We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crown Metropol Melbourne

Show Prices
#23 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crown Metropol Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,488: English reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Amazing customer service during my stay. My 9 year old daughter and I loved the pool on level 27. I would highly recommend a stay here. It's a great location with having access to the entire Crown complex

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Biljana M
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your recommendation. I was so pleased my staff made your stay special and that your daughter loved the pool. Our pool is very popular with our guests and the views up there are second-to-none. Hopefully our paths will cross on your next visit! King regards, Harley Moraitis General Manager Crown Metropol 61 3 9292...

Adelaide
Reviewed 19 December 2015

The hotel is linked by covered walk ways to the other two crown hotels, also the food courts, shops, river and restaurants which is excellent. The rooms are large with good amenities. The hotel itself is a little tired in the reception area, but has good fast lifts to all floors. The infinity pool on level 27 is amazing, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynsteveb
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed the location, the spaciousness of the room and the amenities. The pool is a popular destination with all our guests and I appreciate your feedback with regard to its operational hours. I am happy to discuss this point further with you - together with our maintenance programme of the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Stayed in sep15 with the wife as part of business trip for 3 nights. Second stay here on recommendation, and it's a tough one. It has everything you would want (good sized rooms, hotel amenities, gym, restaurants, rooftop bar, pool etc) and would normally earn five stars. However the style of the hotel is very contemporary and with all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuzzieTravellor
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your 2nd stay with us in September. I would like to apologise that the style of our property is not to your liking. It sounds like Crown Towers is probably more suited to you - especially if you prefer a more traditional/classic 5-star Hotel. With regards to the taxis, depending on the time of...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Went to Melbourne for my girlfriends birthday. Upon arrival had a bottle of complimentary champagne waiting on the 21st floor with river views. Room was very nice, staff were helpful when we asked the best way to get to places. Only bad thing was we left the room after our first night and went out all day and left the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lsipo
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your post – hope the birthday celebrations for your friend went well! It sounds like you had an enjoyable couple of days with us and glad the staff took great care of you. I would like to apologise for the room not being serviced on the first night. I would love to investigate this further. Please feel...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We were located on level 26 which was great. Rooms were really nice. Tried room service a couple of times and the food was enjoyable. Mr Hives was nice for a few drinks. Checkin and Checkout was fast. Taxis are readily available right outside the lobby. Lots of nice restaurants close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelleradam79
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to read you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. I will ensure to pass your great feedback on to the team. Kind regards, Harley Moraitis General Manager Crown Metropol 61 3 9292 8888

melbourne
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Two nights away to recover from a stressful period was made more stressful by totally incompetent staff. An alteration to our booking due to a funeral was not saved by booking staff. I explained this upon check-in & the booking was apparently fixed. The next afternoon we couldn't get into our room & the manager told us we should have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wylie1922
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Firstly, please accept my apologies for your recent stay at Crown Metropol. I have done some investigation and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you when you have a moment. I can be contacted on 61 3 9292 8888. Kind regards, Harley Moraitis General Manager Crown Metropol 61 3 9292 8888

Port MacDonnell, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sam h
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Room was very spacious and clean,location was great,restaurant(mr.hives kitchen) wasn't great,poor service,food very average.the whole crown complex was really good,plenty of choice of places to eat and drink.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P3793TTjulied
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly let me apologise for your experience in Mr Hive restaurant, this is not the usual standard offered. If you have the time I would appreciate you making contact so I could understand your feedback in a little more detail. Overall though it sounds like you had a great weekend away. We hope to welcome...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Being a local, I had stayed at this hotel last year and didn't find it to be a very good experience. Due to a business reason I have just stayed at the Metropol this week and was much more impressed. Quick, pleasant check in. Room with specifics that I requested. The complex has excellent meal options with lots of interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank zosha72
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and the team took great care of you. In regards to the in-room dining menu, we do try and cater for the majority of our guests. I apologise that you felt there was a limited offering - we would have been happy to offer...

Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Stayed here for three nights, and our room was only serviced once (upon request). The second time I passed a cleaner in the corridor and asked if we could at least have our towels changed, so that is exactly what happened, the towels were changed and the rest of the room was left unserviced. Apart from that, the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwoFrews
CrownHotels, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and my apologies. I would like to investigate this further as the rooms do get full service daily. The only thing I can think of is the “do not disturb light” may been accidentally activated Please give me a call when free so I can follow up what happened. Kind regards, Harley Moraitis General Manager...

1,171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (954)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (66)
Viewed
View from Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (370)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Loft (50)
Viewed
Luxe King (31)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 156 in Melbourne
2,235 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 156 in Melbourne
2,066 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
3,718 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 156 in Melbourne
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $260 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crown Metropol Melbourne staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Crown Metropol Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book well in advance and look for a promotional price”
 of 5 bubbles 5starbudget, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High Floor”
 of 5 bubbles 963pennyt, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 2556 and had great city views.”
 of 5 bubbles LorisSalerno, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views!”
 of 5 bubbles JCJCA, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a Luxe King Room and it was excellent, can't say anymore than that!”
 of 5 bubbles Sha-sas, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5