We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,892: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2015

After an busy week at work and kids to organise, Rydges made the check-in in simple and provided free drinks as a sweetener. We had booked a special weekend through RED Balloon and booked a second night on Wot.if. Rydges made the change over seamless and the reception staff were friendly, helpful and willing to make our lives simple... and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline F, Thank you kindly for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you could take a break and enjoy Melbourne at it's best. Hope your youngest child has recovered well. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel again soon I hope. Warmest Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Surprisingly no space/shelf to have your toiletries in the bathroom and shower and no room safe. However, it's a great value for a location close to Chinatown, the Parliament Railway Station, other restaurants and Pellegrini's Espresso Bar for a great cuppa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan L, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We understand some room types may provide limited shelf space in the bathrooms and can certainly provide other room types for you to explore during your next visit which may suit your needs a bit better. Please don't hesitate to see reception throughout your stay to...

Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Arrived in the morning at this hotel after a red eye flight from Perth. Our room wasn't ready which we expected however the staff sorted our luggage into storage and then called my mobile when the room was available. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean with everything we needed. Good choice of food at breakfast very busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank para1239
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear para1239, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. It's a delight to hear the team have ensured your stay was most comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Warmest Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager Amy_Trengove@Rydges.com

Maldon, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Rydges for a three day work conference. I enjoyed having a Queen size bed and a huge window overlooking the city. It's a great location and I could shop and dine at lots of different places until 7pm and beyond. I appreciated the easily accessible wifi and the wonderful buffet breakfast. It was really well setup and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank C_Taliax
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C_Taliax, Thank you kindly for your great feedback, the team will be excited to hear your expectations were exceeded in all areas of your stay during your three day conference. We are lucky to be perfectly situated in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, it sounds like you took full advantage of all the facilities both on and off...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Excellent location being surrounded by the restaurants of China Town and lots of other cuisines. Easy access to CBD and theatres. Free wifi really works and not just to download email. The only thing lacking is that the shower is over a small bath which could be awkward for some visitors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katherine H, Thank you kindly for your positive review outlining some of our hotel benefits. Glad to hear you made excellent use of the Free Wi-Fi available and explored the wonderful cuisines within our local footprint, in the heart of Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne soon. Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager...

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, it was by far the worst hotel I've stayed at in Melbourne. I requested a quiet room, and it was so loud each night the noise coming up off the street that sleeping was near impossible, if not for he ear plugs I happened to find in my bag at 2am. In...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sallysmoggy
Julian_Carruthers, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sallysmoggy, It sounds like your recent stay with us was far from satisfactory. Feedback such as this important to us and I can assure our guests comfort is first and foremost in the mind of all our staff. I noticed you were here for multiple nights, our staff are always eager to assist in room allocations or moving guests...

Nathalia, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The hotel is in a good location, very close to Little Bourke Street with China Town & also near the Theatre district. However the room is quite small, surprisingly noisy with intrusive sounds from adjacent rooms (especially didn't enjoy hearing the next door phone ringing at 0600 when I presume they wanted to waken). The air conditioning is appreciated, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Julian_Carruthers, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear D843GWjohnd, Thank you for feedback, my apologies that the next door phone woke you during your stay, I can assure you our housekeepers check ringer volumes regularly, be assured I will look into this matter further as we have recently upgraded our phone system which entails new handsets in some rooms, which may be causing an issue. Kind Regards,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We were pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded when we arrived at the hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with spa. The room was very large and clean. We had booked extras to be in the room on arrival and everything was there as requested. The bathroom had a double shower, toilet and bidet. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allylonglegs
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I stay at this hotel about 3 times a month, it is convenient and easy to get to and also has great resturants around it to eat at, it is right on the edge of Melbournes China town. The staff are alway helpful and friendly even if they dont listen sometimes, all in all for someone like myself that travels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Stay here for a few nights early July, it is a pleasant hotel with a nice restaurant and bar and it is well located close to the Theatre area. It is also realty close to Bourke Street so you can catch the free trams if your are going to the footy at Etihad and taking in a show on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellelarrygreen
Julian_Carruthers, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michellelarrygreen, Thank you for your great feedback, we are lucky to be perfectly situated in the theatre district, it sounds like you took full advantage of everything Melbourne had to offer, hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Julian Carruthers Executive Assistant Manager julian_carruthers@rydges.com

513 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (45)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (39)
Viewed
Queen Spa Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
1,329 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
1,855 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
3,672 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#12 of 157 in Melbourne
1,298 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 157 in Melbourne
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: $153 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Join Priority Rewards to get additional freebies”
 of 5 bubbles 687kyms, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near elevators are very noisy. Most views are of rooftops.”
 of 5 bubbles phredd2016, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the 22nd floor are awesome, good views, close to the pool as the pool is located on the roof top above the 22nd floor.”
  • Our Room on the 22nd Floor
 of 5 bubbles 957robk, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles M9820DDbrianm, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Chose a higher floor if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles kevb327, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay