We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Hills Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Hills Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed four nights. The room was so loud, could hear people talking all night and the people in the next room sounded like they were in our bathroom. Extremely minimalistic. Friendly staff but we got walked in on once while we were resting and the cleaners knocked on our doors and wanted to come in while we were resting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mer B
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I only booked the budget twin room as accommodation in Hobart was limited and expensive. Room and bathroom had a bad odor and not cleaned properly. House keeping was inconsistent; one day I had no replacement bathmat and bin wasn't emptied. Walls are paper thin, you can hear other guests talking, old pipes shuddering and doors constantly slamming. Although the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magic_sapphire
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for reviewing the Motel. Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff. They always have a smile on their faces & are willing to help. I will pass on your comments to them. We are in a great location making it easy to walk to the waterfront & shopping areas. We do take our housekeeping very seriously...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The room is very average, especially the bathroom- no door/blind to cover the shower spot, the floor is always wet in the bathroom. The room is filled with sort of old smell. No air conditioner is a minus ven though Hobart is not very hot. Level 1&2 rooms are furnished and look very new. But if you are allocated on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The budget twin rooms are all currently located on the top floor & is stated on the websites. Our newly renovated Queen rooms are located on the ground & middle floor. The top floor rooms are to be renovated in winter this year. If you wish to book a Queen room you will be allocated...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room had just been renovated - extremely fine work. Very comfortable bed, great shower. Small en suite, but very comfortable. Only thing missing was a micro- wave, but my fault, as I was told when I left that I could have had one if I had asked! Room cleaned daily, and great fresh towels. NO complaints. Great shops only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian484
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank You Brian for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Hobart. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is good. but hard to find the parking entrance. We had to stop at a petrol station and call them. It it through a back alley. Parking is not great either. Looked like they renovated the rooms. But somehow the renovation looks not completed or half done. the bathroom doesn't even have a shower curtain. so half of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bkoustubh
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. The website has clear instructions on getting to the Motel which is located in Crelin Street. Due to our locating in Battery Point we do have limited parking which is also stated on the website. Our showers are an open shower. We currently do not have air conditioners in our...

Scottsdale, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The owners have tried to revamp rooms but have done poorly. I had sand in my bed obviously the sheets weren't changed. You can here everybody else flushing toilets and showering. No towel rails. Small shower.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandywils63
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Motel. We apologise you had a bad experience during your stay with us. If you had notified us we would have rectified this immediately for you but were unaware & this was not mentioned on checkout. We have bulk ordered our towels rails which had not arrived. We are happy to discuss...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is budget accommodation, so don't expect frills, but they are completing a makeover and it's very promising. The rooms we had were clean and comfortable; great mattresses, small en suites, a fridge, TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. The locality is excellent, the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming, lending us plates and cutlery when we wanted to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Southwalker
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & yes we are in a wonderful location to enjoy what Hobart has to offer & our location makes it ideal to walk to the waterfront & Salamanca. Our staff are always obliging & friendly & I will pass your kind words on to them. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Has newly renovated rooms that are clean and comfortable. Excellent price for Battery Point. Friendly and helpful staff. Ample free parking and rear entry, so no stairs if you have ground floor rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViolettaVictoria
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you again when you travel to Hobart.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Staff tried to be very accommodating on our first stay but unfortunately the receptionist on duty when we arrived could not understand much English and our booking (via the Internet) was a little confused. Unfortunately to get a twin room we needed to take a room on the top floor - no lift!! Room was OK - still being renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Motel. We will always try to accommodate our guests on lower floors where possible however our twin rooms are all located on the top floor. You had requested a twin room online for your second stay with us & not n the first booking. Our twins have not been renovated as yet. We were happy...

Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Perfect! After traveling for 36 hours I was really looking forward to my hotel room. I was not disappointed. The reception was quick and friendly. The room simple but with everything needed and clean. I loved being able to open the windows for fresh air. The location is great for exploring Sandy Bay, Battery Point and Salamanca. There isn't an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonya V
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Tonya for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & our lovely location. Having just recently renovated our Queen rooms the towels rails & hooks were bulk ordered & we were eagerly awaiting their delivery. We hope to see you again when you choose to stay in Hobart.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#37 of 46 in Hobart
76 reviews
1.2 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 46 in Hobart
120 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#33 of 46 in Hobart
658 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Hobart
Travelodge Hobart
#23 of 46 in Hobart
1,429 reviews
1.2 km away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#31 of 46 in Hobart
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Blue Hills Motel

Address: 96 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $100 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Hills Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Blue Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Battery Point
Best Western Hobart
Hobart Best Western
Blue Hills Motel Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Hills Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Enter via the car park to avoid steps. There's no lift so anything above the ground floor involves steps.”
 of 5 bubbles Southwalker, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a ground-floor room unless you want to negotiate the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor to avoid steps with heavy luggage. Also back room better due to traffic noise at front.”
 of 5 bubbles abigail2567, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the third floor with a view.”
  • Room towards Mt Wellington from our room.
  • View towards Sandy Bay from our room
 of 5 bubbles 693deanh, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request a 1 bed apartment for plenty of room and covered parking.”
 of 5 bubbles BCadventures1, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay