We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

These apartments are spacious, clean, comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed (2 TVs, in-room Jacuzzi bath, washer-dryer, full kitchen, etc..). The location just one block from the shops and restaurants of Salamanca street is excellent. This is a luxury property, not really suitable for families with young kids. There is no on-site front desk, so check-in and other functions happen through a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krubin
Skenes Creek
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is in the heart of Salamanca near Battery Point and the Docks. The free parking was a bonus, appartment large and well appointed - even had a bread knife! Our appartment overlooked IMAS so you can see marine science in action! Be aware reception is not on site!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank praline2017
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darian S
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

some extent satisfactory for your hotel provided the service. ht e hotel location is convenient. just walk 12-14 minutes to heart of the city. I like your car parking access easily. But, the balconies of the of the room is not cleaned daily. normally, the hotel supplied the toothbrushes normally. But, anyway, you gave us two, when we requested.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Shannon R, Marketing Officer at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting some of our major features. I’m especially pleased that you found our car parking facilities easy to access. However, I do apologise that our balconies were not properly cleaned during your stay. We appreciate you brining this to our attention and allowing us to improve the quality...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

These appartments are well situated but lack the basic amenities. Surprised that there were toilet brushes to clean the toilets. Totally lacking kitchen equipment no oil no glad wrap no oven gloves few things to cook in. Overall this was really poor. On the positive it is clean quiet and a great location near Salamanca markets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
Shannon R, Marketing Officer at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Dave G, Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that your recent experience with us fell somewhat short of your expectations. I certainly hope it is not enough to discourage you from staying with us in the near future. If you happen to be in Hobart again - and we do hope that you will be, our...

Reviewed 11 January 2017

I will begin this review with a very critical tip for anyone staying at this Hotel. Check-in for Somerset on Salamanca is at the Sister Hotel (Somerset on Pier - Approx. 10 min walk). We weren't informed of this upon booking this hotel through an online booking website. If you don't have a hire car, this is no issue as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Shannon R, Marketing Officer at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Robert H, Thank you for your review and for your critical tip regarding the check in process. You’re absolutely right in that check in occurs at our sister property - Somerset on the Pier. I can certainly share in your disappointment in that this was not made clear to you upon making your reservation, but I can assure you,...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Arrived at Somerset on Salamanca y o find a sign on the door saying I needed to go to Somerset on the Pier to check in. Was not advised of this beforehand. Getting to the other location is easy to do if you've got a car, but eas a real pain when you arrived by taxi and have no where...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig B
Marc G, Front Office Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Craig B, Please accept our apologise for the lack of serviced you received during your time with us in Hobart. We do highlight to travel agents and online websites that our check in location for Somerset on Salamanca is via Somerset on the Pier however we do understand this can be missed in the excitement of a holiday. We...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Somerset on Salamanca serviced apartments 4 adults and one child. The standard of the 2 bedroom apartment was good and met our expectations. The small kitchen and the bathrooms are starting to show their age but the daily room service from staff was handy and appreciated. Parking was limited but worked out ok. The next door access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Shannon R, Marketing Officer at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Peter M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on Salamanca recently, particularly over such an exciting time in Hobart. The next time you visit, you may like to sign up and become an Ascott Online Advantage member. This way, you can...

London
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My family stayed for 3 nights at this hotel during December 2016. The room is as described (tired but clean and spacious) but there were two large issues we experienced during our stay. The first was a foul smell of sewage that filled the apartment on our first morning. It was so strong we had to leave the room, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T-A-UK
Marc G, Front Office Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear T-A-UK, Thank you for leaving us with your feedback, we do appreciate guests taking the time to express their satisfactions and giving us the opportunity to continually improve the environment around us. I can certainly understand that the disappointment with the housekeeping service's you had received during your first night with us. I have followed up with the maintenance...

Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed here on a work trip, and found the location to be excellent - both close to local CBD, but situated far enough away for it to be quiet. Set in the stunning Salamanca area, the apartments were clean. Only issue was that view was directly into another building across the road, but that can't always be helped. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsea C
Shannon R, Marketing Officer at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Kelsea C, Thank you for your lovely review. We’re so pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you would consider staying with us in the near future. We’re certainly fortunate to be located in such a stunning part of Hobart and we’re so pleased to we could share this with you. I trust that you had a...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
531 reviews
0.1 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#23 of 46 in Hobart
291 reviews
0.0 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#6 of 46 in Hobart
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in historic Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market and within Hobart’s magnificent and exciting waterfront, Somerset on Salamanca is your ideal residence for comfort and convenience. Wander around the city only moments away and take in the classic architecture of Hobart. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Address: 8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $203 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Agoda so you can book your Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“when first arriving go to the sister property on the pier for the front desk and check-in.”
 of 5 bubbles krubin, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Confirm at reception that your key is operable - it's a long, long way back! ”
 of 5 bubbles praline2017, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room with views towards the harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles darians2013, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Luxury price mid range facilities lacks basic equipment”
 of 5 bubbles daveg346, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Insist on balcony, parking difficult if you have car”
 of 5 bubbles bj4950, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5