We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Orbitz.comUS$95*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,100: English reviews
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Booked in for a 2 night stay. Good central location, parking garage next door, rooms decent size and bed very comfortable but very small and congested bathroom. Very average breakfast, noisy bar area and lousy late night coffee. Very disappointed that rooms are only serviced every second day, and this was not communicated to us on arrival. Overpriced when compared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drew49
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Drew, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. Great to hear the location and rooms suited your needs. I'm sorry to hear you were dissapointed with some aspects of your stay. Housekeeping service the rooms every day with a clean and fresh towels,it sounds like this hasn't happened as it should I'm...

Warrenheip, Vic
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of November for a catchup with friends. We had 6 rooms booked and they were more than adequate for what we needed. Rooms are not overly large but because we were only there to get changed and sleep it did not bother us. Breakfast was fantastic!! Location is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellep783
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you kindly for your amazing review of your recent stay with us at Rydges Melbourne! Glad you got to enjoy our beautiful array of food at our breakfast buffet. Look forward to accommodating you and your friends again soon. Warm regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Sydney
Reviewed 30 November 2015

The deluxe queen room was adequate but incredibly average: arrived to freezing cold room and noisiest air conditioning unit ever, views of Melbourne rooftops and (as is common in hotels like this) a radio alarm clock that didn't work. Someone else booked me in here for work and I wouldn't return, there are better four star hotels in Melbourne and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsWaterhouse
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsWaterhouse, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your recent stay. I'm very sorry to hear you felt our hotel offered little character, I know our team and the Rydges group prides themselves on ensuring their bubbly personalities and friendly nature exudes through to the service we provide our guests so I know they...

Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

Good location close to China Town, theatres and short walk to shops. Rooms clean and at your average 4 star standard. Breakfast was ok although the cereal selction was average. Busy hotel, cabs available just outside the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juanita M
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Juanita, Thank you kindly for your review of your recent Rydges Melbourne experience. Pleased to hear our accommodation was convenient and well suited to your needs by the sound of it. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

San Diego, California
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We were tired from the flight from Cairns and a clean, fresh smelling room is all we need in Melbourne and Rydges Hotel didn't disappoint. Our room was on 12th floor if I am not mistaken. It has wide glass windows and offered us a great view of the CBD area. The bed has the right firmness which gave me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise T, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us! So great to hear you had a great night's rest and took full advantage of the high speed Wi-Fi in the rooms. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing. Stayed in the Queen Spa Suite with intensions of spending most most of the night in the room. Upon arrival discovered the "spa" was in fact a smaller than average bath with 2 jets. Room was cold - One of the heaters in the room blew out only cold air when set to heat, and the other had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharrii
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharrii, Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very dissapointed to hear you were dissatisfied with your Rydges Melbourne stay. If you could be so kind to take the time to email me of the details of your reservation so we can rectify the maintenence issues you have described I would be...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Bed was too soft. The wall is not very soundproof. I was able to hear the noises from the room next door. No in-room slippers provided. Breakfast was average as well. Coffee could be better, tasted a little too bitter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissyEvilyn
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening MissyEvilyn, Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you felt your experience with Rydges Melbourne was only average. We appreciate your feedback regarding these aspects of your experience and have taken them on board for review. Please note for future reference we do have slippers available in our suites...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Went to breakfast at 7:30 to confronted by chaos. Zero cutlery, zero seats. Waitstaff at once stage dumped dirty plates on my table as I went to the Buffett to try and get some food. Was not helped by the fact some other guests were quite rude and this escalated my displeasure with the whole experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grant, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at breakfast during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to advise us of this poor experience impacted by what sounds like a very busy morning. I have passed this directly to our Food and Beverage Manager so we can be sure to review staffing levels at...

Caves Beach, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2015

This hotel is centrally located, close to shops and theatres. Reception staff were friendly and the whole checkin went very smoothly and fast. We stayed in a twin room and there was plenty of room. There is tea and coffee facilities, fridge and a large bathroom. The room is airconditioned. The restaurant for breakfast had everything that you could want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaniceThomas
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice, Thank you kindly for your positive review of your recent stay with us, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Rydges Melbourne experience! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

It's just a room that is a bad need of a renovation. Crappy kettle, crappy hairdryer! Please clean the walls with a magic eraser. Don't call a fruit salad a fruit salad if it is a melon salad and when I say I am gluten free don't sprinkle cooked oats on my melon salad! Lost in translation I think!! Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole411
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole411, I am very embarrassed to receive your feedback of the poor experiences throughout your recent stay. If you have a spare moment and could kindly send the details of your reservation trhough I would greatly appreciate it, in order to follow up with the multiple incidents of your stay. I'm so sorry you were not able to enjoy...

552 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (45)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (39)
Viewed
Queen Spa Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
1,593 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#97 of 159 in Melbourne
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
1,996 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
860 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: $159 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors are very quiet.”
jpavlek, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“upper levels get a better view”
844allant, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Not all rooms have views, so ask if you would like one.”
ronaldf408, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“The King Suites”
megancG3003TZ, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“all room are evry acceptable”
granmpa, 18 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$95* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$262
CheapTicketsUS$97
Booking.comUS$97
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates