We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,263: English reviews
Cygnet, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family. The location is fantastic. Located in the centre of the city with a tram stop directly outside the door. Our room had two double beds and the room was a nice size. The rooms were comfortable and clean. There is an indoor pool on the top floor that has some good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loz212
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Loz212, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the benefits of being so conveniently located in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so pleased with the location. We were able to walk to everything from here including great restaurants, shopping, markets and bars. We asked the concierge for a recommendation for dinner near Her Majestys Theatre and he did not disappoint. The room was very comfortable and we took advantage of the pool every morning. Would definitely stay here again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Jenny B, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are so glad you found our hotel a good place to stay, and that you enjoyed the meal at our recommended restaurant. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having lived in Melbourne before, I revisited Melbourne to do some shopping. This Mercure is so centrally located that it took a short distance to get to the many large stores like Emporium, David Jones or Myer or Big W or Target and also the cafes and restaurants. We chose the hotel for its location! The hotel room was surprisingly... More 

Helpful?
Thank LIsmail
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear LIsmail, Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel as well as the other aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Perth Aust
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our third stay at this hotel and the only reason we stayed this time is the location. We have one more night left of an 11 night stay and we have found the stay overall disappointing. As Gold Accor Le Club members I expect something for our loyalty but this hotel just hasn't delivered. There is no VIP... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JoJa17
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear JoJa17, Our sincere apologies for the experience whilst staying with us recently. I believe that our General Manager has been in contact with you. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully it will be for a much better experience. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is good if you like to be literally right in the middle of the city. But as for the room, very basic & the noise isn't great. The room was very small, the bathroom was tiny & very close to the beds. The toilet was seated right next to the glass shower screen. Of a night, the sound... More 

Helpful?
Thank 98taylaa
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear 98taylaa, Please accept my apology about the experience you had whilst with us. We wish for every guest to have an enjoyable stay and unfortunately this was not the case with you. Sincere apologies, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located in downtown Melbourne, on the same street and block that China town is on. So it was very busy and the closest restaurants were all oriental. Once we walked further up or took the tram it was better. The hotel itself was very nice, concierge was very accommodating, providing us with a complimentary bottle of wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank ErinMcE
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear ErinMcE, Thank you for your recent patronage. I am sorry to read that you didn't find our central location for your your liking. Appreciate you mentioning the service provided by our Concierge Department. Congratulations on your recent marriage. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a king bed delux room and it was great with seperate bedroom on the corner of the building and lounge that was well appionted. The room is a little dated but the best thing about this hotel is that it is on swanston street right where the tram stops for bourke street. I would reccomend a room on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brucefil
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Brucefil, Thank you for your recent patronage and for your time to provide feedback. Your constructive feedback and your recommendation about the room on the higher floor, no doubt would be greatly appreciated by fellow traveler. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unbeatable location in the midst of CBD shopping, bars and food. Comfortable beds and staff kindly added a trundle for third booked guest (which was equally as comfortable). Popcorn ceiling and bathrooms a bit outdated and rooms nothing grand, but perfectly adequate for price and location. Very clean hotel, friendly staff, quiet rooms. Would definitely stay here again for location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alanna W
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Alanna W, Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impression, not great! The room was outdated and smelled a little 'old'. I had trouble with the Rv not being able to get free to air tv to watch news etc The bathroom had reminders of previous occupants which made me feel, how clean are these rooms really! Dinner at the restaurant was average, should have taken advice from... More 

Helpful?
Thank 286demib
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear 286demib, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not have a great stay and for any inconveniences experienced. I have addressed all your concerns to our relevant Department Heads for their urgent attention. You have indicated that you would not stay again and for this I am truly sorry. Regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not the flashiest hotel in town, but a great choice in the middle of town.....walk to everything. Staff are friendly efficient and professional. Rooms clean and comfortable, though not as modern or well decorated as the more expensive hotels in town. Bathrooms very compact and very clean, though not the safest environment for elderly guests. Even for a "young" guest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mittamark
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Mittamark, Thank you for being positive in what we do well and for bringing to our attention what we can change. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences experienced and thank you with being constructive with your review. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager More 

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (228)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
3,949 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#85 of 157 in Melbourne
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $169 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a view”
 of 5 bubbles ErinMcE, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floors are better ,has good small bar on mezzanine .”
 of 5 bubbles RonJ355, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the room, if no traction mat in the tub, go elsewhere. For less than $8 they could add a tub mat!”
 of 5 bubbles Emmaus_PAFisherman1, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want quiet- ask for room at back with no views. Trams run along Swanson all day.”
 of 5 bubbles Y1810DOmikes, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the street facing rooms & away from elevators”
 of 5 bubbles AshishMurjani, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay