We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure North Melbourne

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure North Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure North Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 396: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The staff are friendly the meals are outstanding, the staff go out of there way to help you. The buffet breakfast is outstanding, and its always good to see a smiling face in the morning. You may have to set your alarm clock because the beds are soo comfortable. I never sleep in but slept until 8.30 am feeling brillant,also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angiemckee1992
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear angiemckee1992, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our service standards. Look forward to having you back again! Best Regards, Wayne Woods General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Property is old, rooms are VERY Basic! No spare blankets or pillows. And when i asked for one the manager made me feel like an idiot by saying there is one on the bed... there was a sheet and Dona as you'd expect but NO blankets. When i said i was still cold, he said you've got to be kidding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MPbrisban
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear MPbrisbane, My sincere apologies that one of our staff members spoke to you in this fashion. It is absolutely unacceptable and I have personally spoken with the Front Office team, to ensure this sort of banter is eliminated. I have also spoken with Housekeeping to ensure the team delivers the service standards we have set. Again my sincere apologies....

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I arrived here a little apprehensive after reading the reviews on this hotel They were the opposite to what I found ,the room was on the large size with great features & a desk , it was spotless The restaurant was great, the young lady who was running the bar & waitress too was extremely busy but was very professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenny4545
Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The hotel is in the process of being renovated and is in a great location for catching the tram and it is only about a ten minute tram ride into the city centre. There is an IGA express within walking distance but limited food options other than the hotel restaurant. Room was comfortable but only a mini fridge and kettle,...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mirandad579
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Even the renovated rooms are not up to standard. Filthy furniture and poor quality. Tried to be disguised with new paint and carpet. Understand that they are renovating and workers start at 8am, but they could have asked me if I wanted the room next door to the workers or further away! Not pleased to have the workers loud radio,...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaS S
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear LisaS S, Appreciate you reviewing our hotel, albeit a tad bit harsh. The renovation process has been planned in stages and stage 1 is to complete the painting, carpet and wallpaper. Stage 2 involves the furniture and painting of the corridors. I do have to apologise for the inconvenience caused by our contractors. This is totally unacceptable and should...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Firstly, the staff were excellent. Very helpful. Had breakfast every morning, food was basic but very good and always full. However they are doing renovations and I arrived on a Sat. there were flakes of paint and plaster in the hallway that hadn't been vacuumed. While my room was cleaned daily at no time in the 5 days I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rabbitoh1
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear rabbitoh1, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. It is unfortunate to note your feedback about the room not being vacuumed, I will definitely address this with the housekeeping team this afternoon. Please accept my apologies for this oversight. We are in the process...

Bairnsdale
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The car parking was out in the open on a gravel drive way, it was raining so not very easy to walk down. The room was filthy, dirty and disgusting.the chairs were stained and grotty. I never took my shoes off, the carpet was so stained and dirty. Went to reception and asked to go to another room, the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy M
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear E9113JUwendym, My apologies for the unpleasant experience during your recent visit to the hotel and disappointing that we were unable to stay in one of refurbished rooms. We are in the midst of renovating all accommodation rooms and will have all of level 1 completed next week. We certainly did not meet your expectations on this occasion, however, please...

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Booked in late on a Friday Night after a 5 hour drive, the room was nothing like the one in the photo, ours was a lot smaller, opened the door to find it was occupied by thousands of mosguitoes went to reception and asked for some fly spray they had it on hand it must be a common thing, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedz1
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Pedz1, Definitely not a great experience and for this we apologise. As you would have read from previous responses, the rooms are undergoing a full renovation, to be completed by the end of 2016. The mosquito’s are definitely not a pleasant sight, however, Victoria and Melbourne in particular has experienced an onslaught of mosquitos this spring. Our pest control...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I Tried to contact both North Melbourne Mercure and Accor and got no reply from either. No apology. No nothing. My husband and i have stayed at many Accor hotels so we couldn't wait to try the 4 star North Melbourne Mercure. We arrived late Friday night on the 8th of July and were very disappointed... we looked past the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karly W
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Karly W, I would like to apologise for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. I understand your frustration; however, I am delighted we were able to discuss your feedback during our telephone conversation. As mentioned the renovations are well and truly underway and scheduled to end in December 2016. Once again my apologies and thank you for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My stay at the hotel was quite pleasant. The hotel is situated on the corner of Harker and Flemington Roads North Melbourne. This location is extremely convenient from a number of points of view. Firstly it is only a few kilometres from the main north road which connects directly with the airport and roads heading out of Melbourne to Canberra...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCGPhil
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi SCGPhil, Appreciate the positive review! We are midway through the renovations and hope to have all rooms done by December 2016. We look forward to having stay with us again. All the best! Wayne Woods General Manager

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#139 of 156 in Melbourne
29 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#85 of 156 in Melbourne
866 reviews
Apartments on Flemington
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 156 in Melbourne
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure North Melbourne is located on the edge of the CBD, just a short tram ride from the city of Melbourne. All of Melbourne's attractions are within easy access. The hotel offers 70 contemporary & comfortable rooms and suites, with King, Queen, Twin accommodation options available, all with en-suite bathrooms, LCD TV, Foxtel, Internet access, Fridge with mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small plunge pool, and offers complimentary access to local private gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure North Melbourne

Address: | Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Rydges North Melbourne)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $115 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure North Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure North Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges North Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges North Hotel
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure North Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that has already been renovated.”
  • loose robe hook
  • damaged desk
  • broken bed-side lamp fitting
 of 5 bubbles margotc794, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lift”
 of 5 bubbles Q79KRlisar, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near Flemington Rd. Noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles frankc817, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“inside rooms would be quieter as the hotel is on a busy corner near hospital”
 of 5 bubbles rabbitoh1, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“do not book here”
 of 5 bubbles wendymP6097TF, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5