We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Hotels.comUS$76*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$168*
US$76*
US$85*
US$168*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 235: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Recently spent two nights at the Grand Chancellor with my younger brother. Was a really good hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel, rooms and facilities were clean and tidy. We had the breakfast at the hotel, was really delicious. My only complaint is the parking situation. There is no onsite parking so you have to park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delaney7
Greater Melbourne, Australia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From telephone reservation to meeting on arrival very polite and knowledgeable of our surroundings.Room was clean with magnificent view ,all staff from front desk ,dining and housekeeping accomadated us in a effortless manner

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L5659PNkarenh
About Hotel's Favourite Review
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear L5659PNkarenh, Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

terrific location within Townsville's CBD. excellent views over Townsville; friendly and helpful staff; good food and very relaxed surroundings. This hotel may be showing its age, but the location, service and friendliness of the staff more than compensate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2925WYstephenm
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Grand Chancellor Townsville is in a great 'down town' location with undercover parking, lovely markets on a Sunday and terrifically priced. We had the pleasure of an unexpected upgrade due to celebrating my husband's Birthday. Meal was amazing, 24hour room service, very friendly staff and magical views from roof top pool. Everything within walking distance, cafes, funky bars, night clubs...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zandeej
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Outstanding friendly staff, potentionally a great place, tidy but little outdated. Stayed here about 7 years ago and nothing has seemed to have changed. Was updated then. Carpets extremely stained in rooms and needs replacing. Bathroom wall tiles need a freshen up. Little cosmetic and outside spay paint and this could be a gem of a motel. One thing that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
Long Xuyen, Vietnam
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel, when part of the IHG group seemed to have a more upmarket ambience. Our room was clean and room service was up to standard as were the inclusions. The carpet in our room was looking its age and even felt a little grubby. The people were universally good although checkin made a mistake with the credit card deduction,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongXuyen
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear LongXuyen, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to Team to ensure this does not happen again in...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Make sure you haven't paid much for the rooms as if you have you will be disappointed. Dirty rooms, Poor food. Staff are friendly and try to be helpful though but this is a budget motel. There are much better places to stay for the same or less money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adriangQ2205RW
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear adriangQ2205RW, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations in regards to the standard of the hotel. We hope that you had a pleasant trip home. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager – QLD

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a last-minute hotel at the Grand Chancellor for business. From the moment we walked in the door we knew we had booked the right place. Stephanie at the front desk was absolutely amazing. She made the check in process painless and the rooms provided were excellent. Great views in a perfect part of town. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carbonellous
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Carbonellous, Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and helpful and in particular Stephanie. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great place to stay in the heart of Townsville Check out the leagues club across the road for dinner A few itinerants hanging around outside but ignore them and you'll be fine Comfy beds and a great mattress to sleep on

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butchmcrichard
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Butchmcrichard, Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found beds comfortable and our central location to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Amazing service, amazing room. Made the weekend amazing and hassle free. Room was comfortable and the view just amazing. Staff were very accomdating, and service was A+. Highly recommend Grand Chancellor, Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank corrynw2017
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear corrynw2017, Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially our rooms and accommodating service, something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
386 reviews
1.3 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
733 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
455 reviews
0.5 km away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
292 reviews
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#13 of 41 in Townsville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville is located in the heart of the CBD and shopping district and just a short walk from Townsville's major tourist attractions, including Reef HQ Aquarium and The Strand. Enjoy panoramic views of Magnetic Island, Castle Hill and the city from a variety of contemporary room types. Facilities include restaurant, bar, rooftop pool, gym and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Address: 334 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Townsville)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: $112 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Townsville Hotel Townsville
Townsville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#8 Business Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You need to get a high level room for views”
gordon35au, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“11th floor and higher rooms are quiet and have a small balcony with very pleasant views.”
SuperDoctorBrisbane, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1005 has a nice view over the creek”
MozBru, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room as high as you can and overlooking Castle Hill - you won't be sorry!”
801staceyr, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that face Ross creek.”
johncW7161YO, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$85
Expedia.comUS$76
TripAdvisorUS$76
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates