We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Show Prices
#15 of 59 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,416: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 5 July 2016

However the clientele and the street level noise cut right through the room making for a difficult stay in an otherwise pleasant hotel. If noise and mayhem are your sort of thing, then this may count as a positive. The wifi was sketchy at best. While signal was high, connection speeds were poor, probably due to the abuse it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chip254
Adelaide
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Rooms are looking a little dated however they are still very neat and clean. The location is great - it is a little noisy at night given its on Hindley street. However that was to be expected so we were fine with it. Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NatalieP
Gulnare SA
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have always found it to be good value for money. The hotel is located in a very central location so walking to shops, restaurants and city sight seeing is no problem. If transport is required taxis are always readily available. Will definitely stay here again, when we visit the city from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N5427VCvickis
Reviewed 4 July 2016

It was my first time to travel to Adelaide and I enjoyed it the most!! Special thank you for all the hotel staffs for great service and recommendation! Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and I had an amazing experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
Gulfview Heights
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Hotel well located for the Festival Theatre as we were attending the Last Night of the Proms - only a 10 minute walk to the theatre. Room was large with all normal facilities. We enjoyed room service for our meal & the food we ordered was excellent. We place the order in advance for 5.45pm & it was delivered on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Tony. I am delighted to hear we were able to assist you in having a lovely night out in Adelaide and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel offers an affordable and comfortable accommodation in the Adelaide CBD close to great eating and drinking locations. Rooms are large and adequate. Bath/shower needed a good bleaching and scrub though. The breakfast lacked service staff and the food selection was limited. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Located on Hindley Street, one needs to be aware of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP69445
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor. I will be sure to pass on your praise to our reception staff and ensure that the Housekeeping and Food & Beverage managers look into the areas for improvement you have highlighted. Thank you very much for assisting us to...

Julia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

the comfiness of the bed almost makes up for disappointing food. Staff were great, location perfect, room was good and had views. The full breakfast was pretty tragic at best......very DISAPPOINTING. All things considered thanks to the luxe bed and linen l could have willingly stayed longer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 651susannam
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Susan. I am glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and luxurious nights sleep and you were happy with your room. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Food and Beverage Manager, to ensure that we are improving on the breakfast offering to match the...

Bridgewater
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The staff and room was lovely and check in was easy. Although we struggled to get our car out when we checked out, due to multiple passes not being valid. We would recommend family and friends to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 410maryannem
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Maryanne. I am delighted to hear that you would recommend us to your family and friends as their is no higher praise. Sorry for the delays on checkout. I will be sure to look into those parking passes to ensure we are not having this issue in the future, thanks for bringing it...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

A nice, quiet and clean hotel with helpful staff. Lots of shops, restaurants and cute wine bars nearby, and walking distance to many city features. Rooms fairly large and very comfortable. Only 5 minute walk to convention centre and railway station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Simone. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and exploring the surrounding areas. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next Adelaide visit.

Reviewed 3 July 2016

My room was fairly standard, but clean and quiet. At the restaurant my pumpkin, spinach and feta filo arrived without the pumpkin. The next night my colleagues ordered 2 serves of sweet potatoes wedges from the bar and got regular potato. Standard breakfast was way overpriced. The toilets for our conference hadn't been cleaned by 9am on day 2.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PlainsWanderer
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to assist us in improving and I will be sure to pass your feedback on to our Chef to ensure these errors are not continuing in the future.

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (196)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen (26)
Viewed
Executive King (28)
Viewed
Executive Twin (24)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool and Spa (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#9 of 59 in Adelaide
1,054 reviews
0.2 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 59 in Adelaide
707 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 59 in Adelaide
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 59 in Adelaide
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range: $117 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The south side would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles arbruse, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher and away from Hindley St is better.”
 of 5 bubbles TanjungBaraDiver, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“select higher floors and rooms not facing Hindley Street should be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 54Sophie2016, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles R1692VOdavidw, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are definitely quieter than others. This is known. Ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewPR, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay