We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fitzroy Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Fitzroy Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fitzroy Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,012: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a perfect family vacation which offers the possibility of snorkeling just in front of the hotel in at least two beaches (fish and coral is just a few feet off the shore!), hiking in the rain forest, or laying in the sun or pool! The hotel also has a small market, dive shop, a restaurant, and a cafe/bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donatella P
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Donatella P, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fitzroy Island Resort! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Fitzroy Island Resort during the first week of Jan 2017 with a friend from Canada. The resort and location is AMAZING, but management definitely need to clean their act up. The food on the island is average. At the buffet breakfast, we had a mosquito in our poached egg, tomatoes and mushrooms were undercooked and the milk for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney M
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Courtney M, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we of course greatly appreciate all comments from our guests good, bad or indifferent as it is an important part of our process moving forward. It was extremely disappointing to hear you had a negative experience during your stay with us and that our food outlets did...

Shangzhi, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there 5 days from December 25 to 30. This was the peak season. Fitzroy Island certainly looks like Paradise: warm and crystal clear sea, beautiful marine animals, beautiful beaches (even if very little sand), rain forest and great walks. Unfortunately, the unique hotel offers very poor services: understaffed, none friendly people (even the dive shop manager, which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olivier m m
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi olivier m m, Many thanks for providing feedback of your recent stay with us. Whilst it is a pleasure to hear great comments on our little bit of paradise, it is of course disappointing to hear you felt service was poor. We do endeavour to provide all of our guests with a high level for service at all times....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 days 2 nights in a studio room, no sea view but we felt like we did not miss a thing at all, the beach was only 50 meter away thanks to a shortcut to the beach. We liked the snorkeling as we could see so much in just one spot, 2 turtles, rays, squids, Unicorn...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DerrickNgMel
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi DerrickNgMel, Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your stay at the Fitzroy Island Resort ! It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams work really hard to maintain the rooms of a high standard. I will share your comments with the team and I am sure that...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Considered and advertised as a luxury resort but a few things took the shine off and should be assessed by management. Firstly on arrival understand there is no help getting your luggage from your transfer boat to the resort or from reception to your room. Also no trolleys available - I found out too late that there are about three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugCx
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi TravelBugCx, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we of course greatly appreciate all comments from our guests good, bad or indifferent as it is an important part of our process moving forward. Our team do transfer large luggage items between the Fitzroy Flyer and the resort reception. This is part of service we provide when...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week, December to January, island is stunning, resort could be stunning with some tlc. The rooms are gorgeous but simply lack maintenance, all the glass in the resort is filthy, the gardens needed a lot of attention & algae & sand in the pool, we didnt see the pool cleaned once our enrite stay, same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tim M, Sorry your stay did not meet your expectation, please accept my apologies. We treat all feedback and concerns extremely seriously and I have engaged the Department Heads to personally investigate and action all concerns raised. The Fitzroy Island Dive Centre is operated independent of the resort. Whilst the use of snorkel equipment, kayaks and paddle boards is...

Sunshine coast
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were so excited to come and enjoy Fitzroy island for the day! We have done a few trips out to the reef and have always been impressed, however this was a let down! Heavily populated with tourists! Cigarette butts all over pristine nudey beach, facilities very dated, staff on island we found to be rather rude, on the boat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FranniA
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi FranniA Thank you for providing feedback on your day trip to Fitzroy Island! I have passed on your feedback to the Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef to personally investigate and action any concerns raised. Thank you once again for taking the opportunity to provide us with your feedback on your day trip and we hope to welcome...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They don't clean the rooms. My husband and I had a suite that cost a lot of money as we had board and lodging. After some complaints to front desk that argues with you....you are the guest we had a young lady on the third day of staying there come in straighten the bed new towels and left. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fran p
Jodie M, Front Office Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi fran p, Many thanks for taking the time for positing your comments on TripAdvisor, we of course greatly appreciate all comments from our guests good, bad or indifferent as it is an important part of our process moving forward. It was extremely disappointing to hear you had such a negative experience during your stay with us, which is certainly...

Wirral UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed her for a 3 night break on a Groupon deal. We had one apartment with a sea view and one without. We had a nice ferry journey across and the boat was quite stable. Check in was friendly and efficient and we were in our room quickly. We had a nice view from our first floor apartment, though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilandBarbara
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have to admit I was a little apprehensive about our visit to Fitzroy Island Resort given that so many recent reviews sounded so negative. My husband and I stayed for two nights and I'm so glad we did. Here's why: The island is gorgeous. The resort is tastefully done and somehow feels quite peaceful despite a lot of day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen C

894 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (861)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (129)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (158)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
5:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (430)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
22.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
39.7 km away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
503 reviews
39.5 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
36.9 km away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,060 reviews
22.9 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Price Range: $124 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fitzroy Island Resort staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Fitzroy Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one with a balcony and ask to have your room deep cleaned.”
 of 5 bubbles nyancr57, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view room (make sure the bedroom has the view)”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view room (make sure the bedroom is facing the ocean and not the hallway)”
 of 5 bubbles DonatellaPolizzi, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We booked 2 apartments (we are a family of 5) but 1 apartment + 1 standard room would have been largely enough”
 of 5 bubbles oliviermm2014, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a top floor if you don't want to hear every footstep on the floor above you on level one or two.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelBugCx, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay