We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good14%
  • Average23%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible11%
24 Oct 2017
“The most disgusting I’ve ever stay in 😷”
12 Apr 2017
“Location is it's Main Selling Point”
Internet
Bar/Lounge
Business Centre
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
11
4
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
4
7
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

The moment we walked up the stairs to the hallway through the communal area to tapping our keys to our room (room 6) we were met by absolutely horrible, stale, mouldy and sweaty smells. The room was so untidy we could work out which was...More

Thank CasaApollo
Response from Rattlenhum, General Manager at Global BackpackersResponded 31 October 2017

Hi CasaApollo, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we always appreciate our guests feedback. I am very sorry to hear of your experience on your recent stay with us. We always have a sequence of cleaning and checks to...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017

The hostel is conveniently located on main downtown street of Port Douglas, and is close to restaurants, supermarket and the port where most charters to the Great Barrier Reef depart. Rates are very reasonable - we had a double with ensuite bathroom, TV and air-conditioning....More

Thank Therichpeasant
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

It is a good hostel. With new toilets/shower. Just a small number of them only 2 per item. Rooms were very cold with the air con and they had metal cages where you can store your stuff and look it as well! They have a...More

Thank vz71
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were friendly and inviting and the food was delicious. Great atmosphere whether with a group of friends or with the family. Had the calamari which was cooked to perfection, while the rest of the family had the pulled pork sandwich and chicken breast. Too...More

Thank GCA69
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel is in a fantastic location on one of the main streets of port douglas and a 5 min walk to the beach. The hostel was very clean (especially bedrooms and bathrooms) and the staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 10...More

Thank Matthew W
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Global Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Book early"
Read review
"Bedroom with most beds has a lot of room for your gear."
Read review
"Great value accom for backpackers"
Read review
"can stay in either dorm, or get a double room for a bit more"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing