We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Hills Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Hills Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue Hills Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Scottsdale, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The owners have tried to revamp rooms but have done poorly. I had sand in my bed obviously the sheets weren't changed. You can here everybody else flushing toilets and showering. No towel rails. Small shower.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandywils63
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Motel. We apologise you had a bad experience during your stay with us. If you had notified us we would have rectified this immediately for you but were unaware & this was not mentioned on checkout. We have bulk ordered our towels rails which had not arrived. We are happy to discuss...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is budget accommodation, so don't expect frills, but they are completing a makeover and it's very promising. The rooms we had were clean and comfortable; great mattresses, small en suites, a fridge, TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. The locality is excellent, the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming, lending us plates and cutlery when we wanted to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Southwalker
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & yes we are in a wonderful location to enjoy what Hobart has to offer & our location makes it ideal to walk to the waterfront & Salamanca. Our staff are always obliging & friendly & I will pass your kind words on to them. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Has newly renovated rooms that are clean and comfortable. Excellent price for Battery Point. Friendly and helpful staff. Ample free parking and rear entry, so no stairs if you have ground floor rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViolettaVictoria
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you again when you travel to Hobart.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Staff tried to be very accommodating on our first stay but unfortunately the receptionist on duty when we arrived could not understand much English and our booking (via the Internet) was a little confused. Unfortunately to get a twin room we needed to take a room on the top floor - no lift!! Room was OK - still being renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Motel. We will always try to accommodate our guests on lower floors where possible however our twin rooms are all located on the top floor. You had requested a twin room online for your second stay with us & not n the first booking. Our twins have not been renovated as yet. We were happy...

Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Perfect! After traveling for 36 hours I was really looking forward to my hotel room. I was not disappointed. The reception was quick and friendly. The room simple but with everything needed and clean. I loved being able to open the windows for fresh air. The location is great for exploring Sandy Bay, Battery Point and Salamanca. There isn't an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonya V
BlueHillsMotel, Manager at Blue Hills Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Tonya for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & our lovely location. Having just recently renovated our Queen rooms the towels rails & hooks were bulk ordered & we were eagerly awaiting their delivery. We hope to see you again when you choose to stay in Hobart.

Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Checked into The Blue Hills Motel for a 2 night stay. It is clear that there have or currently were renovations to the room I was checked into. While the room was clean enough it was obvious things were not quite finished. It would have been nice to be in a finished room. Grout missing from bathroom tiles exposed electric...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jm140576
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We drove past this motel on a few different visits to Hobart and I tried not to get my hopes up about it's mid century facade with big glass windows complete with egg chair near the entrance. Surely too good to be true. But after some online research I discovered it's an actual untouched 1950s gem, with amazing original teak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tcre
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We agreed to pay $95 per night for 5 nights, then, after discovering LOTS of mould on the shower tiles & grout, mould growing in the bin [fresh bin liner was place over this], NO fan working in the bathroom/toilet, no toaster, ice box in the fridge completely frozen over,and NO crockery, cutlery, pots, pans, etc, [yet a stern notice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greylene
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Rooms are a good size, hotel was being renovated but we were informed of this and no issues as we're out and about all day and no noise when we were there.Perfect location for exploring Hobart, walking to Salamanca and Hobart CBD was very easy,parking right out side, easy to find. The staff were excellent,we ended up arriving a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne323
Blacktown, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2016

The rooms are very basic with no hooks in bathroom to hang clothes and only a suction attached small towel rail that falls off even when only a small hand towel is placed on it. No shelf for toiletries and the window louvres are set in a semi open position making it cold when showering. Only 3 coathangers in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barb0wl

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#40 of 46 in Hobart
78 reviews
1.2 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
121 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#21 of 46 in Hobart
266 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
1.2 km away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#31 of 46 in Hobart
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Blue Hills Motel

Address: 96 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $112 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Hills Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Battery Point
Best Western Hobart
Hobart Best Western
Blue Hills Motel Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Hills Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the refurbished rooms as the top floors are still old-fashioned.”
 of 5 bubbles glutenfreegirl2016, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift so if you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles BobL961, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms on th esouth have a picture window above the bed with glorious views of Mt Wellington”
 of 5 bubbles verge2014, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Enter via the car park to avoid steps. There's no lift so anything above the ground floor involves steps.”
 of 5 bubbles Southwalker, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a ground-floor room unless you want to negotiate the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5