We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Island Resort

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Room was disgusting with no privacy. I put a completely honest and fair review on google about the poor state of the room and spoke to our travel agent about getting a better room. For this alone we were KICKED OUT onto the street. We pleaded for our deposit back as well as a refund for the remaining 3 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Guests only get evicted for committing a serious offence.!!!

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We have enjoyed staying at Sunset Island Resort 4 times now. It is a safe and family friendly environment, far enough away from the hustle and bustle... But close enough if if want to walk to shops, restaurants, bars, the night market or the beach. Secure undercover off street parking is great, swim in the pool before planning your day...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdjboyce
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure seeing guests return year after year. We endeavour to provide a relaxed homely environment. We look forward to seeing you again in the future :)

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2015

The room we stayed in was very unclean. After laying on the lounge one night I went in the shower (after having been at the hotel all day) & the water was running off me black from the dirt off the lounge. The management staff were very rude & not pleasant to deal with. The walls are paper thin i...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 585anon
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Sunset Island Resort. Our fully self-contained holiday apartments are independently rated on an annual basis by Star Ratings Australia and we have consistently maintained a 4 star rating. Our friendly staff strive to ensure all our guests are happy with their accommodation and strive to rectify a problem in...

Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in a well appointed self catering apartment at the Sunset Island Resort. Our apartment over looked the pool and spa and had lovely views of Surfers Paradise lights at night. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but the rest of the apartment made up for it, having everything you need for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Found their service atrocious! Senior office manager at reception was extremely rude and arrogant and refused to give us a replacement magnetic strip to enter the hotel, therefore we were unable to enter the hotel after 5pm forcing us to wait outside until another visitor could let us in. He was very abrupt and completely ignored any of our attempts...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael T
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Sunset Island Resort management has a simple request of all guests - for the comfort and quiet enjoyment off all staying in the resort please have a little respect for the facilities provided and the other guests staying.

Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I stayed 10 nights at the Sunset Island Resort at the end of October 2015. The Apartment was very spacious, clean, tidy, well appointed and had everything you needed in it, including a full kitchen with dishwasher, hob, oven and micro and large fridge freezer, the bathroom had a washer and dryer and there was space on the balcony to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickwaddick
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are so very glad that you enjoyed your time here with us.

Armadale, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

We are staying at the sunset island resort as i type this review and i can say its a great place to stay with nice rooms and super friendly staff who are there to help however if you have anyone in your group who has issues with steps then you may have issues. There are no wheel chair ramps to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profchaos83
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We stayed 10 nights while my husband had surgery and found the location fantastic, the apartment had everything we needed and the staff were very accommodating. Was great to have a veranda with a view of the lovely pool. Short walk to the hustle and bustle of Surfers Paradise but in quiet location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope your husband is recovering after his surgery.

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Stayed 7 nights in 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom third floor apartment with wife and 31 year old daughter. Apartment was roomy, clean and tidy, secure garage parking was good and found staff to be pleasant and helpful. Location was excellent , short walk into Cavill Ave./ beach each evening but far away from the noise of main streets. First...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobNoel
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We we appreciate your feedback in regards to the painting.

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

We had a family of 6 staying in a two bedroom apartment. 2 kids were on the foldout sofa. This was ok for a 6 night stay as we were hardly in the room however it was a bit tight. The property had no elevator and arriving early hours in the morning with 3 kids trying to drag big suitcases...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank CuriousStar
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Management lives on site and is available to deal with any issues that may arise during your stay. The resort is promoted as a three-floor walk-up, but if any guests have difficulty with stairs we encourage you to let us know in advance so we can meet your requirements. Unfortunately the fire service does not...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.6 km away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
696 reviews
0.3 km away
Surfers Riverside Apartments
Surfers Riverside Apartments
#78 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
71 reviews
1.2 km away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#31 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Wharf Boutique Apartments
Wharf Boutique Apartments
#46 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
30 reviews
1.6 km away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#47 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
287 reviews
1.4 km away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#15 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Address: 3 Sunset Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $93 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are nicer, better valued places in Surfers Paradise”
carolynr777, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The penthouse is awesome!”
louisen591, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor not quiet at all”
ellymae61, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are no good views at this hotel.”
585anon, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“"Higher apartments have best views"”
419MichelleS, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates