We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,320: English reviews
Crossville, TN
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located right next to a tram stop in the central business district. The trams are free in the CBD and it's easy to get around. There is also a big casino right across the river with tons of places to get a quick bite inside. The view of the river was wonderful from the room, both day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simplelife4real
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear simplelife4real, Thank you for your detailed feedback. Hotel is indeed in great location, closer to free tram zone, restaurants and cafes. As the hotel in situated on the Yarra river the view from our river facing rooms are amazing and these rooms are very popular as well. I hope to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne. Kind Regards,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in April for one night. The check in process was very friendly and efficient. Our room was very clean,comfortable and functional. The bathroom was spotless,however it could probably do with an update. We had drinks in the bar and found the staff there also to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaandRuss
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear AmandaandRuss, Thank you for your great review. I was glad to read that you found reception and F&B staff to be friendly, helpful and courteous. Hotel indeed is in a great location which give our guest easy access to local restaurants and cafes. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in near future. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the most part it was pretty much what you would expect from a Crown Plaza, I should have done my home work before staying, I cant really blame the Hotel for information I should have sourced beforehand. The Room prices were at the top end of what you would expect for this standard of Hotel, breakfast was not included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Steven N, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza. I was pleased to read that you found your room spacious and comfortable; however I was disappointed to read that overall we did not meet your expectations and for that we apologise. We are grateful for your feedback and will use this as part...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Grand Prix weekend and was overall disappointed as normally find this chain to be of good quality. Room was spacious and views over the city impressive as well as a powerful shower. Unfortunately the rest of the hotel lets it down as it seriously needs a facelift from the reception to the outside....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robsyd1
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Robsyd1, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I was disappointed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory and fell below the standards we strive for. Rest assured we give the utmost importance to our guest feedback and would be delighted should you look to return to have you contact me directly at Cameron.Abbott@ihg.com...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For what we expected to be 4-4.5 star it really is not. The best thing going for this place is its proximity. Really great location for us although there are plenty of others with this too so not a standout. Rooms was actually lovely in the sleeping quarters but the bathroom needs a major overhaul - very dated and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank therealhungryduck
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear therealhungryduck, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our rooms lovely and our location great, however we would like to apologise for falling short of your expectations in regards to the selection available during our happy hour. Rest assured we will...

Pune, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For a Crowne plaza this was really not what I expected ... for starters hate the fact that you have to go up the escalators and drag your bags some distance on carpets to even get to guest lifts. Rooms were pretty average overall I think I expected more from a CP. location is good bang in cbd so lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrishRagh
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear KrishRagh, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our CBD location and we were very accessible to all that Melbourne has to offer. I am disappointed to read that your experience here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne was not to your...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When you advertise as a four star plus you need to follow through- room was ok size and view but not clean or finished (see pics) nearly lost reservation at restaurant in Fitzroy as concierge told us to wait in bar for maxi taxi but didn't come and get us do it left

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimenix
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear jimenix, Thank you for your feedback. I was most disappointed to read that your experience was not an enjoyable one. Your feedback is very much welcomed and I thank you for sharing with me. Rest assured I will follow up personally with our teams. I would be grateful, that if, on your next trip to Melbourne, you were able...

Holland, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for five nights. We had room 610 with a great view of the Yarra River and the South Wharf area. We were within walking distance to many restaurants and the free tram. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianapa
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear dianapa, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and found our location was convenient to many restaurants, shopping and the free tram zone. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at Crowne Plaza for 10 days in Melbourne and I had a 10th floor executive suite. I have to say the views of the city are stunning and the rooms fairly well equiped. The breakfast is varied and fit for vegetarians as well and the lobby for drinks is a nice retreat. Taxis are usually parked in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Oana I, Thank you for your detailed feedback. I am glad to hear you found our reception staff helpful and you enjoyed the view from the executive suite we had allocated for you. However, I was disappointed to hear about the room service you had ordered during your stay as it is not the usual service he provide. Please...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great place to stay. The location is excellent with numerous attractions within walking distance & public transport close, The river side rooms provide an excellent view. A great hotel without a huge price. We found the staff to be friendly, knowledgeable and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Gavin C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and the river views from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

480 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (428)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
2,316 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
3,651 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Price Range: $182 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose the river view room not the city view”
202abhilashr, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“upgrade if you can to one with a view of the city”
Ironing_Board, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room. It's not much, but its something different.”
james_stracey, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“view to Yarra desirable”
JvB0625, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side face the river.”
dianapa, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5