because you can not take food into your room but if you leave it in the fridge next morning is all gone (it never happened to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saritaaamr
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The facility itself is actually a lot better than Waterfront. It is open and airy and overall much more comfortable. I stayed in two different rooms and both were good as far as space goes; however, they could have been cleaner. Global's idea of daily room cleaning consists of changing the trash and nothing more. No sweeping or dusting or...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Stayed here for a week whilst travelling around Australia. This is one of the better ones and one of our more pleasant stays. Clean kitchen, bathroom and bedroom, very spacious, not too much noise. Great location and would consider staying here if I was to return to Cairns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Rob B Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Global Central, we have been working hard to improve our product over the last few months and it's always extremely pleasing to see that our efforts have been noticed. Hoping that you enjoy the rest of your travel, please be sure to come and visit us again...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Had a good stay here. 10 nights in total. Staff were very friendly and location was great. Shame the toilets are shared by the entire floor and that there is no free wifi. Make sure you specify a bunk less room if you want one as not all rooms are. Overall it's a good hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Layna F
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Layna F Many thanks for your review of Global Central. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes there a couple of dorms that have bunks however the remainder of the hostel is all single beds and there are further shared facilities on all levels. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time in Australia, please be...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We paid $15 Aus per night for 8 bed dorm so really cheap. Rooms seemed clean enough but often smelled funny. The hostel is really big, the kitchen is big but not big enough for amount of people. If you don't like to party then this is not the hostel for you, people woke us up nearly every night coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby R
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Libby R Many thanks for taking the time to review Global Central, thanks you for the positive comments regarding our, staff, location and cleanliness etc. As for for the noisy nights, we do have a night manager who is employed to keep the common areas clean and deal with the occasional noisy guest . It is extremely difficult to...

Reviewed 1 June 2016

We booked a twin room for 4 nights (4 for the price of 3) and were greeted with a small room, two beds and a plastic patio chair. No tables, a blacked out window from the entrance walkway, chipped white paint and ants underneath the beds. The rooftop pool area was closed, the kitchen was not particularly clean and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newi94
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there mystery guest Thanks for taking the time to review Global Central, very pleased you were able to take advantage of our Stay 4 Pay 3 special. As you left no name we are not able to determine exactly which room you stayed in however I can tell you that all rooms have windows some with opaque glass and...

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one week and we really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very simple but they are still alright. The kitchen area was big and tidy. And this is one of few hostel that we've stayed at in Australis that allowed you to bring your own alcohol.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeckamg
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there rebeckamg, Many thanks for taking the time to review Global Central. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been working very hard over the last few months to improve our product so its always extremely satisfying to hear that our guests appreciate our efforts. Hoping that you enjoy the remainder of your...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.3 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.2 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#35 of 88 in Cairns
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.4 km away
Reef Backpackers
Reef Backpackers
#11 of 14 in Cairns
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns
Global Backpackers Central Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a window”
 of 5 bubbles newi94, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“avoid the roo next to the main aisle, too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles sc0326, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pay a little extra for a 3/4 bed dorm, all single beds”
 of 5 bubbles Razzie87, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't take a room here”
 of 5 bubbles tomac68, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“female only dorms available, they also have mixed, and you can pay a bit more to have a private room, double or twin. $7 meal deal with drink at PJ's is great value, top spot too”
 of 5 bubbles BuddhistNYC, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay