We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Tempo

Hotwire.comUS$72*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$145*
US$72*
Great Deal
US$75*
US$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
City Tempo
City Tempo
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Tempo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,135: English reviews
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 24 April 2016

City Tempo is conveniently located in the CBD. It has all the facilities we needed for our 4 day stay. The apartment was modern, it had kitchen facilities, bathroom sink area small but nonetheless fine. Great to have a combined washing machine and dryer. It was quiet and most importantly the staff were most helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A5051CSjohnh
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Great location, close to trams & walking distance from CBD, although being on the 2nd floor was noisy when the window was open. Very well set up studio apartment with modern decor & great kitchen area - even had a dishdrawer & washing machine/dryer! Comfortable bed but slept badly due to noisy air conditioner. Shower & white desk chair could've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visitingcouple2016
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We stayed here for 7 nights. It was sparkling clean and efficient. Two TVs, good kitchen, well-stocked. We had a balcony room with a nice view from 14th floor. Maid service daily was great. We were one block from Victoria Market, and one block from the free city tram. Washer/dryer combo was very helpful. We'd stay here again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goodeatsed
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Visited in April 2016, staff were very friendly, relatively new place with very good facilities and a good location pretty central in the city. The room was a good size and had everything you could need for a quick stay apartment including dish washer tablets and washing powder There is a bit of an odour in reception and the lies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank businesstravellor363
Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The location of the accommodation was convenient for access to Queen Victoria Markets, shopping and many other attractions in the city. The apartment was well appointed and comfortable and very clean. The only issue was the check in process. We weren't told prior to arrival that credit card surcharges applied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre3007
Melbourne04, Manager at City Tempo, responded to this review

Dear Pierre3007, Thanks for sharing your experience after staying with us recently. It is delightful to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise about any confusion you came across on check-in regarding our credit card surcharge policy (1.5% Visa, Mastercard and 3% Amex, Diners and Unionpay). We have...

South Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We booked this accommodation/flight package through Discover Australia. I've been to Melbourne a few times and have stayed in more ambient accommodation. This place is okay for an overnighter possibly, but we didn't find the room welcoming. Room 307 is mainly setup for a person with a disability, which is great if you need the room for a wheelchair in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank melsimpress
Melbourne04, Manager at City Tempo, responded to this review

Dear melsimpress, Thanks for your recent review of CityTempo. It’s a pleasure to read you enjoyed the service from the team, thanks for taking the time to mention this. At CityTempo we specialize in providing compact, functional, well maintained and affordable accommodation in a great location. We try to be as transparent as possible regarding the quality and features we...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 7 nights as I was spending 4 days at the Australian F1. Apartment was spotlessly clean throughout, the kitchenette adequately supplied with crockery, plates, etc..fridge, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer. I found the staff on reception very helpful. The location was perfect with just a 2 min walk to the free tram on La Trobe St and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I was very happy with me stay here. Right from check in the service was friendly and helpful. I was on level 4 in a studio apartment with a balcony, it was clean and everything I wanted and expected. Lots of light if you wanted it great blinds that block out all the light. No criticism and something City Tempo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maoritraveller
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 30 March 2016

The location is close to the town center and only few minutes to the Queen Victoria Market. The room is clean, modern decoration and comfortable. We have surprised that the room was upgraded to the top floor with balcony and excellent city view. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yiulee
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This is an apartment hotel with kitchen facilities, they even have a dishwasher which is not commonly seen. Service: Great, always serve with smile. Front desk staff has knowledge of surrounding areas. They are willing to help with special requests. Location: Fantastic. Location is the main reason why I chose this hotel. It is right at the CBD area (which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aya89268

545 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Apartment - View (46)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (35)
Viewed
Studio Apartment with Balcony (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
2,680 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 159 in Melbourne
1,383 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our stylish Studio & One Bedroom Compact Apartments offer all the essentials for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Melbourne's exciting CBD. Furnished with a compact kitchen, the latest audio/visual appliances and WiFi internet. On site is a well equipped gymnasium, sauna and business centre. Ideal for both leisure and corporate guests, enjoy easy access to cafes, convenience stores, Melbourne Central and only metres to Queen Victoria Market. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Tempo

Address: 353 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $104 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Tempo 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Tempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Tempo Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Tempo staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Seoul, South Korea
Singapore, Singapore
Kyneton, Australia
Hk
6 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from City Tempo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If the smoke detector buzz, ask to change the room XD”
Tiffany19860518, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“They all seemed good”
steverL2009JO, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Apartment rooms are higher up the building and have that extra space for the extended stay..”
12trinac, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Request studio rooms with the washing / dryer combo machine if you are staying longer than a couple of days”
Incubuschick, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“West facing rooms have a partial view of the park”
Travel_with_Bender, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$72* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$75
Hotels.comUS$73
AMOMAUS$145
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates