We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shantara Resort Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 918: English reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

All i can say is fantastic. We had a room with a decking that enters directly into the pool. The service was excellent and rooms very clean. The room we had was a one bedroom with air-conditioning. The resort is within walking distance to the main street. Will definetly book a room with this resort again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henza T
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Henza, thank you for staying with us and your excellent review. We hope to welcome you again at Shantara in the near future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Stayed here with my partner and another couple. When booking, the staff were helpful in coordinating rooms next to each other, even though we arrived on separated days. Had an issue with the booking payment, as both rooms were charged to myself, not the other couple, but the venue promptly offered a refund (however we just sorted it out between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissMcJane
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Miss McJane, thank you for the excellent review and understanding. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shantara and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 24 December 2016

We arrived for a 10 night stay in Port Douglas just to chill out and have peace and quiet which is why we chose Shantara. We usually stay at 5 star resorts and initially we were a bit worried about some of the photos on their website that the rooms did not look to what we were use to. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davezu
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Dave, thank you for all you kind words and the excellent review. We are pleased we lived up to your expectations and you had a relaxing holiday. We hope to see you again at Shantara in the near future.

Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Good location two blocks from beach and main street. Share washer with one other room. No restaurant. Reception open officehours. The hotell will book you exkursions and are helpful and nice. Cosy but shady pools.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petfar
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Petfar, thanks for the time to review us. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we would like to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Stayed at a studio, loved the quiet and tranquil atmosphere of this place. Very clean with a small kitchenette. Only two things could be improved, there is not enough light in the bathroom and not enough storage ,only a small wardrobe and all the space taken up by spare pillows and blankets. However I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Anna, thanks for the review and you constructive feedback. We do appreciate your time to write it. We look forward to welcoming you back at Shantara.

Maitland, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Stayed for week and wanted to stay longer. The ladies in reception were very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent very clean and cool and spacious. Great balcony to have breakfast or evening drinks. Close and easy walk to shops and restaurants. I could not fault this place. Undercover parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandamaree21
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, thankyou for the excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself at Shantara. We hope to see you again in the near future at Shantara.

Ararat, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stayed at The Shantara in a one bedroom apartment with shared pool deck for 7 days. Loved the apartment, very modern and spacious with everything you need. Having the pool deck so close was great. The location is good, just a short walk to the main street with loads of restaurants, pubs, shops. Would recommend this lovely resort!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarlaQu
Peter B, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Marla, thank you for you review. We hope you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you again at Shantara.

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Shantara did not disappoint! It really is amazing, the apartment is lovely and clean and modern. The staff will do any thing to help you. we where really impressed by all the little touches that Shantara and their staff did to help us have the best stay a couple of things where - One of the ladies at reception helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kookie2014
Shantara, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Kookie and for recognising our staff.We hope you return to see us soon.

Madison, Alabama
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Our travel agent booked this property. We were pleasantly surprised to find a small kitchenette, guest laundry facilities, nice balacony over looking the pool. Very easy to walk to town. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne a
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Anne, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the excellent review. We hope to see you again at Shantara.

Burgess Hill, England
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Arrived here very late at 1.30am. Good arrangements for getting into hotel and room as arrival out of office hours. Excellent room, spacious, very clean and lovely bathroom. Very pleasant and helpful reception staff and nice to know that the premises were secured well. Two lovely swimming pools. Laundry facilities right next to room. Recommendations for food spot on –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaav
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Jaav, Thank you for the comprehensive review, excellent rating and recommendation. We are glad you had a great stay and we hope to see you again at Shantara.

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (43)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Shantara Apartment (37)
Viewed
Studio with Pool View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.0 km away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.2 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
670 reviews
0.2 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
875 reviews
0.1 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
4.3 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $163 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shanatar Apartment with pool access”
 of 5 bubbles Davezu, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony are great”
 of 5 bubbles amandamaree21, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pool deck rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MarlaQu, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have direct access to the pools is you use them a lot this would be ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles jaav, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a corner suite, the view overlooking the pool was great”
 of 5 bubbles robertsY5614KU, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5