We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salamanca Inn

Save
Share
10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
PricelineUS$146
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (179)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 08/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 47 hotels in Hobart
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
882Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 483
  • 321
  • 55
  • 18
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christine J wrote a review Nov 2021
Bargara, Australia364 contributions95 helpful votes
We stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute of it. Service was friendly, helpful and efficient on check in and whenever we had a query. We had free parking undercover, which was great when we were out all day on tours. We were impressed with the cleanliness, quietness, presentation, and efficient use of space in our apartment. We were on level 1, which also had the free laundry close by, so that was very convenient. Washing powder is supplied as well. We loved the bed, it was so comfortable. We loved the heated floors even more, particularly as Hobart was experiencing a cold snap that meant the outside temperature was in single digits. The bathroom was reasonably spacious with a shower over bath combination. A full sized mirror is on the back of the door - a nice addition. The apartment was serviced every day, which was very much appreciated. There are kitchen facilities and a dishwasher. A fridge with mini bar items available - be aware that the bottled water is not complementary and cost $4 each. We had room service one night and ordered pizza. The pizza was dinner plate size and while very tasty was quite expensive, but you often expect to pay a premium for this service. The apartments are conveniently located for an easy walk into central Hobart, Salamanca Markets, multiple restaurants, the waterfront, tour access, Battery Point etc. Slightly further afield you can find a Woolworths and Coles and other small shops in Sandy Bay. Overall we loved our little home away from home and would gladly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Margaret B wrote a review Nov 2021
Sippy Downs, Australia41 contributions7 helpful votes
Customer service lacked greatly. Air-conditioning was not working currently been repaired for $250 per night not acceptable.. Shower was in the batch and the shower arm and head kept falling and made it hard to shower. Toilet flusher needed servicing but did work with a little fiddling. Was a modern unit with King Size Bed but not impressed with the fact that the heat in the room made it very uncomfortable. Good laundry facilities and good car parking. But sorry I did not rebook at the Salamanca Wharf Hotel, was a better price with much better facilities and customer service as there price per night was $150 with everything working well and all facilities working fine
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Centrally located, good looking room but customer service lacks greatly
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Johann F wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Good location room ok but very dated , my biggest disappointment was the Breakfast room service ordered the scrambled eggs on toast the sour dough was that hard you couldn’t even use a knife or even chew it ??? The scrambled eggs should just be scrambled eggs ??? But they were soaked in olive oil to the point where the egg had split ,, absolutely disgusting I would be embarrassed to be called a chef at this establishment putting out food like this , I wouldn’t even feed it to my dogs !!! So disappointed given the Stone Age we all live in , first and last time I stay here .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay here but eat somewhere else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristian Lauer, Other at Salamanca Inn
Responded 24 Oct 2021
Hi Johann F, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear of your in-room dining experience. This is not a typical experience for our guests. Could you contact me via info@salamancainn.com.au to advise your room and date of stay so that I may bring this to the attention of our Head Chef please? I hope that we can turn this around for you and try to restore your confidence in our business. I look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards, Kristian Lauer Assistant General Manager
Read more
Richard P wrote a review Oct 2021
Adelaide, Australia16 contributions6 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here in September 2021. The hotel is an ideal choice for anyone wishing to stay in central Hobart. Walking distance to Salamanca Markets on Saturdays. Free parking. Walking distance to Battery Point with all it's shops and eateries and pubs. The hotel is near perfect, either new or recently refurbished. The Windows open, although limited, which I appreciate. Staff are excellent. Nothing is a bother. The restaurant was cosy and the food delightful, especially the porterhouse. Indoor pool etc was a favourite with families. We would stay again, and probably will.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Salamanca Inn
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear Richard P, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Hobart! We are very fortunate to be in such a central location, close to restaurants, the Salamanca Market’s, and the beautiful waterfront. It sounds like you made the most of this during your stay. It is so nice to hear that you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant. It appears like had a lovely experience at our Birdsong restaurant! Thank you for your thoughtful words regarding our team. I will be sure to pass this positive feedback on. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm Regards, Ruby Nicola Front Office Manager
Read more
Nett7 wrote a review Oct 2021
Gladstone, Australia38 contributions3 helpful votes
This was one of the best motels I have ever stayed in. The location is absolutely perfect with everything conveniently close. The room was awesome with all the amenities we needed and extra pillows to go with the super comfy bed. The kitchen area was well set out and the shower was brilliant. I also really appreciated the laundry on our floor with no charge for use. We discovered so many friendly and helpful people during our holiday but the staff at the Salamanca were the absolute best. They took wonderful care of us and we hope we get to go back again some time. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Salamanca Inn
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Dear Nett7, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! It sounds like you had a wonderful stay! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the suite that you stayed in. We have worked extremely hard to create a homely feel in all aspects of the hotel. It is always very rewarding to hear such positive feedback! We have a very special team at the Salamanca Inn, so thank you so much for your kind words. I will be sure to pass this on! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Hobart next. Warm Regards, Ruby Nicola Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
salamanca hotel hobart
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGreater HobartHobart
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Salamanca Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Salamanca Inn?
Nearby attractions include Salamanca Market (0.1 km), St. David's Cathedral (0.4 km), and Salamanca Arts Centre (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Salamanca Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Salamanca Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Salamanca Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Salamanca Inn?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Salamanca Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Da Angelo Ristorante, Syra Restaurant, and Daci and Daci Bakers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Salamanca Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Salamanca Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Hobart.
Are any cleaning services offered at Salamanca Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Salamanca Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Salamanca Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hobart Convict Penitentiary (1.1 km), Cascades Female Factory Historic Site (2.6 km), and Constitution Dock (0.8 km).