We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Cairns

Global Backpackers Central

176 reviews
Save
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good22%
  • Average22%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“pier bar”(3 reviews)
“entire floor”(2 reviews)
Internet
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Restaurant
Rooftop Bar
Kitchenette
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (176)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Central
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
39
35
29
20
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
39
35
29
20
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspier barentire floorbathrooms and showerseast coast tripsocial areagreat dealstravel deskbrilliant locationbig kitchenrooms are bigcommon areascape tribulationhousekeeping staffprivate roomstayed here for a weekrecommend staying hereport douglas
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

Constantly made us move rooms. Rude unhelpful reception staff. Kitchen closed at stupid times of the day and bathrooms often unclean. Have to hire plates cutlery etc from reception every time want to cook something, so stupid! Nicer places to stay in cairns for the...More

Thank Scott S
Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 5 December 2015

Hi Scott, Thanks for giving us some feedback on your stay in our hostel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and did not find our staff friendly and helpful as we work hard to make our guests welcome. Unfortunately...More

Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Two friends & I stayed at Global for 2 nights in October. Rooms weren't the cleanest but ok. Good balcony to socialise. Excellent location, within walking distance of everything. Staff helpful. Overall vibe was perfect for us & would stay there again.More

Thank Mike T
Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 5 December 2015

Hi Mike, We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff try hard to make Global a comfortable and social place to stay by holding events during the week that help the guests get to know each other. We are always...More

Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

The staff were rude and unhelpful. We arrived very early and were extremely tired and no effort was made to see if our room was ready. We were able to store our stuff. The room was clean but very basic literally a bed. The bathrooms...More

Thank Sarah A
Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 7 November 2015

Hi Sarah We are sorry if you did not feel that our staff were helpful upon your arrival. Our check out time is 10am standard and the rooms are not cleaned until this time. Our booking system allows us to see if the rooms are...More

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

I`m glad we only had book one night here. The hostel has speakers in the corriders that play loud dance music. Very unpleasant when you get off a flight and want an early night. They do turn it off at 10, however, it is a...More

1  Thank Heidi O
Response from Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers CentralResponded 7 November 2015

Hi Heidi, We are sorry that the music was too loud for your comfort during your stay, it is played in the hostel between 9am and 10pm, however, we are able to turn the music down in the corridors if that is requested earlier. We...More

Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Only stay here if you want to party and nothing else. The staff on reception were rude when we booked. The place is so so loud, all the noise echoes throughout the whole building and there are just huge groups of lads getting smashed which...More

Thank MisterMags
View more reviews
PreviousNext
1789101131
About
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$30 - US$44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$30 - US$44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Global Backpackers Central staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"2nd floor rooms 40 and above are the quietest."
Read review
"first floor, take rooms from the kitchen so it will be less noisy"
Read review
"Rooms with a window"
Read review
"avoid the roo next to the main aisle, too noisy."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite