We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Prince of Wales Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Bendigo
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Service fantastic as is food AND price. $10 for T-bone steak chips and salad! No room in bar for counter meal so we were allowed to dine in the restaurant for the same price. Lovely waitress, nothing too much trouble. Live band, nice atmosphere. Will definitely go there again and will probably stay there next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We didn't stay there but had a great meal there, staff were very friendly,meals were well priced , within walking distance to Salamanca and CBD would eat there again! great little hotel with a great atmosphere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie t
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The worst hotel in Hobart. The rooms are stuffy with central aircon not working. Even though it was cold outside, the room waz quite hot and stuffy. The entire hotel smells of stale alcohol including the carpets and the linen. The toilet was so smelly like it had never been cleaned and we were expected to get drinking water from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reshma N
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Reshma, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, if you would have mentioned any of this while you were here, we could have offered solutions. If the room was stuffy with it being cold outside, I'd recommend opening the windows or using the fan that is located in the cupboard. Also, it is a bar/hotel, which...

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Prince of Wales for a week as I had started a new job but had not moved to Hobart yet. I found the room very adequate for my stay and was neat and clean. They provide the things for a light breakfast for in room dining. I also enjoyed a meal that was well prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CC_N_AU
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm glad we provided a nice start to your stay in Hobart. Hope to see you around in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Megan

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Excellent location, very reasonably priced, and basic but comfortable room. Pillows were pretty shocking in our room tho- hard and flat. Our shower leaked, but we told the staff on the way out, so hopefully it will be fixed- sad to waste a precious resource. Staff are great- nothing is too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzsunriseQld
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel location is excellent and the rooms are old but still reasonably well kept. The biggest issue for us was that the hotel rooms are directly over the restaurant and bar and have very little sound proofing. If you want to enjoy a loud cover band from the comfort of your room, you will be pleased, but if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt l
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed in the Kelly Suite over Thursday/Good Friday. Excellent value for location: only gripe is the poor water pressure in the shower. Generous continental breakfast: toast/fruit salad/condiments. Prime parking. Close proximity to Salamanca markets/Pollen tea room/Jackman&McRoss bakery. Room away from pub so fairly peaceful except for party from a residential house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwim0z
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KiwimOz, Thank you for taking the time for review us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Megan Childress Licensee

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2016

First things first, good location and really cheerful staff But !!....Look carefully through the photos, the actual exterior is not what you see in the first pic, that is actually the ninth pic in. So I had figured based on the first picture and the name it would be a period building, not something from the linear 60's/70's The wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lxmxwll
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

We expected better of a hotel at Battery Point. This hotel is in dire need of an upgrade of their accommodation. Old beds, old smelly linen, tiles falling off the walls in the bathroom, terrible shower and a terrible excuse for continental breakfast. Four slices of white bread wrapped in plastic wrap in the fridge, little boxes of cereal in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henrik N
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Henrik, I'm sorry you felt letdown at The Prince of Wales. We will not deny that it is basic, but it is clean, affordable, and an amazing location which is what we're all about. I truly believe the money we're asking is very modest for the location (feel free to compare with others in the area) and the provided...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

We can't speak for restaurant but the bar service meals were excellent value. A T Bone with chips and salad for $10 and chicken Parma with chips and salad for $12.50 had us wondering what the food would be like. We were pleasantly surprised with traditional pub fare, tender meat and generous serves. We have paid more than double this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod E

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.6 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
121 reviews
0.2 km away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#35 of 46 in Hobart
78 reviews
1.3 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#23 of 46 in Hobart
295 reviews
0.3 km away
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
0.6 km away
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Hobart's historic Battery Point, The Prince of Wales Hotel has twelve 3 star en-suite rooms, an 80 seat restaurant and a modern popular bar. Suitable for all travelers wanting a central location within easy walking distance of Hobart's main attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: 55 Hampden Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $104 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hobart
Prince Of Wales Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The east facing rooms have access to balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles kane42, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 21 and its cool at night if you open the window, but it may be noisy since there are tables outside downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 216shuyiw, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Any room not facing the street outside the pub unless you don't mind noise.”
 of 5 bubbles meghnag2014, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room or the bar noise will intrude on the weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles BL1947, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Farthest from the bar might reduce noise from bar and cars a little.”
 of 5 bubbles MOUMAR09, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5