We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pickled Frog

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pickled Frog
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
Xinbei, Taiwan
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I had been there for six months! And everything is so good!! Backpacker is very clean and methodic.Also it's very quiet at night(But I can't promise you about your roommate...) and there has some info on the wall and a friandly bar. You can buy some beer or coffee in there(and the Pickled Frog T-shirt!)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 護照2015
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 May 2016

The best hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave us plenty of information on hobart. When we arrived we were booked into a 12 bedroom dorm we got moved into a 4 bedroom dorm to ourselves. The hostel was very clean, and had open fires, was lovely especially after we hiked up a mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rosiebasford
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 16 April 2016

I went there just for 1 night and the staff was very friendly . I forgot my coat and they kept to me and was very attention. The place is clean, there are a safe park and a excellent lounge. Amazing! I'd like to stay more but unfortunately they aren't book one day during the weekend, just the day that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cammila m
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Thank you Cammila m - SO MANY NICE WORDS! Thanks a bunch! We're so glad to hear you had a nice time and very sorry that we were fully booked on the weekend you wanted to stay. I hope the rest of your trip is going well :)

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place! Very close to the city and harbour. Staff were great and so were the other guests. I slept in a shared 4 person room and the other stayers were really good. They provide bed linen and towel which was handy. Would recommend to anyone visiting Hobart.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler W
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Tyler W! Cheers mate! It's a shame you could only stay the one night - it never seems enough hey!? Hopefully we'll catch you next time you're down in Hobart town....

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 11 April 2016

The best staff ever offering multiple services such as FREE camping gear renting, FREE weekly shuttles to Mt Wellington and MONA, FREE friendly advices regarding things to see around, FREE good wifi. Parking in the back for those in need, huge living room and a bar in the hallway making people feeling like home... So this hostel got strong asset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NomadPhD
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Mate! We're all about the FREEdom! We should get you to write our next homepage coover letter! Thanks for the review NomadPhD - what a legend!

Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, always clean and a nice atmosphere with good communal areas. We were upgraded from a 3 bed room to a 2 bed room and the room was small but clean. Bathrooms are also small but clean. Internet is good throughout the hostel which is a bit of a rarity in Tasmanian hostels. The staff were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia C
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Cheers Lydia C! Thanks for you kind words. Safe travels... :)

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

This is a nice hostel, it's slightly out of the way - the 7 minute walk to Salamanca market as advised on check in was actually nearer 20 minutes, but that really is the only even slightly negative point. The staff are great, toilets and showers were clean, bedrooms were as you would expect, and a nice little bar to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Cheers for that Stephen H! Although, I fear you may have gotten lost on the way to Salamanca! Thanks very much for all of your nice words about us mate - hopefully we'll see you next time...

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

A warm welcome to this quirky backpackers. Lots of sofas, books and board games. The hallways are covered in 'art work' and the floor-boards creak. We stayed in a small double room with no view but was comfortable. Shares bathroom down the hall had strong showers and plenty of cubicles. If you visit the ladies lavatory downstairs you will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Why, thank you Emma M. The words of wisdom in the girl's loos is certainly something to keep one entertained and educated while using the facilities - we only wish the boys could be half as imaginative and insightful as the girls. Did you have a favourite quote? I think the best the boys have managed so far is "Juan...

New York
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Had an unforgettable time at the Pickled Frog - was in Hobart alone for 3 days and immediately felt welcomed to the community at the Frog. Everyone hangs out together and is happy to meet new people. Free shuttles are a great way to get to the main attractions of Hobart and to go with friends! Fun atmosphere with quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvia507
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Syliv507, thanking you very muchly! Someone else said recently the Frog was like a "community for travellers." That sounds good doesn't it? Maybe we'll use that on the new website (if we ever get around to it!). We're so happy hear that you had such a lovely stay with us and that you felt like part of the Frog family....

Reviewed 30 March 2016

I said in the pickled frog for just 3 nights, but I can say I really enjoyed the place. The social area is perfect to have a beer and chat with new friends. Although it's a little expensive, I totally recommend to everyone that's gonna stay in Hobart

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diego L
Frogteam, Owner at The Pickled Frog, responded to this review

Diego! Gracias amigo! We're stoked you enjoyed your stay with us mate! Thanks for your kind words

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.1 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
1,171 reviews
0.7 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart
#19 of 46 in Hobart
633 reviews
0.1 km away
Hobart's Accommodation & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about The Pickled Frog

Address: 281 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $31 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Pickled Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Frog Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pickled Frog staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great place to stay well worth a visit.”
 of 5 bubbles 902saraiv, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Clean,Friendly,Awesome place!”
 of 5 bubbles 護照2015, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“12-person rooms are on the first floor, so opt for a smaller dorm if you need quiet”
 of 5 bubbles sylvia507, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“just be nice and they will sort you out”
 of 5 bubbles 712nicc, 6 Dec 2015 | Read review
“If you have trouble sleeping, taking the dorm outside the lounge is not a smart decision!!”
 of 5 bubbles ShereeKnick, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5