We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 471: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Lazy Lizard in September, and will shortly be booking again for next September as we have just booked flights to Cairns. The accommodation certainly exceeded our expectations; namely the size, cleanliness and quality of the room - but in particular we appreciated the accommodating hosts, Aiden and Alex, who really stamp their own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zepper07
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear zepper07. Thank you very much for your great review. Greta to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and looking forward to welcoming you back next year! We have beach umbrellas and chairs and eskys that previous guests have left for others to enjoy. Guests have loved the esky as they can make up sandwiches and drinks and take...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

With excellent service, spacious rooms and good facilities, this is an excellent choice for those staying in Port Douglas. Aiden and Alex are welcoming and eager to provide tourist information. Furthermore, the modern and spacious rooms have many facilities, with shared facilities such as an ice machine and a washing machine also available.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bartholemew D
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Bartholemew D for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the BEST of Port! Hopefully see you here again one day soon? Regards Aidan & Alex

Kambalda, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

If the rooms look big in the pics, that's because they actually are. What can I say, this place was my favourite, 2 double beds, nice and clean, great pool and spa. Alex is really nice and helpful. Only downfall maybe that it's a bit far out of town but if you have a car, look no further.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sharon C, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the spacious units and the pool. Yes, we are a little out of town, about a 20 minute stroll to the main street (too humid and hot to walk!) or it takes about 4 minutes in the car. Having a car allows you to explore more of the region,...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Adrian and Alex provide a very pleasant stay at a clean and spacious motel with a kitcenette and covered parking. Wi Fi is free and works well.Their advice and guidance for things to see were most welcome and never intrusive. The motel is located about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Port Douglas and about 10 minutes from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 611sunseekers
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear 611sunseekers, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you found our advice helpful. We aim to make your stay as enjoyable and stress free as possible by suggesting activities in the area. I agree, a car is the best way to get around as there is so much to see and do in the area....

Innisfail, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2015

great place to stay Alex and Aiden are both lovely and very accommodating... Clean and spacious rooms free wifi available and air con rooms. Close to city centre and location is good. will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni B
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Toni B. It was great to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Next time you are up this way on business or for pleasure, we would love to welcome you both back. Cheers Aidan & Alex

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Lovely accommodation spotlessly clean free efficient Wfi. The room has a bath and shower all modern and well presented Welcomed by great hosts Adian and Alex couldnt be more helpful. We had a two day stay and had maid service which was great. Ideal for all the local sights and near the beach and town of Port Douglas. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank budd44
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you budd44 for your review. We are glad that you found the services we provide and the location to be great value. You can hear the waves from the front of the property and it is only a 12 minute walk. It would be great to welcome you back here again one day. Kind regards Aidan & Alex

Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Port Douglas is a very nice town with good restaurants. Best Western Lazy Lizard is just (few minutes) outside the city center. The place has spacious rooms and huge beds and is very clean. Cars can be parked in the shadow (covered parking places), which was great considering it was over 30 degrees outside. Free (and fast) wifi also is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ayeayeay
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ayeayeay, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. So happy that you enjoyed the huge bed and the spacious rooms. The free undercover parking outside your door makes life a bit easier! Hope to see you here again one day ;-) Regards Aidan & Alex

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2015

We booked our 16 night stay based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews and were not disappointed. We were visiting family and spent the bulk of our time in and around the pool as well as short day trips. The unit was clean and spacious with a small but well equipped kitchenette. The managers Aidan and Alex could not have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjcant
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear jjcant, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you both enjoyed your stay. We miss you by the pool and miss the great adventure stories! You have our details for next year for your return! Looking forward to welcoming you back! Hope you have not returned to the expected cold weather? Kind regards Aidan...

Anna Maria
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We had a lovely warm welcome from Aiden. He could not have been more helpful. He gave excellent advice about what trips to do and where to go and what to see. Pool was great and overall ambience was lovely. Highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sue B. We try to make your holiday and time here as stress free as possible by offering our local knowledge, guided by yourselves. Glad you had an enjoyable time and look forward to your return hopefully! Regards Aidan & Alex

Mukilteo, Washington
Reviewed 1 December 2015

If you have a car, and you want a moderately priced clean comfortable hotel, and you don't mind not being right on the beach (though it's not that far away), then the Lazy Lizard is for you. This place is very well run by Aidan and Alex, and they are so helpful if you have any interest in booking a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyRae
AJM000, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi BeverlyRae, Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. Fantastic to see that you loved the place. Yes, there is so much to see and do here, it's just about choosing between a day by the pool, a day on the reef or a day in the Daintree. Or,...

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Queen and Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
680 reviews
0.9 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.9 km away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
726 reviews
1.3 km away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
177 reviews
3.3 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $115 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lazy Lizard Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Lazy Lizard Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take advantage of all the things these guys do for you... setup trips, use the bikes, pool, ask for ideas, prep for the next leg of the trip. Nothing but good things to say.”
 of 5 bubbles capferat, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are not driving, having a lower number room gives you less of a walk but it's past beautiful exotic plants.”
 of 5 bubbles Lasseter4242, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a small motel. I'm sure all of the rooms would be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles klb59, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They are all the same”
 of 5 bubbles dionysiak699, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I presume rooms in the rear would be quieter, but they all should be pretty quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Alexx_10, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5