We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hadley's Orient Hotel

Show Prices
#6 of 45 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hadley\\
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hadley's Orient Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 548: English reviews
Portland, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is now operated by the Royal Auto Club of Tasmania [RACT] for accommodation, meals and drinks. Adult daughter and myself visited the lounge on a Friday evening at about 7.30 pm after attending a short concert in a nearby venue. It was a pleasure to enter and then relax in the clean quiet ambience of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanM31
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IanM31 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Hadley’s Orient Hotel. For the benefit of those reading your review we would like to clarify the ownership of Hadley’s Orient Hotel. The Royal Auto Club of Tasmania (RACT) does not operate Hadley’s Orient Hotel. We are, in fact, an...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We unexpectedly had to book a nights stay in Hobart at the last minute. We got a really good deal on a room in this Hotel. Its a great old building with a lot of History and feels like a Grand hotel the decor around the hotel, in the rooms and bars is very nice. The service was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wotty678
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wotty678, Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation to other trip advisor readers. We’re thrilled we were able to accommodate you at the last minute with a really good deal and we’re pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Hobart. Kind regards, Hadley’s Orient Hotel Management

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We are two couples who visited here for four nights. Hadley's Hotel is in a great location, in between the city centre and the lively waterfront area of Hobart. It is an older building with slightly dated decor, but everything is clean, fresh and neat. For us, it was a perfect alternative to Hobart's expensive high-end 'art' hotels and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brekatosam
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brekatosam, Thank you for providing this feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location, the great atmosphere in the bar and being able to open the windows in your room to allow the fresh air in. We are sorry to hear that one of your group had a problem with...

Reviewed 23 February 2015

+s Really comfortable bed in period room with good facilities, excellent breakfast. Great for access to activities, attractions of Hobart. -s Son's room smelt of damp, bathroom extraction fan not working, didn't in our room either. Drinking water smelt and tasted foul, very earthy. We drank Hobart tap water elsewhere and did not experience this. No on site parking, had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin O
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin O, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the comfortable bed, room facilities and breakfast. We were concerned to hear that your son’s room smelt of damp and the extraction fans in both your rooms were not working. Could you please contact me on feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au to discuss these matters further? For future stays,...

Sydney
Reviewed 23 February 2015

A friend & I stayed here this month, booked online. Requested a twin room which was not able to be accommodated on the day, but they were very helpful in bringing up another bed to the room quite quickly. Front desk staff were very friendly, good advise on where to head out, where to eat and where to go over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrazyShopper23
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CrazyShopper23, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadley’s Orient Hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We do apologise that we were unable to accommodate your request for a twin room but we’re pleased that we were able to assist with additional bedding quite quickly. We are delighted to hear that our friendly front desk staff...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Very nice experience. we stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our honeymoon and had a great relaxing time. The rooms aren't modern but they are antique and spectacular. Extremely clean with the most comfortable luxurious bed i have ever slept in. The spa took a long time to fill but was lovely and large. Perhaps the lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynette88
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lynette88, Thank you for your feedback and your recommendation to other trip advisor readers. We are pleased to hear you had a great, relaxing time at Hadley’s Orient Hotel and found your room extremely clean with a comfortable, luxurious bed. For our guests requiring a car park we do offer secure, under-cover parking in Trafalgar Car Park located 270...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I booked a long weekend to celebrate my husband's 68 birthday. We found the hotel beautiful in a old world charming hotel. The decor was simply lovely. The Front Counter staff were very friendly and helpful in advising local tourist places of interest. The hotel is within walking distance to the Salamanica Markets. The room was clean, very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen R, Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to be a part of your husband’s 68th birthday celebrations. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, in particular; the décor, central location, clean comfortable room, breakfast and dinner. Thank you for mentioning the front counter staff who were friendly and helpful in advising local places of...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Had four wonderful nights at this lovely hotel, at last, a hotel with a bit of character! Lovely decor and very comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful and efficient,actually all looked and behaved as they really enjoyed their jobs. Hotel is Very conveniently located for all Hobart's attractions which are a pleasant walk away. We hired a vehicle for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grmljag
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grmljag, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your recommendation to other trip advisor readers. We are thrilled to hear you had four wonderful nights at Hadley’s Orient Hotel and found our staff very friendly and helpful. For future stays, please don’t hesitate to contact us direct to find out more about our special offers....

Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

A friend and I chose to have high tea at Hadley's as The Entertainment Book offered a 25% discount on dining. I rang 1 week in advance to make a booking where I had to supply credit card details but they wouldn't be charged unless we failed to show. A young man rang 2 days before to confirm our booking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah K, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent High Tea at Hadley’s Orient Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you could not fault your experience. Our High Tea is served daily between 2pm – 6pm and we ask that you please book at least 24 hours in advance. Guests can choose from our selection of...

Castlemaine, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Hadleys is in the centre of Hobart opposite the cathedral and only a few minutes walk from the docks and Salamanca Place. We had a Summer Special deal which included an upgrade to a superior room, free internet and continental breakfast. The staff were very efficient and pleasant at all times. Our room was clean and spacious with air conditioning....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bolly27
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bolly27, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your recommendation to other trip advisor readers. We are so pleased you enjoyed the room, comfortable bed, guest areas and central location and found our staff very efficient and pleasant. For future stays, please don’t hesitate to contact us direct to find out more about our special...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (153)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Heritage Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Spa Suite (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 45 in Hobart
504 reviews
0.8 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 45 in Hobart
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $146 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hadley's Orient Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
5 months ago
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hadley's Orient Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was in room 122 it was huge actually two rooms I was quite happy with it shower was good so nothing to complain about. Bed was comfy.”
 of 5 bubbles holidaytime753, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Centrally located and easy access to bus stops, etc”
 of 5 bubbles PG2478, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the front may have a better view than the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles 421RichardM, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look good”
 of 5 bubbles Crazysteveb, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking Murray Street. A bit more expensive but less claustrophobic.”
  • Unbelievably good bed and contemporary bathroom.
 of 5 bubbles Skill0, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay