We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Port Douglas Retreat

    31 - 33 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    Traveller (80)
    Pool & Beach (24)
    Room & Suite (14)
    Overview
    • Excellent47%
    • Very good40%
    • Average11%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Private Balcony
    3.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    8 Oct9 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (313)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 299 reviews

    Reviewed 3 days ago

    We stayed for 5 nights, certainly a convenient location. Nice pool area with BBQ, seating and tables. Beach towels available to hire, no shampoo or conditioner provided. All up quite comfortable, nice tropical feel to the grounds & neat and tidy.

    Thank Coops240
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    This place was awful we even checked out one night early!! The manager is arrogant his wife is nice if you want somewhere with service don't come here we couldn't even get ice!!! Take your own rubbish to the car park we. Ok a one...More

    Thank paula d
    Response from PDRetreat, Manager at Port Douglas RetreatResponded 2 weeks ago

    You wanted to check out one day early when you checked in - it had nothing to do with us or the property, you hadn't even seen the apartment. You told us you wanted to leave early when you were completing the registration form. You...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    We stayed here for three nights in August and it was most suitable for couples as they do not allow children. Hence the pool area is a lovely quiet location to swim, sit and relax and enjoy your holiday. BBQ area looked great with adequate...More

    1  Thank jocmason
    Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

    Stayed here in early August. The pool and BBQ area make up for the shortcomings of this Resort things are getting a bit dated but the price reflects this .The only major complaint I have are the mattresses which in our case needed replacing .Other...More

    Thank Gerald S
    Reviewed 18 August 2017

    We have always stayed here on our visits to Port Douglas. The accommodation is clean, adequate for a couple in a self contained studio apartment. Hosts David and Joyce are very friendly and obliging. The key attractions for us is that the retreat is quiet,...More

    Thank Mantone
    Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
    627 reviews
    #1 of 42 hotels in Port Douglas
     
    Shantara Resort Port Douglas
    981 reviews
    #7 of 56 Speciality lodging in Port Douglas
     
    Mantra PortSea
    1,536 reviews
    #23 of 42 hotels in Port Douglas
     
    Port Douglas Motel
    601 reviews
    #2 of 42 hotels in Port Douglas
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$75 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 36
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Queensland >
    • Port Douglas
    • Also Known As
    • Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (80)
    Pool & Beach (24)
    Room & Suite (14)
    Hotel & Grounds (57)
    Nearby
    Meridian Port Douglas
    698 reviews
    .09 km away
     
    Port Douglas Motel
    601 reviews
    .17 km away
     
    Central Plaza Port Douglas
    293 reviews
    .23 km away
     
    The Port Douglas Queenslander
    460 reviews
    .10 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Watergate Restaurant & Lounge Bar
    1,887 reviews
    .34 km away
    Origin Espresso
    526 reviews
    .34 km away
    The Little Larder Port Douglas
    1,788 reviews
    .31 km away
    Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe
    601 reviews
    .29 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ngarru Gallery
    23 reviews
    .35 km away
    Port Douglas Tennis Club
    10 reviews
    .21 km away
    Des Spencer Art
    14 reviews
    .32 km away
    Blue Dive Port Douglas
    1,161 reviews
    .34 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Anzac2015
    3 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 10 answers
    Response from Patricia P | Reviewed this property |
    I did not have any bathroom photos, but it was a good size and very clean.
    1
    Vote
    suzannesreview
    27 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from RickyG48 | Reviewed this property |
    Port Douglas retreat is very close to the shopping and eating areas in Port Douglas. You can walk everywhere, 5 min walk to beach and same to shops. The pool area is lovely with plenty of sun loungers, 2 bbq, 2 tables and... More
    1
    Vote
    2312emma
    22 March 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Patricia P | Reviewed this property |
    We could not get a park on the premises, but no trouble getting a park outside. When you book, ask for a park at that time. A little inconvenient, but the accommodation is reasonably priced and off the main street.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Pool view rooms with balcony 19 - 27"
    Read review
    "Tree view room was more private & quieter but next to apartments with pool with children in the pool by..."
    Read review
    "Ask for ground floor and first floor overlooking pool"
    Read review
    "The ground floor room was great with a baby as we didn't have to take the pram up the stairs."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing