We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wrest Point

TravelocityUS$86*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$198*
US$86*
Great Deal
US$101*
US$111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Wrest Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wrest Point
See the most recent reviews
Showing 892: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Stayed 3 nights in a riverside room. It was satisfactory but not what I may have expected from this Icon site.The room staff were very good and serviced every day. Usual toiletries supplied. Breakfast buffet adequate, staff good. Had dinner in the Loft Bistro one night and thought it not up to standard for this hotel. Overall reasonable but needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank later0n
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your balanced views of Wrest Point, the team were thrilled with your comments in relation to the service. Your comments in relation to the rooms and the Loft restaurant are appreciated albeit disappointing however rest assured we always work hard to deliver great experiences to our guests. Kind regards Andrew Fox Hotel...

Melbourne
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Staff are very nice & helpful, beds are really comfortable. We had a water view room & the plant noise is noticeable. It is a little bit out of town & food options are limited. Hobart is $10-15 taxi fare or 20-30 min walk. This hotel is suitable if you're going to the casino otherwise I think I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Griggster22
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Stayed here for three nights. The colour scheme in our room was just awful but everything was extremely clean and well maintained throughout our stay. Great views of Hobart and the Tasman bridge from our ninth floor room. The standout positive for this hotel is its amazing staff. Whether it was reception, guest services, The Loft, The Buffet, the luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R0llerskate
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We stayed in tower it had amazing views of river Derwent and Tasman bridge. Room was extremely comfortable and clean,very relaxing couple of days and lovely comfortable bed with very quiet rooms. Bathroom just perfect with spa bath and double shower.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny P
Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We've experienced many buffet's in Australia and overseas and this would have to be one of the worst. Variety nil, cost $34.50 over the top and what was on offer well below par. The desserts couldn't pull this café/buffet out of a truly low slump. Will definitely not be coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ben d
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Having visited this hotel many times over the years, I can't believe it hasn't been renovated. The rooms, decor, Fixtures & Fittings, everything is very tired. given its location, it should be a signature property for Hobart, and it was 40 years ago, but in 2016, in a word, decrepit. Sadly it was fully booked, so I guess they don't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rexjaw
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review

Thank you rexjaw for posting your comments in relation to Wrest Point, you may be interested to know that recently we announced a $70m redevelopment of the complex which will revitalise the property. Apart from the building, many of our customers comment on the great service the team provide every day so i hope you also experienced this during your...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We booked a standard room mountain view. We asked for a room on one of the higher levels and were put on level 8 (standard was only available to level 9) which was lovely! ROOM- The room was clean and dust free, and the bathroom had the usual toiletaries provided (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, sewing kit, etc). The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brissie T
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review

Thank you Brissie T for the very thorough review of Wrest Point, it was great to read that you enjoyed the rooms so much an the comments in relation to the layout of the room are fantastic and will be taken into account during future renovations. The Salamanca market bus transfer is a great service and I would encourage any...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

My husband & I booked Wrest Point for our 5 night stay in Hobart because we thought it would have everything we wanted under the one roof - food, drink & entertainment. While the staff provided excellent Customer Service & our room was nicely appointed & spacious, everything else was more than a little tired, in dire need of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendyYoungMelbourne
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review

Thank you for passing on your thoughts Wendy, it was nice to read that you enjoyed the service from the team and the spacious well appointed room. Please accept our apologies that you found the complex too cold for your liking and that the levels of entertainment in the evening didn't suit your requirements. Our guest feedback system is something...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We have really enjoyed our stay here. Unless something goes terribly wrong in the next two days this has been a wonderful holiday. Our room is large, has a queen bed plus a twin bed. This is important because my husband has one of those awful suitcases that needs to be fully opened, butterfly fashion and we have been in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Durry49
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are all very happy that you were satisfied your stay and enjoyed the room, view and especially the breakfast. The team are thrilled that you enjoyed their service also, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Andrew Fox Hotel Manager

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We were greeted with smiles every time we walked through the doors. Customer service was top class and nothing was too much trouble. Location had everything you need, water views, restaurants, cafes and of course a gaming floor. Rooms were comfortable and had great views of the harbour. Great staff and great coffee - what more can you ask for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozzie178
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the team were very happy to recieve such positive feedback regarding their service and the coffee. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Andrew Fox Hotel Manager

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.2 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
2.4 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.7 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
2.3 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
2.1 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Point Revolving Restaurant
The Point Revolving Restaurant
Cuisines: French, European, Australian
Pier One Restaurant & Bar
Pier One Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Riverview Snacks
Riverview Snacks
Cuisines: Australian, Bar, Cafe
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
Cuisines: Australian
Buffet & Coffee Shop
Buffet & Coffee Shop
Cuisines: International, Australian
The Loft  Bistro
The Loft Bistro
Cuisines: Pub, Grill, Australian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $122 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wrest Point staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Wrest Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher is best. The view helps distract you from the depressing decor in your tiny room”
  • Like a cell. Just look at that carpet!
  • Very tired
Mint-onmy-Pillow, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“In good weather, I'd prefer the mountain views.”
589erikf, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It's definitely worth paying extra to have a suite that overlooks the bay. I was thrilled by my free upgrade that allowed for this.”
560vickib, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try a renovated room in the tower”
williamp80, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for harbour view.”
eveash2016, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$86* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$101
Hotwire.comUS$111
AMOMAUS$198
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates