We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,194: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Vancouver, WA
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed at the Ibis Styles Kingsgate for one night. It really was my only option as all other properties in the city were sold out. The room was small, painted unappealing colors and it felt stuffy. There really isn't much else noteworthy about this hotel other than its location. It is ideal to walking to many of the restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xrp
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Xrp, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate. We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us. I'm sorry you felt the room and hotel fell short of your expectation, Our refurbishment of 2010 has tried to retain the elegance of the 1926 building while also modernising our...

Winthrop, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our stay at Ibis Styles Kingsgate was pleasant enough. It's very basic, but a few things -- like hooks for towels or a mirror in the room -- would go a long way and not cost the hotel much. The basic complimentary breakfast was perfectly adequate. Check-in was seemless and the people behind the front desk were very pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GigHarmon
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gigharmon We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and pass your feedback onto Nick, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to...

Morwell
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great location close to Shopping football and public transport. Old style but clean rooms reasonable size. Quiet. Some Reception staff could improve their customer service skills greatly. Room service staff very helpful. TV fixed straight away. Worth a go and current reduced rates

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank saintlinda
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Saintlinda, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel. I apologise for any problems that you had with our staff at the hotel. Our staff are friendly, diligent and helpful but there are some occasions when the hotel is busy where service can be slow and below average. This doesn’t happen often...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here during the week, and was happy with the experience. The location is really convenient. The room was cosy and clean with a good AC, although there was some rubbish outside the window from previous residents. The bed was comfortable and there was not much noise. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Josh S, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of...

Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2013

not a good place for and older folk the room was noisy near a fire escape exit with a water running all night plus the toilet was running and out the tiny window was all the power generators etc I had booked 2weeks before meant for 2 but ended up on my own TV didn't work properly even tho I...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kay T, Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate didn’t meet your expectations. I apologise for the extra noise from within the hotel, we are looking to what may be the cause, I have also address your concerns with the maintenance team to ensure all electrical appliances are fully operational....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbc7366
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed in many ibis hotels, but this one was certainly the worst. The good points were, nice shower, comfy beds and a good value breakfast. The bad points were the room itself! The room was small, very little space for clothing, and only three coat hangers, that was for three people. Cleaners didn't remove rubbish and beds only...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie C, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate. We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us. I have alerted housekeeping regarding your concerns in room servicing, this is unacceptable and I sincerely apologise. Thank you for the positive feedback in terms of bed quality, shower and...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Unfortunately my regular Melbourne hotel was booked out so I ended up at the Ibis Kingsway. Although room 245 was large by hotel standards, it had a double bed and two single beds, the room was old, furniture basic. The internet(wired as wireless was useless) was next to the bed which required the use of the bed side table as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steveyinasia
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steveyinasia, Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate didn’t meet your expectations. Our refurbishment of 2010 has tried to retain the elegance of the 1926 building while also modernising our rooms. To ensure you have the most up to date room type I would recommend booking one of our Superior...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Location is good, near to everything. Hotel room does not appear to be that clean.Toilet flush was not working. I reported it to the reception few times but it was not attended, instead they just shut off the water source. We ended up using the rubbish bin & fill it up w/ water to flush the waste. I hope the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnowyNZ
GMKingsgate, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SnowyNZ We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate. We hope that your feedback can help us to improve our hotel services. I apologise for any problems that you had with our staff at the hotel regarding the follow up on the toilet issue. We are looking into the fittings of...

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 156 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 156 in Melbourne
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $96 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose if you get option with windows with some outside view”
 of 5 bubbles njain17, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Good room with room to move.”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusL483, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and get one towards the front. Nightclub behind somewhere at another premises. ”
 of 5 bubbles 426graemem, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“an outer room would be nice with natural light, but internals are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles magic4mum, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms -as mine- are oddly designed with almost no daylight reaching the room itself.”
 of 5 bubbles Global_Citizen_YK, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5