We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BreakFree Imperial Surf

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BreakFree Imperial Surf
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Imperial Surf
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Excellent location , very clean with great views stretching to Coolangatta . Could do with updating foyer and floor hallways. Stayed many times and never had an issue with only small complaints to management. They were always happy to rectify any problems . Tip , try to stay in a unit A or E they have the best views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor P
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear Trevor P, Thank you for taking the time to put in your reviews. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the great views and location. The Body Corporate is in the process of updating the foyer and the floor hallways. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Newcastle
Reviewed 28 October 2016

One day of jack hammering and drilling in the room above which was sign posted in the lift. The noise continued the next day so I complained as we had an infant and was told it was finished. The noise continued for 4 more days also the washing machine did not work

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 286mathewf
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear 286mathewf, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced with the noise due the renovation works. Unfortunately, we were not aware of the renovation\repair works in the private unit in advance as we would have tried and allocated Unit away from the renovation. We do hope you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Great location. Easy walk to restaurants. Across from beach. staff very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room. We have stayed at Imperial Surf quite a few times and will keep coming back. Lovely pool indoor and outdoor plus indoor spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LDM27
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear LDM27, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Location of apartment is very near the tram line and bus stop to get to theme parks, about 5 mins walk to Cavill. Good security with elevators only to your specific floor. Could improve with extra locks to the main apartment door and individual rooms (room doors do not have any locks). We took a 2-bedroom apartment and was given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leetheng
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear Itgan, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I will pass on your compliments to Misty who you found very friendly and helpful.We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Our first holiday staying at the brake-free imperial surf in australia and I was blown away. stayed on the 25th floor ocean view two room, two bathroom spaceist apartment. Waking up to whales every morning priceless. kids love the pool & BBq area. Would happily stay again.Thanks brake-free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear Kevin B, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted that you got the opportunity to watch the whales every morning. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Invercargill
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Fun apartment at 60 not sure about the amount of mirror's especially on ceiling in bedroom. The view was amazing, location perfect for us, beach over road, shops and restaurants just down the road. Spent time whale watching off the balcony which was fun. We need to mention Ken, he is the after hours cleaner, what a great example of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noels842
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear noels842, Thank you for taking the time give us your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad you got the opportunity to watch the whales from your balcony. We will certainly pass on your compliments to Ken. Look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

No need for a car. Local transport nearby. Everything is supplied in the apartment. right across from the beach, can hear the waves. Didnt have enough time to enjoy the tennis courts and the pool. beach markets are good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 762olgaj
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear 762olgaj, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This place is awsome, right in front of ocean , very close to every other attractions in gold coast, Public transport is also very.Staff is also very nice and helpful.I would love to come back agian to this same place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sapankumarb
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear sapankumarb, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Brisbane
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The view is breath taking very good for family stay or just couple only the fridge needs mini bar I think . But if upgrade would b breath taking . Loved staying and I think the indoor pool time should b bit longer .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhartikak
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear bhartikak, Thank you for taking the time to put in your reviews. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your stay with your family. We have taken on board your comments about the pool timings and will pass it on to our Body Corporate. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

very well appointed property - friendly staff. The property was ideal for the vacations that I had in mind. If I ever return to the Gold Coast I think I would choose to stay again. No need for a car, close to the tram and walkable into the main drag

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herbertjom
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear herbertjom, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,394 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,433 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,309 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
73 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $159 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree Imperial Surf staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree Imperial Surf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean front SE corner 14th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Aaliaust, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“two front rooms on each floor have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles wilkdig, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay timeshare, & ask for a unit higher up the tower.”
 of 5 bubbles Tacaga, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for the ocean view,”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 30B excellent views just needs a overhaul though”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewM742, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay