We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 520: English reviews
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a great time. Even although the weather wasn't great it didn't stop us. Our appartment was great, brilliant size (we were upgraded to a two bed). The flat had everything you could possibly need. Pool area was gorgeous and the comfiest loungers we have come across! A two minute walk and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine2811
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Elaine2811, Thank you, your lovely review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to see the rain didn't dampen your spirits! As we always say, at least it's still warm! We hope to see you again for another wonderful stay. The Mandalay Team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We had a three night stay, as we visited Kuranda national park and the Great Barrier Reef. We were lucky enough to be upgraded from a one bed apart to a two bed apart ocean front, the accommodation was absolutely superb, far too big for two but I'm not complaining! A short walk to the most wonderful beach and just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taichi2011
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Taichi2011, "Perfect" - thank you so much! Our staff work incredibly hard to make sure you have an amazing, memorable stay. So glad you enjoyed your upgrade and were able to relax in comfort while taking in all the wonders our region has to offer! Hopefully we will see you again one day! The Mandalay Team

wales uk
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suite which was bigger than our house beautifully furnished with every kitchen gadgets and laundry you would need . The hotel has 2 pools and a tennis court and is by the sea in Port Douglas a delightful town with classy shops and an excellent selection of restaurants . Fantastic

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evanhayden
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Evanhayden, Thank you for your kind words, your review is most appreciated! Should you return to Port Douglas, please do not hesitate to contact us. The Mandalay Team

Chaska, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We just stayed at Mandalay the past 3 days. It was perfect. From the moment we checked in it was great. The staff was so friendly. The unit was a 2 bedroom by pool #4 and it was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities we could want. The pool was glorious and a perfect temp. Would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmlgolf
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you Mmlgolf, for a great review :) We hope to welcome you back again one day! The Mandalay Team

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I've just returned from 9 nights at the Mandalay in Port Douglas. We had a 3 bedroom apartment, shared with another family, altogether 4 adults and 2 8 year old boys. Our apartment was the perfect size, plenty of room for us all to share comfortably. The lovely ladies at reception (Raelene? I think was amazing). They were so friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandyMJE
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear SandyMJE, Thank you for your great review! We really appreciate your lovely comments about our staff, and LOVE that you felt right at home! :) Our 3 Bedroom Apartments are ideal for large families and groups as there is plenty of space for all to relax comfortably! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to book your next...

Elanora, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Stayed here for one week and would highly recommend it, we booked a one bedroom apartment but were upgraded to a lovely, spacious two bedroom, ground floor overlooking the pool area. I couldnt fault the apartments, it really felt like home. It was clean, beds were big and comfy, bathrooms were great, had plenty of amenities, laundry facilities and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boofsmbw
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Boofsmbw, Thank you for such a descriptive review! :) We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. When you re-book, please do let us know your preference to be away from the pool. We want all of our guests to have an amazing holiday, so will do our absolute best to make this happen for you! All the best! The...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed here for 3 night. The air conditioner was very noisy that we had to turn it off at night. The rooms did have ceiling fans. It's was very spacious but the Appartments were looking a bit dated tho. They were not serviced the 3 nights we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amc1898
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Had a huge 3 bedroom apartment with kitchen, washing machine and a lovely patio. Great, friendly staff. Only 5 minutes from town and a quick walk to the beach. Couple of pools and a tennis court. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mambroz
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Mambroz, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. If you are ever in Port Douglas again, we would love to welcome you back! All the best. The Mandalay Team

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Mandalay and would highly recommend it , good sized apartment nice and clean, wonderful staff , very helpful, great pool which we made a lot of use of , and our children loved Milo the puppy such a cutie , thank you and hopefully we will come back one day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sharon D, What a lovely review! :) Thank you very much, please do not hesitate to contact us when you're ready to book in your next holiday! The Mandalay Team

Chicago
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The Mandalay worked out very well for us. The apartment was a great size, had all the amenities we needed, and staff were very helpful and friendly. Comfy beds + laundry were nice. We loved that it was just a 10 minute walk into town for restaurants, groceries, etc. but we weren't so close that it would be noisy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ironchefmom
mandalayluxury, Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Ironchefmom, Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and facilities. We hope to welcome you back again one day! Kind regards, The Mandalay Team

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Apartment (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Apartment (89)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
691 reviews
0.4 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
4.1 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 56 in Port Douglas
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $282 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room with a view to the pool, was perfect for us.”
SandyMJE, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms around pool area (or any rooms around pool area) very noisy, especially on school holidays!”
Boofsmbw, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We took a 3 bed, for 4 people room was large.”
amc1898, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“See above, can't remember the apartment number.”
GloucestershireLeo, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on Mandalay side appear to be much nicer.”
EurotravelerTO, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5