We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Show Prices
#63 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,890 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,794: English reviews
Alfredton
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Great location, welcoming staff and easy to locate. The building is an interesting building for architectural significance and stimulates your interest in the restored building. The room we had was fitted with a connecting door to another room and unfortunately the people in that room were noisy early in the morning without consideration for others. They did vacate early so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 770dallasj
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 770dallasj, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, taking advantage of our convenient central location, well-appointed rooms and especially great customer service. Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the noise issue you experienced from the inter-connecting doors. If such...

Umina Beach, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We spent 2 nights here in wet and windy Melbourne and were delighted with the quality of all aspects of the Rendezvous. From check-in to check-out the service was excellent. The room was quiet and comfortable despite being so close to the train line and station. If you are at the back of the hotel don't bother opening the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidan C
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Aidan C, Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne. We are so pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us, taking advantage of our wonderfully central location and comfortable, well-appointed rooms. We are also pleased you had the chance to experience dining with us at the popular Straits café. I...

Wahgunyah, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Update your systems to reflect correct information. Don't continually ask me to pay when all charges go back through our company and this is clearly identified in the information you are sent when they make the reservation. Make sure meals are delivered on time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharronj270
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear sharronj270, Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stays with us. If you would you like, please contact me on 03-9250 1888 or s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com so that I can obtain more details of your experience and take corrective actions to ensure that they will not recur. In the meantime I have passed on...

Mordialloc
Reviewed 6 July 2016

A great King size bed, but not much room for anything else. The bathroom is only big enough for one at a time and the water pressure is not great considering the huge shower head. I would not waste my money on the breakfast, but Melbourne has many great options close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelley762
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear shelley762, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne. We are dismayed to learn of your overall disappointing stay with us and that the room did not live up to your expectations. Please note that we have a wide variety of room configurations and categories available, including larger rooms for you to try...

Reviewed 6 July 2016

Room average but clean,beds comfortable,staff very pleasant&helpful.Stayed here before&exceptional help from staff,nothing too much trouble.excellent location,especially for tennis&near to centre of city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Margaret S, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful historic hotel and appreciated our well-appointed rooms and central location. We are especially pleased to read that our customer service was excellent and glad our team helped make your...

Aberglasslyn
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Great location easy access to trams and skybus was able to drop off right at the front door. Room was clean and staff were really helpful and stores our bags for the day. Concierge staff were fantastic

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccarU9127YM
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear rebeccarU9127YM, Thank you for your wonderful review after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, We are really glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our very central location and comfortable rooms. I am especially pleased that you found our customer service, especially the concierge team, excellent for the duration of your stay....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Beautiful historic hotel with modern rooms to sleep in and car parking next door at reasonable price. Great welcoming staff who want to help you. Room was small but very nice and location excellent for heart of CBD and tram on doorstep and station opposite. Appreciated drink voucher to use with dinner. Great value for money with buffet breakfast included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 426glenisv
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Mr 426glenisv, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful historic hotel and had the chance to appreciate our well-appointed rooms, convenient location, and especially our genuine and helpful team members whom i'm glad were able to add to...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2016

No hassles, rooms on smaller side, but friendly and no issues whatsoever. Friendly staff and check in and out were smooth. Good location to everything, about 20 minute walk to convention centre. But close to Flinders Station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank machinehead
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear machinehead, Thank you for your wonderful review after your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear you had a pleasant stay here at the Rendezvous Hotel, enjoying everything we have to offer, from our convenient central location, comfortable rooms, and especially our genuine and helpful customer service. We certainly hope you did enjoy your stay and...

West Perth
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Terrible Check-in and cold shower the first night. Once, I settled in it was close to town and great location. It was central and cheap. Room Service like to wake you up nice and early by banging on your door so make sure you find the sign if you dont want that - my room didnt have one. The checkout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perthmiss78
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Perthmiss78, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne. Whilst we were pleased with your positive experience with our check-out team and convenient location, we were very disappointed to read of your some of the more negative issues you experienced during your stay. As I am not sure which room you stayed in,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Staff very helpful, but bathrooms require a fan & cleaning properly - mold in sink! Benches & tables sticky & dirty. Beds were comfortable, room was quiet with no view ( which did not concern us ) Location was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Louise C, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne. Whilst we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciating our well-appointed rooms, convenient location and helpful staff service, I was very disappointed to read that these cleaning issues took away from your experience. We assure you that this...

354 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
0:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
3,058 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Travellers Bar
The Travellers Bar
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $145 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Singapore
3 months ago
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago
7 months ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a high room, away from flinders street”
 of 5 bubbles Little_o3, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with views of the city are nice!”
 of 5 bubbles charlamac, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room on higher floor looking over railway to river and buildings on south bank”
 of 5 bubbles JimS48, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are equally good.Since the Hotel is facing the main road,a street view room will be lively.”
 of 5 bubbles 392sampathn, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'd request a higher floor as I was on the 3rd on the front and you could here the trams rumbling past.”
 of 5 bubbles carlt464, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay