We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickled Frog

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Pickled Frog
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pickled Frog
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

I went there just for 1 night and the staff was very friendly . I forgot my coat and they kept to me and was very attention. The place is clean, there are a safe park and a excellent lounge. Amazing! I'd like to stay more but unfortunately they aren't book one day during the weekend, just the day that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cammila m
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Thank you Cammila m - SO MANY NICE WORDS! Thanks a bunch! We're so glad to hear you had a nice time and very sorry that we were fully booked on the weekend you wanted to stay. I hope the rest of your trip is going well :) More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place! Very close to the city and harbour. Staff were great and so were the other guests. I slept in a shared 4 person room and the other stayers were really good. They provide bed linen and towel which was handy. Would recommend to anyone visiting Hobart.

Helpful?
Thank Tyler W
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Tyler W! Cheers mate! It's a shame you could only stay the one night - it never seems enough hey!? Hopefully we'll catch you next time you're down in Hobart town.... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

The best staff ever offering multiple services such as FREE camping gear renting, FREE weekly shuttles to Mt Wellington and MONA, FREE friendly advices regarding things to see around, FREE good wifi. Parking in the back for those in need, huge living room and a bar in the hallway making people feeling like home... So this hostel got strong asset... More 

Helpful?
Thank NomadPhD
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Mate! We're all about the FREEdom! We should get you to write our next homepage coover letter! Thanks for the review NomadPhD - what a legend! More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, always clean and a nice atmosphere with good communal areas. We were upgraded from a 3 bed room to a 2 bed room and the room was small but clean. Bathrooms are also small but clean. Internet is good throughout the hostel which is a bit of a rarity in Tasmanian hostels. The staff were helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lydia C
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Cheers Lydia C! Thanks for you kind words. Safe travels... :) More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

This is a nice hostel, it's slightly out of the way - the 7 minute walk to Salamanca market as advised on check in was actually nearer 20 minutes, but that really is the only even slightly negative point. The staff are great, toilets and showers were clean, bedrooms were as you would expect, and a nice little bar to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Cheers for that Stephen H! Although, I fear you may have gotten lost on the way to Salamanca! Thanks very much for all of your nice words about us mate - hopefully we'll see you next time... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

A warm welcome to this quirky backpackers. Lots of sofas, books and board games. The hallways are covered in 'art work' and the floor-boards creak. We stayed in a small double room with no view but was comfortable. Shares bathroom down the hall had strong showers and plenty of cubicles. If you visit the ladies lavatory downstairs you will be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma M
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Why, thank you Emma M. The words of wisdom in the girl's loos is certainly something to keep one entertained and educated while using the facilities - we only wish the boys could be half as imaginative and insightful as the girls. Did you have a favourite quote? I think the best the boys have managed so far is "Juan... More 

New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Had an unforgettable time at the Pickled Frog - was in Hobart alone for 3 days and immediately felt welcomed to the community at the Frog. Everyone hangs out together and is happy to meet new people. Free shuttles are a great way to get to the main attractions of Hobart and to go with friends! Fun atmosphere with quirky... More 

Helpful?
Thank sylvia507
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Syliv507, thanking you very muchly! Someone else said recently the Frog was like a "community for travellers." That sounds good doesn't it? Maybe we'll use that on the new website (if we ever get around to it!). We're so happy hear that you had such a lovely stay with us and that you felt like part of the Frog family.... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I said in the pickled frog for just 3 nights, but I can say I really enjoyed the place. The social area is perfect to have a beer and chat with new friends. Although it's a little expensive, I totally recommend to everyone that's gonna stay in Hobart

Helpful?
Thank Diego L
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Diego! Gracias amigo! We're stoked you enjoyed your stay with us mate! Thanks for your kind words More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This was my friend and I's first stop in Tasmania and it definitely had a lasting impression......I made some great friends here and it became my social hotspot for the 7 months that I lived in Tasmania. The quirky bar with it's affordable beer/wine, cosy fireplaces in the winter and incredible staff give this Hostel a brilliant atmosphere that cannot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mooseinthehoose
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Who art thou Mooseinthehoose that has the time to say such amazing words about The Frog and it's team?!? Thanks so much for your review - it was an awesome start to the day today to log in and see this pop up :) More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2016

It's a big hostel with a decent size common area, where backpackers all get together. I really liked the friendly and social environment. The staff members are very nice and helpful and always make sure you have a great time in Hobart. It's a very clean hostel, housekeeping and general cleaning staff are very thorough. Would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
Thank Paula C
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Thank you Paula! So good to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and social environment that we are trying to create and maintain. A big thanks on behalf of our cleaning team too for given them a mention and being able to see the the hard work they put in to keep this place nice and clean even though we... More 

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.2 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.1 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 45 in Hobart
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 45 in Hobart
115 reviews
0.7 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 45 in Hobart
503 reviews
0.1 km away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Address: 281 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $29 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pickled Frog staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great place to stay well worth a visit.”
 of 5 bubbles 902saraiv, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Clean,Friendly,Awesome place!”
 of 5 bubbles 護照2015, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“12-person rooms are on the first floor, so opt for a smaller dorm if you need quiet”
 of 5 bubbles sylvia507, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“just be nice and they will sort you out”
 of 5 bubbles 712nicc, 6 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you have trouble sleeping, taking the dorm outside the lounge is not a smart decision!!”
 of 5 bubbles ShereeKnick, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay